We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place close to the busy market at T Nagar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand by GRT Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand by GRT Hotels
Ranked #14 of 386 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent place close to the busy market at T Nagar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Had to make a last minute booking in Chennai due to the change of plans on New Year eve (because of Hurricane Thane) and this seemed like a fine place available. The place didn't disappoint a bit. Rooms were excellent, food was nice; a bit expensive though. Staff was extremely courteous and made sure we enjoyed the stay despite the rush and mayhem of new year's eve. T Nagar market was at a walking distance and we didn't find it hard to make good use of our time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paliwals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
June 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    312
    82
    14
    14
See reviews for
184
83
72
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kanathur, India
Level Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Great hotel with 5 star facilities. Impeccable service, straight line interiors. An Indian restaurant to full fill your Indian taste. The Azulia -- Med restaurant which offers you the best from that region complimented with a Chef from Turkey.
The place is bubbling outside, but inside you feel the calm of a busy hotel though. A bar with different facets of levels (both energy wise and ambiance wise ).
Full marks for the food and cleanliness.

Room Tip: take the eastern rooms, so you get the view of the Chennai surroundings, Great Wifi which is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTBMamallapuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
June 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

For a discerning traveller this is a treat!! Its Clean, Comfortable and Staff is proficient and professional.
Stayed twice back to back in May and June 2012 and wont hesitate a moment to repeat. The reception area is pleasant, impressive and majestic.It is one of the few hotels I have stayed in the WORLD who donot ask for Cash security or Credit Card details on Check in...In India this is a Big thing!!!
The breakfast will beat any Taj or Oberoi easily. It has a wide ranging choice of unusual preparations apart from the regular. I had the Dinner buffet too and what a treat it was. One day during breakfast I wanted warm milk and it never came..that was the only set back I had during my two stays.
In the Club room where I was upgraded there is even a foot massage machine..you wont get that even at the Leela Palace or any Oberoi property.
This place for me is a real find, even better than the neighbouring Raintree Annasalai..I only wish there was at least a one way transfer to the airport for the price I paid( through Makemytrip). Since I travel to Chennai regularly I wonder whether they have any loyalty programmes. Couldnt find out due to lack of time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
June 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

A bit expensive ,a small snacks food platter is very expensive as in at other places you can have whole meal in that snack prize...rest its fine..but staff is also less knowledgble about the products they are selling..

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jasleen004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
525 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Though only a one night stay it turned out to be an extremely comfortable one and helped me unwind after an hectic day. The food was excellent and so was the service. I look forward to a longer stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShreyasMalkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 386 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 386 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
The Residency
#32 of 386 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand by GRT Hotels

Property: Grand by GRT Hotels
Address: 120 Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai 600017, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,367 - ₹ 7,985
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand by GRT Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND by GRT Hotels, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Grand by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing