We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drink & Dine”
Review of Burgundy's - CLOSED

Burgundy's
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Indian, Chinese, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Burgundy's is a creation of VipinSachdev& Chef Willi where we offer a wide spread of World Cuisines. Situated in the swanky residential area of MRC Nagar, at Somerset luxury serviced apartments, the restaurant caters to various clienteles from families, corporates, couples and children. We offer a variety of seating options and dining sections to choose from, including outdoor seating, which is very popular in the evenings when the wafting sea breeze and star lit skies transport you to an ethereal culinary utopia away from the hustle and bustle of Chennai. Chef Chandra, Head Chef Burgundy's, prides himself on serving impeccably presented food without compromising on taste. The dishes offered are based on a selection of Mediterranean, European and Indian classics along with Pan Asian specialties. Burgundy's offers an Al-a-Carte selection on Monday and Tuesday, while the rest of the week, from Wednesday to Sunday, is a buffet concept for lunch and dinner. The Burgundy's team extends a warm welcome to you and we hope you give us the honor of unleashing your taste buds while we delightfully serve you.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Drink & Dine”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Had a very good time here with my family. Excellent food and service.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Amit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Owner at Burgundy's, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Amit,
Thank you very much for visiting Burgundy's & I am glad you have enjoyed it.
I am glad that we were able to achieve our goal of delighting you & I look forward to your regular visits.
Regards.
Vipin Sachdev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    39
    34
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This restaurant is just off the lobby in the Somerset Greenways Serviced Residences of Chennai. We had the pleasure of eating there often over the three weeks we stayed at the Somerset. The food was consistently interesting and excellent, the staff cordial and professional, and they provided a seamless experience for us as Somerset residents.

Just a note on their buffets - the chefs created wonderful buffets of high-end, well-crafted and delicious cuisine from all over the world. We loved their Indian dishes in particular, but everything was delicious. Although we ate there as residents of Somerset, the restaurant is open to anyone, and we often saw groups of Indians there on business, or for weddings, etc. enjoying the buffets.

It's a lovely and elegant respite from the hectic pace of Chennai.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tangoqueen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Owner at Burgundy's, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear friend,

Thank you for your review giving us a 5 star rating. I am delighted that during your entire 3 week stay at Somerset & eating at our Burgundy's my team was able to serve you great food, in a great ambiance with great service.

I look forward to you spreading the Burgundy's brand among all your friends.

In case you are yet in Chennai please visit all our other 3 restaurants. I trust you will love these too.

Regards.
Vipin Sachdev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A refreshing new place!”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

When we were suggested this place for a sunday brunch i had my own doubts. All that vanished once we tucked in. The ambience and lighting are truly outstanding and on par with any international restaurant. The menu was simply delicious and very wide. The kids loved the excellent outdoor play area and this gave us time to relax and talk in peace! But i must say we were a little disappointed to find that the dinner selection wasnt as widespread when we returned. The service and attention given is impeccable and this should be maintained to keep us foodies from returning everytime. Cheers guys, yeah they do serve alcohol. ;)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank muralis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Owner at Burgundy's, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Murali,
I am glad we were able to deliver to you delight that you took your valuable time to post this wonderful review. Thank you very very much.
Our Buffet spread is a lot more on a Sunday brunch vis a vis on a dinner. The prices too are about 20% cheaper for dinner vis a vis the Sunday brunch. Since the last few weeks the number of dishes that is being served has been increased & the menu too has gone through a extensive change where in dishes have a lot more colour & variety.
I trust you have been visiting us regularly & thank you for your business.
Warm regards.
Vipin Sachdev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fine dining ,choicest foods”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Burgundy's is located in calm place very spacious parking and great ambience. The service quality is excellant,the place is good for relaxed dining ,business lunch, Lunch time is only buffet with large selection of salads,veg and non veg dishes and desserts.
worth a visit though it is pricy

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SINGARAMMOHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Owner at Burgundy's, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Mr. Singara Mohan,
I am glad that you a guest from Bangkok that is one of the few food junctions of Asia has appreciated your experience at Burgundy's. Thank you very much.
I trust you will be visiting Burgundy's a few times during every visit of yours to Chennai.
I thank you for your valuable business.
Warm regards.
Vipin Sachdev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good Food at a Premium price”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

For an area starved of good food options (except for Kokum, which is now Ente Keralam), MRC nagar has often been synonymous with Morning walks, Chettinad school and the Ayyapa temple.

Living within walking distance of this place, I had been wanting to check this out for long, and then took the plunge for a family lunch. The first looks of Burgandy's is soothing. A sprawling parking lot, spacious seating arrangement with plenty of lighting is a welcome change. The service is nice and courteous (though they could be a bit clear about whether they had options of Al la carte for lunch) while the choice and spread of food is decent.

The salads were nice though most of them were the cold option (maybe a better mix would be good), The chaat spread was nice, so were the Pizza ranges, the mushroom stuffings and the Cannellonie were awesome. The desert range is a decent spread with the Chocolate mousse taking the pride of place.

On the whole, a good place, nice ambience, tasty food, good service, but a bit pricey. While i understand that all of the above do come with a price, the options available in the city today, at those price bands are far too many and the expectations of service and quality levels at those ranges, are quite high. At those price bands, you expect a Wow . . . which probably needs to be worked on . . .

regards
Rajan

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrajank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Owner at Burgundy's, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Rajan,
I am sorry that we could not serve you a wow & value for the money on your visit to Burgundy's. I trust on your subsequent visits you would have changed your opinion.
We do have a la carte menu being served at all times except during the Sunday brunch.
I thank you for you visiting us & look forward to your continued patronage.
Warm regards.
Vipin Sachdev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burgundy's also viewed

Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing