We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spread of choices in food in Cilantro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #28 of 380 Hotels in Chennai
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Spread of choices in food in Cilantro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Very recently we went to Le Royal Meridien for Dinner. It has a spread of veg and non veg food and enjoyed every item that we took in our plate. They are friendly and very helpful. The person, whom I spoke with, while booking the table, was very friendly and met us when we were there and took us around to other restaurants that are available within the hotel and with information related to it. We would love to go again for "Navrathna" hall to enjoy the bharathnatyam and the food together..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indubala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Ms Indubala

Thank you for your compliments on our hotel guest services and our cuisine.
Knowing how things work is the basis for appreciation, and is thus a source of civilized delight. -William Safire

We would love to welcome you back with family and friends to the hotel and to Navratna restaurant where you can enjoy your fine dining experience with a beautiful bharatnatyam recital

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    300
    147
    68
    46
See reviews for
118
44
96
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I havespend nearly 4 weeks in this hotel on a business trip in March-April 2012. It is a good choice if you want a hotel with style, good service and not least fine food. There is a nice garden with a good swimming pool. The staff is friendly and serviceminded. The room was always clean.
The chief cook is very good and always ready to prepare something special food for you.
It is the first time in India that I have spent one month without having indian stomach problems.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piet_J_Jansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Mr. Piet J Jansen
We would love to thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Meridien on your business trip to India. And we really appreciate your wonderful comments on our property, guest services and our delicious cuisine.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our nice garden and swimming pool.
Your appreciative comments really encourage us and we have congratulated our Chef and his team as well as all the housekeeping associates on maintaining the highest possible standards.

Make it a habit to tell people thank you. To express your appreciation, sincerely and without the expectation of anything in return. Truly appreciate those around you, and you'll soon find many others around you. Truly appreciate life, and you'll find that you have more of it. -Ralph Marston

We appreciate the time you invested in letting us know about your appreciation, which not all our guests do and look forward to welcoming you back, and giving you a wonderful experience all over again.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have stayed here several times in the last one year. The last was a month ago. I am a Starwood Platinum guest and have always got upgraded to a suite. However, even the suites are very average. Dark rooms, with the suite bedroom more often than not (executive suites) without a window, which I completely hate. The club breakfast is very poor and limited, with bad service. Breakfast at the coffee shop on the ground floor is much better. The dinner buffet at the same restaurant is again very average with limited choices. On my last stay there were cocroaches in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musafir_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Mr. Musafir
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Le Royal Meridien.
Our Club Lounge team and hotel management were unaware of your concerns and we all wish you had spoken to us during your stay. We really apologize that your room was not to your liking.
We really invest a lot of our time and expertise in preparing one of the best buffets the city has to offer for breakfast, lunch and dinner, so we are really surprised that it could not meet your expectations. We are concerned with your comments about dinner and apologize for any shortcomings. We have brought this to the attention of our food and beverage team for immediate rectification.
May we take this opportunity to thank you for your constructive comments on our standard and services. We would welcome the opportunity to redeem your opinion of the hotel and hope you give us another chance to prove to you that we do, indeed care.
We would really appreciate if you can call or email us to discuss this further as we take feedback such as yours very seriously.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The good part first --
It’s a property near airport so a plus for the location.
Food - Tried the breakfast spread at their restaurant & found it reasonably good.

Not so good –

I found it horrible that given the humidity of Chennai how come there was no AC in the washrooms. Not expected when you come to this range of hotels.

There was a lot of noise( songs playing out loud etc ) caused due to some corporate event happening next to the conf room I was in.

Overall, not bad but definitely did not live up to my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PrachetaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Piya,
Thank you for choosing the Le Royal Meridien on your visit to Chennai.
And we would like to thank you for appreciating our location and evaluating our breakfast buffet as good.
We assure you all our washrooms are equipped with ACs and you must have used it when the power shifts from regular supply to backup due to power cuts in Chennai city. We are trying to shorten the time it takes to get back to its cooling strength.
Le Royal Meridien has the best and the largest banqueting facilities in the city, hence there are a lot of major events that take place here. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced while at our conference rooms.
If you had informed us that it was disturbing your event, we could have requested the other party to tone down.

It is very difficult for us to assist you if we do not know your areas of concern whilst our guest.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it is only through guest comments such as yours that we can continue to refine our product and service.
We look forward to you enjoying our hospitality once more.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I only spent two nights; however the time spent there was quite pleasant. The hotel is older and in the classic Indian style. The rooms were average in size, but well equipped and very clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent, combining the best in French and Indian style. Very nice garden area with a sparkling pool. My only minor complaint was the internet access was intermittent and slow at times. Otherwise, it was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Mr. Mudcat-Mike,

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Le Royal Meridian Hotel. Thank you very much for providing us such a positive feedback.

We do regret about the internet connectivity issue during your stay and have taken this issue up with our internet provider who is now looking at possible improvements of the overall service.

Thank you again for your kind comments and certainly we look forward to welcoming you back

Tara Rhine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#24 of 380 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Trident, Chennai
#9 of 380 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 380 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Hilton Chennai
#7 of 380 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai 600016, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai
#19 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,976 - ₹ 1,26,941
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, Starwood APAC, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
Chennai Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing