We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unique experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Park Chennai
Ranked #57 of 382 Hotels in Chennai
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is my first stay in this hotel. I hotel ambiance is not so great and I came to know that this is of bolly wood theme with few old movie posters here and there and in the hotel rooms as well.
If the posters in the room is of any scenic then it might be good. I booked because it is very near to Us consulate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayramchitturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for bringing to our notice the issue with some of the film posters. We assure you that it will be looked into. Glad you found the hotel suitably located to meet your needs. Hoping to welcome you back very soon!! .Please do contact me directly at lherbert@theparkhotels.com in case I can be of any further help.

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    353
    279
    167
    166
See reviews for
188
123
127
762
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I have stayed at many hotels internationally and this hotel is one of the best. Location is a strong point with great restaurants and bar. There is a lot of positive energy in this hotel and staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a city facing room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bond_1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you so much for the positive and encouraging remarks about our hotel and staff. These kind and reassuring words help us to surge forward and serve you better. We hope to have you back soon enough to experience other facilities at the hotel. Please do contact me directly at lherbert@theparkhotels.com in case I can be of any further help.

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This was my 5th or 6th stay there, only because my client in Chennai books me there, as they get a corporate rate. But this was the last time for sure. From next trip, I will book elsewhere. The entire hotel, but especially the rooms are in dire need of renovation. The wooden flooring in the rooms has warped, the furniture polish is chipping. The minibar is hopelessly ill-equipped. Each light fixture is individually controlled with no master switch at the bedside. The floor lamp is behind a chair so to reach the switch you have to either move the cumbersome chair or dive head-first behind the chair in the hope of somehow reaching the light switch. There is no electrical point at the bedside to charge your cellphone.

The service in the coffee shop is appallingly slow. Never ever order a la carte. Lunch will become dinner. During breakfast service, I was not even offered tea / coffee, nor was my water glass filled. During the lunch buffet, I asked for Indian breads with my meal, as well as some ice for my water. Neither was served, despite a reminder. The staff are either clueless or just not bothered. Either way, it points to a hopeless lack of training on behalf of the management.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yohannsetna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the discomfort caused by the shortcomings faced in the room during your stay with us. The room has been blocked and taken for maintenance upkeep. We have ensured all corrective efforts are collectively put in to resolve them. We acknowledge your feedback on the hotel upgradation and have shared your views with our team. Thank you for bringing this to our notice. We hope you give us a chance to serve you better the next time you are with us. We would not like to offer any excuses for the service failures you were at the receiving end of. We are embarrassed and are doing our utmost to make sure we don’t have a repeat of this kind with any of our other guests in future. Please do contact me directly at lherbert@theparkhotels.com in case I can be of any further help.

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai hotels

Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed at The Park at the beginning of visit to India. Rooms were very nice with lovely decor, comfortable bed and all the amenities. Ate at the Thai restaurant on site. Excellent service in all aspects. Location was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VASoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for having given us the opportunity to kickstart your trip to India on a good note. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back really soon!!

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

This was the fourth location of The Park Hotel that I have stayed amongest which Kolkata, New Delhi and Hyderabad were others. But this was my longest stay as compared to others as I was there for 10 Nights for my Mon's treatment in a near by hospital. First of all I would like to Thank all the staff for their courtesy extended during our stay. The location of the hotel is very good and staff very friendly. It has a fantastic roof top swimming pool well maintained only draw back is the dressing room is very cramped with lots of Spa members specially during the evenings. The breakfast remains almost the same throughout the stay with very less variety of cold cuts. Apart from this the Thai restaurant serves average food but the coffee shop was fine but again with very less variety of North Indian Food. We were given room on the 6th floor which quite dilapidated but next day we were shifted to the newly renovated 4th floor which was lot better and vibrant. My experience with overall stay at all the Park hotels has never been bad and I feel the use of Vibrant colors in the rooms makes it quite lively. Night clubs have been the USP of the group all over the country. Though Chennai nightlife gets over before even you step into your party shoes, not much of my interest the purpose of the stay was close proximity the Hospital. Once my mom was back from the hospital to the hotel the staff were very concerned through out her stay and even managed to make special meals for her. I recommend this hotel specially if you are going for some treatment purpose you will be very well taken care of.

Room Tip: Choose to stay in the Newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
We really appreciate your kind words towards our hospitable staff. It was our pleasure to have looked after you and your mother to the best of our ability. Our location, in the heart of the city, has always been an added advantage for us and we are glad it helped you in the most important of times. We are glad to hear of your positive response towards our renovated rooms as this is just the beginning. We are looking at bringing in more variations in our Breakfast Buffet so hope you like it even better during your next stay. We will be more than happy to have you back and serve you better.

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#88 of 382 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Savera Hotel
#37 of 382 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#14 of 382 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#25 of 382 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Courtyard Chennai
#21 of 382 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Property: The Park Chennai
Address: 601 Anna Salai, Chennai 600006, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,973 - ₹ 7,326
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotel Chennai
The Park Hotels Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing