We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel right near airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #25 of 403 Hotels in Chennai
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stay here often and enjoy it. It is just a 10 minute drive from airport. The Club lounge is an oasis from all the noise and bustle on the street and nice to enjoy snacks and drinks at end of the day. The staff know us by now and are well trained and courteous and helpful without being over the top. The general restaurant has Chef William on at lunch and dinner; he is a character who will make special dishes for you, especially Chinese food. We always have him make noodle dishes for us with whatever foods he has in that day. It pays to meet him and chat and he will be very helpful. The Kayal seafood restaurant is also very good with a range of daily special fish available and again the staff are helpful with suggestions without being pushy. The rooms are older but large size and have I/G windows so noise is not a problem. We will continue to use it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Sir,
We are extremely delighted with your wonderful appreciation of our hotel and all its venues.
There's no doubt about it, appreciation in any form at any time brightens anyone's existence. And, like a beam of sunlight striking a mirror, the brightness is reflected back at you.
We would like to thank you for taking your time out and composing a detailed review about our different venues. Chef William, and the team at Cilantro, Kayal and the Club Lounge are really motivated by your very nice compliments. Not everyone writes back their appreciation and we are really glad you did.
We do look forward to welcoming you back and giving you once again our wonderful hospitality experience.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 927 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Hotel is on the Main Road to city and a short ride to the Airport. The hotel is a bit old but good. Rooms are good size. The hotel can do with an upgrade considering the options available in the city. The fitness centre require new equipment.

Staff was very courteous and well trained.

Good Value & strongly recommend for your next visit to Chennai

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank Rakesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Sir
Thank you for choosing the Le Royal Meridien Hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to write your comments. Yes, we are in the process of renovating and refurbishing the whole hotel with the Fitness Centre too included.
Your appreciation of our staff is a boost to our morale and an impetus to do even better.
Thank you again for your feedback which is very valued and appreciated. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed here for business and would recommend it for this kind of trip. The hotel itself is a bit outdated but the room I got had a great view to the pool and garden. Located near to the airport and city centre.

I really enjoyed the food and specifically the Indian Cousine. The restaurant also offers a more exclusive menu with really nice live music. The best of all was the staff. They were very friendly and carrying and I was very satisfied with their service. The only thing I would suggest they need to work on is on providing the service a bit quicker but apart from that they are doing a great job.

Room Tip: Choose corner suites, these are located with a view to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triulzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Sir
Thank you for your appreciative review on Trip Advisor. It is indeed a pleasure to have such special customers like yourself who do take the time to convey their thanks and positive observations.
Our Indian restaurant Navaratna, strives to serve the best of India on a platter and we are really happy that you enjoyed it.
All our associates have been complimented and appreciated for keeping up the high standards of hospitality.
We thank you for bringing to our attention, the need for quicker service and we are working on training the associates on the service practices.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

Came here after a bad experience at the Lemon Tree and immediately felt welcome. Checkin was efficient and friendly, room was good.
The ayurvedic massage was very relaxing and the Club room quiite spacious.
The happy hr in the lounge was good value, so i had a nice stay.
Hotel is a little older and it shows.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexiDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for taking time out and composing a very nice review about our hotel.
The associates at the Front Office and the Club Lounge are delighted with your appreciation.
Yes, our hotel will be refurbished by early next year with the most modern amenities, and will retain its present charm too.
Our therapists at the Health Club have gone through rigorous training In Ayurvedic treatments, and their skills do work. Thank you for the compliment on the massage.
We really do look forward to welcoming you back and offering you the best services always.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Excellent and exhaustive menu at the restaurant for the buffet. I have dined many times over the years and it has always given the finest experience in food. It has very pleasant ambience both during day and night. A very good location to reach or stop over before moving to airport for catching the flight.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padmakumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Mr. S Padmakumar,
Thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor on our excellent and exhaustive menu at the buffet. It is our mission to ensure that each guest receives prompt, professional, friendly and courteous service and to have every customer who comes through our doors, leave impressed and excited to come back again.
Your appreciation makes us strive harder in our mission. We thank you for giving us the impetus.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to a fine dining experience again and again.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 403 in Chennai
1,470 reviews
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#30 of 403 in Chennai
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Chennai
#9 of 403 in Chennai
1,240 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 403 in Chennai
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai 600016, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai
#17 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai
Price Range: ₹ 6,643 - ₹ 10,746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Expedia, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, Yatra, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, TravelGuru and Prestigia so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Meridien
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing