We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdated dark rooms, definitely not 5 star” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #26 of 386 Hotels in Chennai
Hartford, CT, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outdated dark rooms, definitely not 5 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have stayed here several times in the last one year. The last was a month ago. I am a Starwood Platinum guest and have always got upgraded to a suite. However, even the suites are very average. Dark rooms, with the suite bedroom more often than not (executive suites) without a window, which I completely hate. The club breakfast is very poor and limited, with bad service. Breakfast at the coffee shop on the ground floor is much better. The dinner buffet at the same restaurant is again very average with limited choices. On my last stay there were cocroaches in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musafir_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Mr. Musafir
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Le Royal Meridien.
Our Club Lounge team and hotel management were unaware of your concerns and we all wish you had spoken to us during your stay. We really apologize that your room was not to your liking.
We really invest a lot of our time and expertise in preparing one of the best buffets the city has to offer for breakfast, lunch and dinner, so we are really surprised that it could not meet your expectations. We are concerned with your comments about dinner and apologize for any shortcomings. We have brought this to the attention of our food and beverage team for immediate rectification.
May we take this opportunity to thank you for your constructive comments on our standard and services. We would welcome the opportunity to redeem your opinion of the hotel and hope you give us another chance to prove to you that we do, indeed care.
We would really appreciate if you can call or email us to discuss this further as we take feedback such as yours very seriously.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    327
    153
    72
    50
See reviews for
140
58
99
679
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The good part first --
It’s a property near airport so a plus for the location.
Food - Tried the breakfast spread at their restaurant & found it reasonably good.

Not so good –

I found it horrible that given the humidity of Chennai how come there was no AC in the washrooms. Not expected when you come to this range of hotels.

There was a lot of noise( songs playing out loud etc ) caused due to some corporate event happening next to the conf room I was in.

Overall, not bad but definitely did not live up to my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PrachetaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Piya,
Thank you for choosing the Le Royal Meridien on your visit to Chennai.
And we would like to thank you for appreciating our location and evaluating our breakfast buffet as good.
We assure you all our washrooms are equipped with ACs and you must have used it when the power shifts from regular supply to backup due to power cuts in Chennai city. We are trying to shorten the time it takes to get back to its cooling strength.
Le Royal Meridien has the best and the largest banqueting facilities in the city, hence there are a lot of major events that take place here. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced while at our conference rooms.
If you had informed us that it was disturbing your event, we could have requested the other party to tone down.

It is very difficult for us to assist you if we do not know your areas of concern whilst our guest.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it is only through guest comments such as yours that we can continue to refine our product and service.
We look forward to you enjoying our hospitality once more.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I only spent two nights; however the time spent there was quite pleasant. The hotel is older and in the classic Indian style. The rooms were average in size, but well equipped and very clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent, combining the best in French and Indian style. Very nice garden area with a sparkling pool. My only minor complaint was the internet access was intermittent and slow at times. Otherwise, it was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Mr. Mudcat-Mike,

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Le Royal Meridian Hotel. Thank you very much for providing us such a positive feedback.

We do regret about the internet connectivity issue during your stay and have taken this issue up with our internet provider who is now looking at possible improvements of the overall service.

Thank you again for your kind comments and certainly we look forward to welcoming you back

Tara Rhine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Check-in services is poor and so slow. Internet in the room also slow, quality in the room is not impressive, the decoration looks old and old quality. I was put in the room that can not open the curtain of the window because opposite room or at the lobby can see you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Achikiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Mr. Achikri,
At the outset let me first thank you for providing us your valuable feedback as it throws light on areas that requires improvement. We regret, your stay at Le Royal Meridian was not satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies.

We have noted all the issues you have raised and discussed these with the appropriate Department Heads, who of course will take remedial action.

We have also adapted some of the procedures in regards to the check in and check out facilities and believe that these will improve the overall speed of check in and out.

Our internet provider has been informed about your disappointment with the slow speed and they are looking at improving the broadband speed

We would like to assure you that we are committed to upholding Le Royal Meridien service standards and are happy to advise that our guest rooms and suites will receive a complete new look and feel after the refurbishment. In this regards we will also address the room’s facing the lobby.
Mr. Achikri again, our sincere apologies. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, India
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The rooms & other places were smelly...the place looks dated & needs serious renovation...didnt allow outside taxis in the hotel...breakfast & resturants were OKish...Reception was not exactly friendly...I think you can get better options at that price...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachitAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraRhine, Public Relations Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Mr. Agarwal,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experiences with our hotel. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

We are sorry you weren’t delighted with the hotel facility. We are very sorry to hear all the negatives in your review, especially regarding the reception. This is not our normal level of service, and if you would be so kind to visit us again in the future, I am sure you would agree. Please know that we really appreciate you having stayed with us, and hopefully, you reconsider and try us again after we renovate the hotel this year. We are looking forward to presenting a very warm welcome experience.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#23 of 386 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Trident, Chennai
#9 of 386 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 386 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 386 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai 600016, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai
#18 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,682 - ₹ 10,022
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
Chennai Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing