We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burgundy - a feast for the senses” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burgundy's - CLOSED

Burgundy's
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Indian, Chinese, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Burgundy's is a creation of VipinSachdev& Chef Willi where we offer a wide spread of World Cuisines. Situated in the swanky residential area of MRC Nagar, at Somerset luxury serviced apartments, the restaurant caters to various clienteles from families, corporates, couples and children. We offer a variety of seating options and dining sections to choose from, including outdoor seating, which is very popular in the evenings when the wafting sea breeze and star lit skies transport you to an ethereal culinary utopia away from the hustle and bustle of Chennai. Chef Chandra, Head Chef Burgundy's, prides himself on serving impeccably presented food without compromising on taste. The dishes offered are based on a selection of Mediterranean, European and Indian classics along with Pan Asian specialties. Burgundy's offers an Al-a-Carte selection on Monday and Tuesday, while the rest of the week, from Wednesday to Sunday, is a buffet concept for lunch and dinner. The Burgundy's team extends a warm welcome to you and we hope you give us the honor of unleashing your taste buds while we delightfully serve you.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Burgundy - a feast for the senses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Burgundy was the venue for my 52nd B'day treat with a close friend. Starting with the ambience, the place had me floored. The range for the Sunday brunch - please be forewarned you need to starve for a day to do complete justice to the spread, with starters, salads, grills, all the way down to the range of the desserts to end your meal, our Star hotels could learn a thing or two from the spread at Burgundy's. Just one tiny sore point - the ambient music was too loud.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronzown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Owner at Burgundy's, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to celebrate your special day in Burgundy’s. Thank you very much for this wonderful review too. I am delighted to know that you loved all that we offer. I am sorry about the music and we have set this right through training that is a regular process in our training centre for all employees including myself.
My team and I look forward to your continued visits to Burgundy’s.
Warm regards.
Vipin Sachdev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    39
    34
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food comfortable restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Food caters to all Tastes - the buffet has Indian , western & deserts. Been twice & it is always full :) there is also a play park outside for kids .

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Um1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Manager at Burgundy's, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Hi,

We thank you for your valued feedback & time taken to write to us. We appreciate your comments. Look forward to your continuous visit.

Cheers
Rabbani, Chef Hari, Neha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“not a destination restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

i was a little disappointed with this restaurant as the quality of the food served is not consistent at all. The initial dinner buffet i went during the first few weeks of the opening was so excellent that when i went there for a la carte dinner, i was disappointed. there is no dearth for the spread of food and that the service is excellent, but there the consistency is lacking.

Tried reaching the manager online but the website does not have an option to write to a customer care of sorts and hence this review.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank s_bubblez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Manager at Burgundy's, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Friend,

Thank you for your honest feedback & value this feedback. We would like to inform you that we have revamped our buffet spread & live counters offered to our guests. Would request you to please revisit us again, we hope to WOW you this time.

Look forward to your visit & patronage.


Cheers
Rabbani, Chef Hari, Neha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food + drinks at the B-Bar but beware bad service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I'm a big fan of the Willi-Vipin group of restaurants in Chennai and have enjoyed many a meal at Tuscana's and of course, subway :) But tonight's experience at the B-Bar was very disappointing.
A friend and I were meeting up after almost 3 years and we chose the B-bar to hang out. The evening started out with some decent cocktails and some good music. While I wished that their bar snacks had more variety and the waiters a little more knowledge on the drinks, it was not something that would make me give 3 stars (I'd rate their other places 5 stars!)

What really made me furious was series of events surrounding our over-inflated bill! We were billed twice the amount that we actually spent. While that in itself could have been an honest mistake, the response from the staff was ridiculous! I showed the bill to our waiter and he took it away and didn't come back for a while. So I went up to the counter demanding to see the bill and the manager for they didn't proffer an apology immediately. The guy actually tore up that bill and claimed that the manager was on leave (on a Sunday evening, there was no supervisor??). He also said that the place was very crowded and things like this happen (poor excuse and not really full!)

Fortunately another waiter came with the revised bill and did apologize profusely but by then, it had already left a bad taste in our mouths!

I'd probably go there again simply for the lack of good bar options and the fact that the food across the hall is good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rajeevpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Owner at Burgundy's, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Dear Friend,
We know that the so called negative feedback is often love in disguise and we take full advantage of it.
I believe that Chef Willi had got in touch with you and sorted out the matter. My apologies too for your poor experience.
Thank you for appreciating the food at Burgundy's. We look forward to your next visit at BBar and Burgundy's.
Best wishes,
Vipin Sachdev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Superb Buffet Spread !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Start with Soups to a large Variety of Veg and Non Veg Salads , ........... Then a great VEG and NON Veg Indian Spread ............ both North and South Indian .
The Gourmet Journey Haults at the Desert Table .............. Indian Sweets to Lovely choice of pastries and Tiramisu out of the world.

If you love Italian food ........ Burgundys has one of the best Italian Pizzas and pasta ........ A MUST !

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sanjay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Owner at Burgundy's, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Dear Friend,
Thank you for taking out time to write about your great experience at Burgundy's.
We feel highly motivated and encouraged when we receive such high praise from our customers. Thank you.
Please do spread the word around and ask your friends and family to visit Burgundy's more often.
Regards.
Vipin Sachdev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burgundy's also viewed

Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing