We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent hotel , great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Fortune, Chennai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
My Fortune, Chennai
Ranked #38 of 380 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
253 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Decent hotel , great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here for a night in a business trip.
Plus points:
1- great location on TTK road
2 - Great restaurants including the Peshwari for North Indian Food
3 - Great staff - they even called me up after filling out a survey to explore my feedback further

Will definitely stay at the hotel for my future visits to Chennai.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    144
    51
    11
    10
See reviews for
41
19
48
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We visited this hotel in May 2012. We booked the most expensive room called Club Exclusive. The room was good but I have major compliant about the maintenance and housekeeping of this place. First the TV remote was not working. Then AC wasn't that good. Flush in toilet not proper !! Yek. The AC panel broke down and also the lights were not working properly thru remote.
After charging us a very high rate, I felt the quality of maintenance is much to be desired.
Regarding house keeping. it used to take too long for getting the service. The Concierge staff was arrogant as we experienced for the person who came to fix our Safe locker. Even my young son felt that the guy was rude and even banged the door while going out. Maybe he was expecting a large tip or what we don't know.
Reception also was soso...During checking the receptionist remind us where to take the included dinner twice as also told us we will have to pay if we take it some where else in the hotel !!! Not needed. We know what we are doing. We feel it is not a very courteous hotel and felt not very good about the whole thing. Sorry for the negative list of issues!!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nitin_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

i am a businessman - I had been to this hotel with my wife during republic day time, without any expectations. actually i hv transitted on my way from delhi to tirupati. i took up a suite room (oh boy! so economically priced for a huge room - i dont remember now, but it was less than 9K - ooh how can it be so less rate for a two bay room). i never expected that the hotel has so much to offer us. great ambiance, great people, great hospitality, great food, great service, great pool (small and simple), great room (laaaarge and excellent) - i am having work in bangalore this month end -but i decided to go via chennai, just for sake of this hotel. i am glad that i have work down south so frequently now

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijendar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

its a small city hotel.only 2 restrurent.nothing too much to do.buffet food is testless. small pool,no spa.no live entertement.room rent is very high as per standerd.u will get more nice hotel less price.i will never back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonic118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I shifted here after a night in the Aloft and oh boy is the difference marked. This is a full service hotel, a good bar, good food and great rooms, especially on the 6th floor. Genuinely a pleasure and the sort of place that after a hard day at work where you find yourself just relaxing as you walk into the hotel. There are newer and posher hotels these days but the My Fortune (ex-ITC) has a great atmosphere in a traditional luxury way. Feels slightly 1990s in some of the fittings but that for me just added to the charm

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the sixth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seat62A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Fortune Select Palms
#51 of 380 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Fortune Select Grand
#56 of 380 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#12 of 380 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savera Hotel
#37 of 380 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Courtyard Chennai
#27 of 380 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Fortune, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Fortune, Chennai

Property: My Fortune, Chennai
Address: Cathedral Road, Chennai 600086, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Chennai
#27 Family Hotel in Chennai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,523 - ₹ 8,114
Hotel Class:4.5 star — My Fortune, Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your My Fortune, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Fortune, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chola Chennai
Chennai Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing