We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb restaurants, average standard rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Accord Metropolitan
Ranked #29 of 388 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Superb restaurants, average standard rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I had booked a deluxe suite thinking that the starting price for the rooms on agoda would mean the hotel was a bit 2nd rate, but on arriving was pleasantly surprised. Unfortunately though, I was shown to a standard room, where the TV and cable boxes were not both plugged in as there was only one socket. This was quickly fixed by their maintenance man, who dragged the tv cabinet bearer the desk to plug the cable box in there. Meanwhile I checked my reservation, to confirm that I should not have been in a standard room.

Once I was moved to the suite, it was a much better set up. Loads of space, really comfortable, and well worth the extra £20 a night.

Best thing about the hotel however are the restaurants, the CHinese on the roof is pretty good, the Indian on the 1st floor is superb and neither expensive.

I/m not sure of the purpose of the Zodiac bar though, as from the moment it opens it has loud music and at most half a dozen business men in there - it also closes before the restaurants.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s22urf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    344
    114
    31
    30
See reviews for
194
121
73
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I had my wedding reception in Crystal Ball room. It was a perfect place for my reception. After the reception we stayed for 2 nights in the same hotel. It was a great stay and great rooms. The breakfast was also good. Center of the city. They had done all I asked for properly. Will recommend the hotel for any functions. I heard from my Invitees the food was excellent too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AhhAhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Overall experience was good , front desk is excellent , room is clean and staff is attentive. Breakfast was good and would recomend the rooftop restaurant at least for a drink , view is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malarshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The location of this hotel is brilliant, it will only cost Rs80.00 to go to Ramanathan Street where you can find the famous Saravana Stores. The staff were very helpful and friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. Getting your laundry done was cheap as well and was ready on the same day. The Wifi is free and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay here again in Chennai.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up so that you can get a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KalayMoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI, MAHARASHTRA, INDIA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel in February'12. The hotel has reasonable lobby and average rooms. The rooms are bit smaller. We had got the booking done by our client via travel site. We reached quite later in night rather than 12 noon checkin time. To our surprise the hotel staff didnt had our name in the reservation list even though the payment was already done. We'd to wait for an hour to get the things sorted out -the hotel staff took my credit card swipe too.
The breakfast was quite nice and i enjoyed the varied variety of food on the offer. The staff was nice. This almost made for the other flaws and overall it was quite nice a stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NUJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#13 of 388 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#25 of 388 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residency
#32 of 388 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Accord Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Accord Metropolitan

Property: The Accord Metropolitan
Address: 35, GN Chetty Road | T. Nagar, Chennai 600017, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
#22 Family Hotel in Chennai
#25 Business Hotel in Chennai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,880 - ₹ 6,293
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Accord Metropolitan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Accord Metropolitan, Chennai is conveniently situated in the heart of the city, close to the shopping hub. All 162 guestrooms, with a minimum size of 30 square meters and we do have the service listed below in points 1. Pergola - Roof top restaurant - highest in Chennai 2. Royal Indianaa - Complete vegetarian restaurant and kitchen 3. Zodiac - Bar 4. Season - All day dining restaurant 5. Spa includes swimming pool and health club 6. Board room with all modern facilities 7. Physically challenged room available - please do make reservation prior to arrival. 8. Centrally located near by shopping malls / US & Singapore consulates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Yatra and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Accord Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Accord Metropolitan Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Accord Hotel Chennai
Accord Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing