We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right Place if you want to hang out within the Center of City Limits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Ranked #16 of 388 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Right Place if you want to hang out within the Center of City Limits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel is centrally located, right next to the shopping malls and close to many other shopping malls, though it's located in busy area, your stay would be comfortable. Food is amazing, staff are cooperative and responsive. Spa is always booked, need to blcok well in advance....the reception area is too small but worth the value of the money what you spend.

Room Tip: If you are going with family and kids, you need to chekc out other Taj Hotels in Chennai, as the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palle238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    356
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
158
170
83
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guntur, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Taj Connemara is a three star hotel at affordable price, i like it very much. And it is nearer to Chennai central railway to station, shopping complexes and little bit far to airport. security and neatness of the hotel is good. Since it is in center of city, we can find theaters, restaurants and shopping complexes near to this.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirankilari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Room that was allotted to me was really comfortable, quiet and luxurious. Toilet was nice and spacious. What I did not like about this hotel is the food. They have open air dance recital almost every day. One can eat their foods open air and listen and watch the dance recital. Location was good too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndraniKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerala, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Was in Chennai last month in a small group to watch IPL Cricket finals and happened to stay in this hotel for two nights. I knew this was one of the old properties in Chennai in good location. I am impressed with the heritage look of the building, well appointed and luxurious rooms, big bathroom and very friendly and professional staff. One of the best restaurants especially for Indian food I visited so far is “The Verandah”. Lavish buffet and served in excellence. If you like chettinad cuisine, then do not miss out ‘The Raintree’. However, chilling out at “Distil” bar was not at all impressive. Poor ambiance with less crowd and very slow service. Overall, when you are in Taj you won’t feel like you are in Chennai.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel, and it was a pleasure to have you with us.

We were glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and appreciated the authentic 'Old World Charm' and character of this hotel. At the time this hotel was built and uptil recently, we have had the privilege of having the largest rooms in the city, and were pleased that the layout and appointment and aesthetics of the room and bathroom met with your approval.

Food is an intrinsic part of one's experience in a hotel, and I am glad that you enjoyed the food at both our Verandah, with its extensive buffet offerring and choice of Indian cuisine, as well as at our Raintree restaurant, which showcases the local Chettinad cuisine of this region in a traditional house setting, a combination which has been exceedlngly popular amongst our guests.

Whilst we are always engaged in a journey to improve upon our services, we do regret the shortcomings you faced in our Distil restaurant, where apart from the ambiance, the service was not as prompt and engaging and efficient as your experience of our services in the rest of the hotel. This matter has been taken up with our Food & Beverage Manager for suitably addressing from a sensitivity and training perspective, and we are grateful for your bringing this to our attention.

We are delighted by your endorsement of the Taj, our hotel, as well as our colleagues, and look forward to the opportunity to be of service again, in the near future.

Thank you, once again, for your visit and your feedback.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay
Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Binny room - conference hall : I am talking about a very small part of this star hotel, earlier called Connemera. I have attended SAP meetiing last week by SAP/Bosch. The business meeting was held in Binny room. Conference hall, oval shaped, good looking can take about 100 participants. Looks very old , but decent looking. The photos/arts displayed and the lights clearly say that the room is very old. Worst of all is the SQUEAKING chairs. In the beginning, I thought only my chair is creating noise, but later recognised that it is not alone and has many companions. Could not concentrate on the presentaions by speakers as the chairs made their way.

So, binny hall - not fit for conferences, till they change the chairs.

Room Tip: Avoid Binny room for conferences - till they change the chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

We do appreciate your bringing to our attention your dissatisfaction with some chairs in the Binny hall which were making noise, and did not allow you to participate fully in the conference you were attending. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. We have taken up this matter in right earnest with our Engineering team, for suitably addressing.

The Vivanta by Taj - Connemara is a historic and heritage hotel of Chennai from its Colonial past, and the Binny Hall in its earlier days was the Dining Hall. We have remodeled around its 'Old World Charm', and were encouraged that the appearance, size and layout of the Hall did meet with your approval, while understanding that the look may have felt a bit dated.

We are privileged to have the benefit of your opinion, which along with all other feedback we receive is an invaluable source for us for further improvements and enhancements in our facilities and services.

We look forward to your future visits, and to a continued meaningful engagement.

Thank you, once again, for your visit and feedback.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay
Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 388 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 388 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 388 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Address: Binny Road, Chennai 600002, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chennai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
#16 Family Hotel in Chennai
#17 Business Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,000 - ₹ 35,000
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai is the city's only heritage hotel, built in 1854 as the Imperial Hotel, renamed Albany in 1886, finally re-established as The Connemara in 1890. It was an Art Deco look that the Connemara sported when it ‘reopened’ in 1937. And the legendary architect Geoffrey Bawa added his touch to the tower block and linking pool in 1974. Today it is infused with the spirited style of Vivanta by Taj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Connemara, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Taj Connemara Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing