We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Decent for people in budget class..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #53 of 383 Hotels in Chennai
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent for people in budget class..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This one is in Mylapore, Chennai, located in the heart of the city.

I stayed here at least 3 times during my business visits. My company had strict restriction in the budget. Good value for money. Stay in executive class. Price range ~ 1 grand per day.

The restaurant is nice. Though no bar attached, you get only vegetarian food, food is very tasty (provided you like south indian food).

Beach is close by, however, I didn't have to visit one.

Room Tip: Select a Executive class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadananda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    156
    78
    21
    22
See reviews for
123
47
46
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2N during our visit to Tirupati via chennai. Hotel is located right in middle of the city. Service in the hotel is good but the rooms are below average. Rooms are small and even the bathroom fittings are of very old style. One part of the hotel was under renovation during our stay. Food at the hotel is very good & restaurant at the hotel was always full during dinner time.

Stay at woodlands only for excellent south indian food

Room Tip: Only stay if you want to enjoy delicious south indian food
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sujithmarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Many times, while booking a hotel, 2 things of concern, one is accommodation and one is food. No doubt that in most of the star hotels, food can be considered hygienic, however for a veggie like me, it wont be that comfortable. I would prefer a hotel with exclusive veg cuisine but with star accommodation. Luckily, I could find this with Woodlands hotel, Mylapore, Chennai. Decent accommodation and awesome veg food. Could not ask for more. It is a true 3 star.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the parking lot would be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharath2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

A good place to stay. Very close to beach, U S Consulate and Music Academy.
The lunch and breakfast will be very nice. The rooms are well maintained . The car park is very convenient. When you come out you have enough autos waiting for you. They have a travel desk too.

Room Tip: Higher floors are away from car noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramki52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

stayed here for a night while in Chennai to get our US Visas. Arrived Sunday afternoon, reception was swift in collecting the advance, checkin, and giving us the key and the tv remote. Room we stayed in was in an old block, and once we entered the room, found it to be clean and functional, the a/c worked well and thats important in chennai. We ordered food which took ages to come. Went to the toilet and the noise I heard startled me - when I came out to the bedroom and opened the windows, I found out what caused it.... about 200 children, learning to swim in a filthy pool. The state of it later after the pool was closed is not worth mentioning. Being thorough non vegetarians, we walked about 5 blocks to the shyam group of hotels where there are about 5 different restaurants and had a good chinese dinner. Came back to our room, wanted to watch the cricket match, but the Tv wouldnt work. The pillow was very flat, and after making about 15 calls, we finally got an extra set of pillows. Breakfast the next morning was not bad. Autos available outside that would take you right to the US consulate, but they charge what ever they feel. What I didnt like was that the waiters and most staff are old, elderly staff and they stand there blatantly waiting for their tips which I found irritating.... The man comes to repair the tv, he wants tip, the guy brings the pillows, he waits, the person comes to clear the trays, he waits, it was irritating... Otherwise, if you want to just stay for a day, finish your work and leave, for the price paid ( 2200 for a dbl) I this this hotel is good value.....nothing great otherwise...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinn_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
0.1 km away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#36 of 383 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.9 km away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#23 of 383 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
4.2 km away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#66 of 383 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#41 of 383 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.9 km away
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#48 of 383 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Pandian
Hotel Pandian
#69 of 383 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Woodlands Hotel

Property: New Woodlands Hotel
Address: 72-75,Dr.Radhakrishnan Road, | Mylapore, Chennai 600004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,671 - ₹ 4,479
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, OYO Rooms, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your New Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel
Hotel New Woodlands
New Woodlands Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing