We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”
Review of Savera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savera Hotel
Ranked #42 of 397 Hotels in Chennai
Roorkee, India
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Savera Hotel offers 4-star rooms with free Wi-Fi and satellite flat-screen TVs located 1.5 km from Marina Beach. Offering free parking, it boasts a spa, fitness centre and outdoor pool. Fitted with classic wood furnishings, Savera’s air-conditioned rooms feature neutral fabrics and a safe. For convenience, a minibar and free tea/coffee making amenities are provided. Private bathrooms have hot/cold showers and a hairdryer. With trained professionals at hand, all-round workouts can be done at the well-equipped fitness centre. Relaxing massages and body treatments await at Savera’s spa. A tour desk and business centre are available. Hotel Savera’s 7 dining options include a variety of Western and Asian dishes, as well as Indian specialities. Guests can lounge with a cocktail at Bamboo Bar or party the night away at Sparks. Savera Hotel is 5 km from the Chennai Rail Terminal and 11 km from Chennai Airport. It is easily accessible from the highways leading to Mahabalipuram and Kanchipuram.

Room Tip: South Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atulsharma73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    424
    259
    68
    41
See reviews for
228
97
118
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thane, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a good hotel for Business Travellers. I had a conference to attend and the Hall was good and was spacious enough for a crowd of 100

The food also was good and it seems the staff was accustomed to treat business rather than leisure

The theme restaurant is too good and they all try hard to satisfy the guests. The astrologer in the restaurant entry was an interesting addition

I strongly recommend the place for Business Travelers who also want to have a good food and ambience

Shailesh

Room Tip: Get a Room in the main walkway so that you don't have to walk too much after you get out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

As I was on my business trip and was about to check-in at the adjacent hotel, but by the time I did, it was past mid-night and they dint had anything to eat and their rooms had foul smell.. so I took a walk and reached Savera for some mid-night snacking... As the subject says, I just loved the ambiance as I entered and I decided to stay in this hotel.

When I inquired with the reception staff, their support and more importantly on the spot discount made my mind clear that I will take this. Now that I took the room at first sight, I was happy at my Love at first sight. Everything from food, service, room and Wash rooms were amazingly well kept and had a lovely sleep and back on feet for my meetings.. Haven't tried if I get wi-fi in my room, but I am sure they would be providing the same. Also tried their food as some south festival was on during my stay.. and thoroughly enjoyed the sea-food.

Room Tip: Ask for room on pool side as you can see the early morning chennai with less traffic. If you can neg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syed_allam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a fine budget hotel that is quite like a large hotel for the middle class. The breakfast is excellent and has a great serving of South Indian delights. The rooms are average but comfortable, but not soundproof, so you can easily hear noisy residents outside. Ideal for those who want to accommodate visitors to a wedding and it appeared to be a preferred destination for such folks. Nonetheless, good for short stays.

Room Tip: Quite sometimes it is best to keep consumed meals outside since room service does not clear them as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoneld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

One might be misled by this hotel's fame and star rating. But unless you've been here, you know nothing! The room appeared neat and tidy when we went in, but upon closer inspection, we found reddish-brown stains on the bed sheets. And the room absolutely stank of cigarette smoke. We called room service and they sent someone up to change the sheets. The bathroom was extremely rundown. Wooden panels and door frames were all peeling and splinters jutting out. Ceiling boards had layers of molds. The bath tub was unusually slippery and a family member actually did slip and injure his elbow. The temperature of the shower could not be regulated (i.e. you either freeze or get scalded). So it took us a good 45 mins each to shower as we had to constantly play with the shower knobs. To make matters worse, on the day of our departure, the very intelligent maintenance crew decided to shut down ALL the lifts in the hotel for servicing! Even the emergency lifts were out! How ridiculous is that! And we stayed on the 10th floor. After a good 30 mins of waiting and plenty of yelling at the manager, they restored power to the lifts.

But I must say the room service food was amazing. Had one of the best briyanis.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sathish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Savera Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Namaskar!

We deeply regret to read about your stay at our hotel. The observations are discussed with the respective departments for corrective measures. However, we wish to state that the hotel renovation is underway and 130 rooms will be completed in the 1st phase.

We once again apologize for the experience you had with us and look forward to welcome you at our hotel, again. Please inform me about your next visit and I personally look forward to meet you.

Cordially,

Anthony Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Clarion Chennai
#49 of 397 in Chennai
641 reviews
New Woodlands Hotel
#58 of 397 in Chennai
345 reviews
The Residency
#39 of 397 in Chennai
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Chennai
#47 of 397 in Chennai
1,547 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 397 in Chennai
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savera Hotel

Property: Savera Hotel
Address: 146 Savera Dr Radha Krishnan Salai, Chennai 600004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 397 Hotels in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,798 - ₹ 5,858
Hotel Class:4 star — Savera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savera Hotel - Chennai's first ever star hotel is an iconic landmark with a fusion of modernity and tradition, cherished by guests for decades now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, ClearTrip, TravelGuru, Agoda, Yatra and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing