We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,320)
Filter reviews
1,321 results
Traveller rating
858
348
76
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
858
348
76
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern spicegolden dragonpregoanise restaurantjiva spaclub floorsouth indian restaurantbusiness triphealth clubfive star hotelfilter coffeeexcellent hotelin room diningroom serviceduty managerthe heart of the citytravel desk
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 1,321 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Pros: Four of us jet-lagged and tired travellers, were easily rejuvenated by our first night here. Starting with the ladies at the reception who welcomed us with the traditional arati, to the delicious breakfast buffet with Madras filter coffee and South Indian food (masala dosa, vada, idli, sambhar, chutneys) like one never gets in the US to the 120 minute head+foot+body massage, our 3 nights were a wonderful start to our vacation in India. The rooms were large and comfortable, the bathrooms/showers and toiletries were top-notch. This would be standard for a 5-star hotel but what made our stay at the Taj so different was the staff - warm, smiling and welcoming! They really seemed to enjoy their work. Their interactions with us were cordial, hospitable and it felt like they were welcoming us into their home.
Cons: (1) The website describes "our sumptuous Champagne High Tea at the Tea Lounge , the spread includes hors d'oeuvres, scones, macaroons, ..." There was no special High Tea and no one in the lounge seemed to know anything about it. (2) the temperature control in the rooms seemed impossible to adjust even with help from the hotel staff. It was always too cold! (3) No fault of the hotel, but the streets around it are extremely pedestrian unfriendly even for someone who grew up in Chennai!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank softwareGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaleemYousuff, Senior Vice President Operations – Tamil Nadu, Kerala & Andhra Pradesh at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for connecting with us to share your valuable feedback. It is with great concern I have made a note of your feedback with regard to your overall experience during your recent visit to Taj Coromandel.

I have personally looked into the area highlighted by you and would like to assure you that we are initiating corrective actions. Guest feedback is an integral part of our learning curve and I am grateful to you for taking the time out to share your feedback.

I would request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration and give us another opportunity to be of value to you in the near future.

Assuring you of our best of attention and care at all times.


Kind Regards,
Saleem Yousuff,
Senior Vice President Operations – Tamil Nadu, Kerala & Andhra Pradesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Spent two days here. The experience lived up to everything I’ve come to expect from the Taj brand. From the comfort of the bed through to the considerateness of the staff. Service felt sincere and warm rather than the formulaic “have a good day” standard of even many high end hotels. The South Indian restaurant is worth a visit but you may need to starve for a day or two beforehand if you try one of the set menus; but perhaps the word “feast” was a clue! I also tried the spa and had an invigorating head massage. Stay at this hotel!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank awrightcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaleemYousuff, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Coromandel and sparing time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words of appreciation have been a great source of inspiration for our team and these motivate them to serve better, thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Saleem Yousuff
Area Director – Taj Hotels Chennai & General Manager Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

My family and I have spent our annual vacation at the Taj Coromandel for the last 7 years. We return each December because of the simply excellent service, food and hotel facilities. My entire family is made to feel most welcome, and the hotel staff goes to great lengths to make our stay very special. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Chennai!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet non-smoking corner room, and our accommodations were great.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaleemYousuff, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Coromandel and sparing time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words of appreciation have been a great source of inspiration for our team and these motivate them to serve better, thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Saleem Yousuff
Area Director – Taj Hotels Chennai & General Manager Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

I stayed for a couple of weeks very recently with my family (I stay at the Coromandel frequently, but for shorter periods). This time, during my longer stay, it was like a home away from home. Totally enjoyed all aspects of hospitality. Everything from check-in to check-out was impeccable. Restaurant staff are awesome and take great care of you. Wonderful house keeping staff. Fitness center folks were special and helpful. Room service was wonderful. Club lounge staff were phenomenal. We enjoyed the stay with family. We mostly dined mostly in Anise - a wonderful place to dine and also meet people. Southern spice is a fine restaurant as well. The only thing I wish Taj Hotels should start looking at is adding some healthy menu choices. While food was wonderful and tasty, it will really nice if they add healthier choices!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv-family-trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaleemYousuff, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Coromandel and sparing time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words of appreciation have been a great source of inspiration for our team and these motivate them to serve better, thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories. We will definitely look into the feasibility of implementing your suggestions in our menu's at the earliest.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Saleem Yousuff
Area Director – Taj Hotels Chennai & General Manager Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night and was impressed with the amenities. It seemed close to the city center and the hotel staff were good and helpful. I had a very comfortable stay and would definitely come again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank VinothT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaleemYousuff, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Coromandel and sparing time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words of appreciation have been a great source of inspiration for our team and these motivate them to serve better, thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Saleem Yousuff
Area Director – Taj Hotels Chennai & General Manager Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews