We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Business Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Chennai
Ranked #21 of 386 Hotels in Chennai
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Very professional in their approach. Smiling guys. And prompt responses and solutions to problems or issues.

The approach is no good, since the Metro is coming up. It is kind of compact and can be crowdy and could be claustrophobic in terms of rush. The expanse is not there, but I dont have any complaints on these, since the job is done...and that's perhaps the hotels objective too.

The food is great, and the Italian restaurant is recommended.

Rooms and good, everything is just fine.

The one and only complaint that I have is about Internet. Not sure whether its a policy issue or not but after working in an office, I would like to use my Laptop sitting on my bed and not sit on a chair and use a desk. Must install WIFI in that hotel. For IPAD users...have to depend on your SIM for the net and cannot use the Hotel wired Connection.

Thats about it!! Will stay their again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravishankar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Ravishankar S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you liked the room and the food. After all, that is what is expected out of us. We have taken into consideration your feedback on the internet connection and assure you that we are actively working towards this. We look forward to having you back with us. Please do feel free to get in touch with me for any clarifications.

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    423
    148
    49
    24
See reviews for
184
85
92
649
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Marriott Chennai is a nice, relaxed & soothing property in Chennai. Maintains a good hygienic environment in the humid city of Chennai. Serving a lot of foreigners, specially Japanese natives maintains highest level of service. From Driver to security everyone is well versed in English language to make it comfortable for North Indian & Foreigner guests. Room, Food, service, Location is great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav_Chaudhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Gaurav Chaudhary,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to know that you had a nice experience at the hotel. Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us and we are very happy that we have achieved that through guests like you. I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel. Please do feel free to get in touch with me for any assistance that you may require from our end.

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I have stayed in this property several times over the past 5 years. Every time, I have an interesting experience either at service level or at the coffee shop or at the health club. This is amazing property to stay and it is close to the city center and most of the shopping malls in the city,

Though I am a critic of most of the airlines, hotels and other public facilities, this property stand out in decor, cleanliness and services. Most of the employees are motivated to execute their assigned task without any compromise.

It is a great property to stay!!!

Room Tip: Please look for odd numbered rooms so that you can avoid "Room with a view?!!?" kind of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiruJeeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Thirujeeva,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very glad that you had a comfortable stay here. We really appreciate your kind words and it means a lot to us to get such great acknowledgement. It is an inspiration for us to serve you better. After all, our guests mean everything to us. I look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel. Please do feel free to get in touch with me for any clarifications.

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed for 2 days on the last week of June 2012. You get all that has been listed when booked online, including transport to Airport. Great location to travel around T-Nagar, US Conslate and Anna salai monuments. Breakfast and Lunch Buffet at the Paprika is excellent and the executive lounge provides all the left-overs from lunch. Good room service.
Major issues to keep in mind:
1. Air ducts in the room was loaded heavily with Molds. So, I WILL recommend you to stay way for an hour or two out of the room after the A/C is turned ON. Otherwise, you will have severe allergy and sinus reaction.
2. There are bed bugs, so be prepared for blood donation.

I will recommend for lunch @ Paprika, but not for a long stay. The room, bed and air quality has to be improved.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear KV,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our F&B offerings. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you had with the room. This is definitely not the Marriott standard, nor it is expected out of us. Please rest assured that this will be taken up immediately and addressed with appropriate solutions. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity of talking to you about the negative experience you have had. Please do get in touch with me on the details as under. I would be pleased to address your concerns personally. I look forward to talking to you soon.

Contact number: +91 44 6676 4002

E mail id: cy.maacy.gmoffice@courtyard.com

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlandt Manor
Level Contributor
393 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I have stayed twice at the Chennai Courtyard, the second time for 2 weeks.

It is a near-luxury hotel with attentive and well-trained staff.

No special views from the hotel.

Was able to jog from the hotel down Anna Salai road and then down Cathedral road, though you do get some strange looks and solicitations from auto rickshaws. Very safe.

Buffett breakfast is a standout, with choice of Indian and Western items. Vegetarian dishes (including eggs) are the best choices. Never quite got use to off-taste of Indian-style of coffee.

Tip: Upgrade to the Executive Lounge which includes complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi, snacks, and beers in the evening. Kingfisher Beer is very good. Was at the hotel during Diwali/Indian Festival of Lights, so had the best view possible of area fireworks

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Executive Lounge for work area and relaxation. Alternative to being in small room. Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear SPKorn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read good acknowledgement from our guests. We are extremely glad that you had a comfortable stay here and that you got a glimpse of the festival of lights. It is indeed a wonderful sight to see. I look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me for any clarifications or queries that you may have.

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#31 of 386 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 386 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 386 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
The Park Chennai
#54 of 386 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chennai

Property: Courtyard Chennai
Address: 564 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai 600018, India (Formerly Courtyard Chennai, India)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#26 Family Hotel in Chennai
#34 Business Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,087 - ₹ 9,687
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into your home away from home in Chennai! We welcome you with 4-star hotel accommodations and a range of thoughtful amenities here at the Courtyard Chennai. Situated in the heart of the city's central business district, our hotel is perfect for business travelers, as well as relaxing getaways. Stylish and modern rooms, suites, and apartments include flat-screen TVs, high-speed Internet access, and plush bedding, as well as marble bathrooms with bathtub/shower combinations. Additional hotel perks include a 24-hour fitness center and delicious on-site dining at one of our several eateries. If you're planning an event in Chennai, you'll be delighted with our flexible meeting venues and state-of-the-art facilities and services, as well as expert catering. And our unbeatable location, just 20 minutes from Chennai Airport and near the US Consulate, as well as the city's IT and manufacturing hubs, makes getting where you need to go easy and stress-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Courtyard Marriott Chennai
Marriott Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing