We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hotel at Chennai”
Review of Savera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savera Hotel
Ranked #42 of 396 Hotels in Chennai
Nagpur, India
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel at Chennai”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Ambience was fantastic.
Service inn the room and in the restaurant excellent.
Location really great...close to the beach and several other main parts in chennai.
Swimming pool functional and very very active and good guide.
Overall fantastic experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROYNGPUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    424
    259
    68
    41
See reviews for
228
97
118
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

A centrally located hotel which was recently upgraded to provide some minimum comforts. Staff are good and food except breakfast is not upto the mark. cost of food is little bit exorbitant to the quality and the taste. while entering you feel that you are intering to a top hotel but inside room will disappoint you. Bath rooms are very normal and you will not be excited with the room. Entertainment system is normal and lighting in side room will not support the out look of this hotel. Its a business hotel and not for relaxation and entertainment. Its a hotel for your business trip.But the ambiance of hotel is so good with enough parking place to park your guest vehicles.

Room Tip: Stay in main rooms not in corner ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ysvsnagamohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savera146, General Manager at Savera Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Guest!

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to log your feedback in Trip-Advisor.

While, we once again thank you for the compliments; we have taken your feedback on the food, restaurant tariff, bathrooms and lighting with the concerned departments for remedial measures. However, we are going in for scheduled renovation of rooms and public areas in a phased manner. I am sure going forward after a semester, you will notice the changes and we are confident in meeting your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you again at the hotel and be our guest always.

Cordially,

Anthony Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, India
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Selected the hotel based on my locational advantage and booked a deluxe double room through the Hotel Website. I had also specified that I have 2 children aged 12 & 9.

The check in at 11.30am was COLD - the bell boys do not volunteer to pick the baggage from the car, the parking assistants do not assist, the lobby manager does not even talk - leave alone wishing, no welcome drink, nobody wants you to even be seated, the lobby manager behaves like a Lodge cashier and sends you off with the key after the mandatory checks. (Though it was quite evident that I was with my 2 kids and wife, he insisted on seeing my wife's ID in addition to mine). Before handing over the room key, he warned that the complimentary breakfast is only for the two of us - me and my wife and we must pay extra to avail the same for the kids. I said, "Thank you for the courtesy" and left for the room.

Took the elevator and reached my room No. 329 on the 3rd floor. First impression: Worn out interiors, old linen, dirty view out of the window - (this room overlooks an unused terrace), leaking faucet, leaking tub, leaking closet, unclean taps and fittings. One single bath towel was placed without any extra leg mats in the bath or hand towels etc.

We had to leave the room immediately after check in for our hospital appointment and hence chose to leave after keeping our baggage in.

We asked the parking guard to guide us which exit would be better, the South or the West (the hotel has two exits), to reach a nearby restaurant (Saravana Bhawan) for which he replied: How can I say which is better? You choose whichever you want - in a very sarcastic way while he was busy chatting with another of his colleague.

We finished all our work outside and reached the hotel back by around 8.45pm. We called housekeeping to arrange for an extra bed, to which the reply came: "Call Reception". So I called Reception where the girl said: " You have to pay Rs.1000/- plus taxes" to which I said: "Please add the same to my bill and send it". Immediately after this I left out to meet a relative, leaving my wife and kids in the room. I returned back at 11pm, to find that the extra bed has not been laid. Between 9pm to 11pm my wife and kids have made 3 more calls but nobody responded. So I called the housekeeping again at 11.10pm, only to be told bluntly that the reception has not instructed us to do so. The I called the reception and gave them a piece of my mind and insisted that I speak to their customer relationship manager. He (Javed) said "It will be there in 1 minute sir".... 11.25pm: still no bed. I took up the phone and yelled at him again and he himself was outside the room with a boy and a bed of course. Profusely apologising for the mess up, he went on to offer the bed free and ask for an apology from the concerned people.

My family (all four of us) had a taste of sharing one queen size bed in a so called 4 star hotel while being tired after a hot and tiring day out at a hospital.

The A/c was excellent and the other fixtures in the room though very old very all working fine.
We woke up in the morning to find two English dailies waiting at the door.

The bathroom and toilet were in a bad state - almost like a Lodge near the Bus Stand. There was only one Towel, so we asked the house-keeping to get us more towels and napkins which they did after a delay of more than an hour.

Did not wish to stay in this so called 4 Star Luxury any more and hence decided to switch to some other good hotel for the next night of stay.

While checking out, managed to speak to one Ms.Vanitha Lourdes, the Asst Room Div Mgr., who assured of better service next time and apologised for whatever happened. She even called back during the day to get more details...

PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY ON SAVERA LODGE..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnilKumarPorwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savera146, General Manager at Savera Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Mr. Anil Kumar

We deeply regret to note the experience you had with us. I am afraid that we could not meet your expectations. A verbose response is not the solution.

I am sure, we have to do a lot of introspection and I am already on the job. We take this opportunity to improve ourselves and provide value in our offerings. You will definitely notice the change.

I once again apologize for the experience you had with us. If I am allowed, I wish to welcome you once again to our hotel and please be our guest.

Cordially,

Anthony Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai hotels

New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed in a club room which was like a suite. website was easy to use for online reservations. I did not receive an email confirmation but had no issues at all. Our rate included an airport transfer in a private clean ac car. The front desk was efficient and courteous. The room was clean and spacious and the air conditioning was great! It is a hot and humid place in May so this was very important.
They offered complimentary fruits from room service and evening snacks ...we missed those since we were out. fruit was fresh and welcome! Breakfast was great!
My only feedback is on the bathroom. It was clean and modernized, however, the shower area is not separate enough and water leaked out wetting the whole floor.
Overall great experience and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Club rooms are spacious and offer a separate living room with door so can keep the bedroom quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalFamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is one of an age old hotel.. but a decent place to stay.. good food, well maintained rooms..
Dont expect modern interiors..
Good place for business travellers only..

Food is excellent.. over all a good place to stay if you get a good bargain on the tariff

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Clarion Chennai
#49 of 396 in Chennai
642 reviews
The Residency
#38 of 396 in Chennai
548 reviews
The Park Chennai
#48 of 396 in Chennai
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 396 in Chennai
899 reviews
GreenPark Chennai
#20 of 396 in Chennai
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savera Hotel

Property: Savera Hotel
Address: 146 Savera Dr Radha Krishnan Salai, Chennai 600004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 396 Hotels in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,545 - ₹ 5,930
Hotel Class:4 star — Savera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savera Hotel - Chennai's first ever star hotel is an iconic landmark with a fusion of modernity and tradition, cherished by guests for decades now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, TravelGuru, Yatra, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing