We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Ranked #17 of 395 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I was in Chennai for a friend's wedding, travelling with my parents. I was looking for a relaxing place to stay, a sort of retreat from the noisiness and chaos of Chennai. I arrived a day before my parents did and I was very well looked after. The service was very personalised and I found that to be the best thing about the hotel. They offered us a room in the old part of the hotel which had an unusual charm and calmness.
Room service was great and the breakfast spread was amazing! The only disappointing part was that wi-fi services were chargeable. It's surprising to see that in hotels like Vivanta. Either way that wasn't much of a minus point for me. I would keep going back and recommend it to others. I loved it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-Rupal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    356
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
158
171
83
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

By staying in a Taj hotel you expect the service and comfort of a large hotel chain like Taj and surely they did not disappoint. The food in the restaurant was very good and I was entertaining some clients so it was important. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Just wish I had more time to stay there. Next visit to Chennai will stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is very old hotel and pretty much everything in it needs to be replaced. All the finishing, beds are very old. Bead sheets are third class faded color and worn. I am surprised to see so many positive reviews.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level Contributor
143 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent two nights at the Taj Connemara as part of a tour of South India with Saga. We got there about 1230 and had a cold welcome drink before making our way to room 301.
It was a very big room with twin beds, a sofa and an armchair, an office desk with chair, a ceiling fan, a large flat screen television with a good picture, ample wardrobe space, a safe, room shoes and dressing gowns, a view that wasn't up to much, an ironing board with iron which had one pin sheared off so didn't work. The bathroom had a bath and fixed shower but was good and lots of toiletries. There was a toilet and bidet. The bathroom had a strange smell we couldn't identify and the bedroom smelled of cigarette smoke. We later discovered we were on a smoking floor so all the rooms were the same. I did say to reception that using one of the very effective oil burners they seem to have all over the public places in the hotel would soon make the room smell better but that seemed to fall on deaf ears.
The food was very good at the Connemara with a bountiful buffet for both breakfast and dinner.
We did take a walk in the surrounding area and it is not for the faint hearted. The pavements are in a terrible state and there are beggars in abundance. There is a shopping centre next door with bargains to be had if shopping is your thing.
There was a lot of noise outside at night, which sounded like drilling and digging equipment but we couldn’t see it.

Room Tip: Unless you smoke avoid the smoking floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
198 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

When we lived in Madras from 1977-83, the pool at the Connemara Hotel is where I learnt how to swim. So it has a vey special place in my heart. The poolside is also this hotels biggest asset. Set in a secluded colonial garden, sitting by the pool and reading in the late afternoon sun is magnificent. So is the dining in the restaurant by the poolside, which is charming with great food.

The hotel per se is a little bit dated. The style is a mix between art deco and colonial. We had a big suite on the ground floor, opening onto the pool, and it was fantastic albeit not entirely functional. The design incorporated a lot of smaller rooms/nooks within the suite that were somewhat a waste of space.

I have to say though, that the service was exceptional. Very attentive and welcoming.

Room Tip: Suites with an entrance to the pool combine the best features of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bojantercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#18 of 395 in Chennai
1,108 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 395 in Chennai
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 395 in Chennai
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Address: Binny Road, Chennai 600002, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chennai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#16 Family Hotel in Chennai
#17 Business Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,000 - ₹ 35,000
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai is the city's only heritage hotel, built in 1854 as the Imperial Hotel, renamed Albany in 1886, finally re-established as The Connemara in 1890. It was an Art Deco look that the Connemara sported when it ‘reopened’ in 1937. And the legendary architect Geoffrey Bawa added his touch to the tower block and linking pool in 1974. Today it is infused with the spirited style of Vivanta by Taj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Connemara, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Taj Connemara Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing