We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference trip to Taj Coromodal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Ranked #4 of 437 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at Taj Coromondal during a conference. Wonderful property. Delicious food. Don't miss the filter coffee. You can travel to any place in Chennai with ease. They also participated in conducting a session for Multiple Sclerosis patients.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rengaraj v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaleemYousuff, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Coromandel and sparing time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words of appreciation have been a great source of inspiration for our team and these motivate them to serve better, thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Saleem Yousuff
Area Director – Taj Hotels Chennai & General Manager Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros: Four of us jet-lagged and tired travellers, were easily rejuvenated by our first night here. Starting with the ladies at the reception who welcomed us with the traditional arati, to the delicious breakfast buffet with Madras filter coffee and South Indian food (masala dosa, vada, idli, sambhar, chutneys) like one never gets in the US to the 120 minute head+foot+body massage, our 3 nights were a wonderful start to our vacation in India. The rooms were large and comfortable, the bathrooms/showers and toiletries were top-notch. This would be standard for a 5-star hotel but what made our stay at the Taj so different was the staff - warm, smiling and welcoming! They really seemed to enjoy their work. Their interactions with us were cordial, hospitable and it felt like they were welcoming us into their home.
Cons: (1) The website describes "our sumptuous Champagne High Tea at the Tea Lounge , the spread includes hors d'oeuvres, scones, macaroons, ..." There was no special High Tea and no one in the lounge seemed to know anything about it. (2) the temperature control in the rooms seemed impossible to adjust even with help from the hotel staff. It was always too cold! (3) No fault of the hotel, but the streets around it are extremely pedestrian unfriendly even for someone who grew up in Chennai!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank softwareGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaleemYousuff, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Coromandel and sparing time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words of appreciation have been a great source of inspiration for our team and these motivate them to serve better, thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories.

At the outset, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit & we are certainly concerned about your review. We value your comments and the same has been communicated to our associates immediate attention. We hope you would treat this instance of dilution of services in isolation and give us another visit. I would look forward to welcoming you to the Taj Coromandel again soon.


Kind Regards,
Saleem Yousuff
Area Director – Taj Hotels Chennai & General Manager Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Spent two days here. The experience lived up to everything I’ve come to expect from the Taj brand. From the comfort of the bed through to the considerateness of the staff. Service felt sincere and warm rather than the formulaic “have a good day” standard of even many high end hotels. The South Indian restaurant is worth a visit but you may need to starve for a day or two beforehand if you try one of the set menus; but perhaps the word “feast” was a clue! I also tried the spa and had an invigorating head massage. Stay at this hotel!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank awrightcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaleemYousuff, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Coromandel and sparing time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words of appreciation have been a great source of inspiration for our team and these motivate them to serve better, thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Saleem Yousuff
Area Director – Taj Hotels Chennai & General Manager Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

My family and I have spent our annual vacation at the Taj Coromandel for the last 7 years. We return each December because of the simply excellent service, food and hotel facilities. My entire family is made to feel most welcome, and the hotel staff goes to great lengths to make our stay very special. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Chennai!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet non-smoking corner room, and our accommodations were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaleemYousuff, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Coromandel and sparing time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words of appreciation have been a great source of inspiration for our team and these motivate them to serve better, thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Saleem Yousuff
Area Director – Taj Hotels Chennai & General Manager Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

I stayed for a couple of weeks very recently with my family (I stay at the Coromandel frequently, but for shorter periods). This time, during my longer stay, it was like a home away from home. Totally enjoyed all aspects of hospitality. Everything from check-in to check-out was impeccable. Restaurant staff are awesome and take great care of you. Wonderful house keeping staff. Fitness center folks were special and helpful. Room service was wonderful. Club lounge staff were phenomenal. We enjoyed the stay with family. We mostly dined mostly in Anise - a wonderful place to dine and also meet people. Southern spice is a fine restaurant as well. The only thing I wish Taj Hotels should start looking at is adding some healthy menu choices. While food was wonderful and tasty, it will really nice if they add healthier choices!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv-family-trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaleemYousuff, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Coromandel and sparing time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words of appreciation have been a great source of inspiration for our team and these motivate them to serve better, thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories. We will definitely look into the feasibility of implementing your suggestions in our menu's at the earliest.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Saleem Yousuff
Area Director – Taj Hotels Chennai & General Manager Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#9 of 437 in Chennai
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royapettah
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#18 of 437 in Chennai
1,230 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#11 of 437 in Chennai
1,583 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#31 of 437 in Chennai
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Coromandel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Coromandel Chennai

Address: 37 Mahatma Gandhi Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai 600034, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Nungambakkam/Marina Beach , Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#4 Business Hotel in Chennai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
Price Range: ₹ 10,064 - ₹ 23,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Coromandel Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a fusion of rich South Indian design and classic elegance, the Taj Coromandel has been a landmark of fine living and hospitality in Chennai for the past four decades. Named after the Coromandel coast, the Hotel presents an urban oasis of bespoke experiences for both business and leisure guests, with attentive service and state-of-the-art facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, MakeMyTrip, Ctrip TA, Yatra, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip, Prestigia and TravelGuru so you can book your Taj Coromandel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Coromandel Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Taj Coromandel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing