We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Meditteranean culinary experiences in Chennai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azulia - CLOSED

Azulia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
india
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One of the best Meditteranean culinary experiences in Chennai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

From the moment you enter the restaurant (which is on the first floor of a five-star hotel), the experience begins. While you can see the chefs cooking up wonderful dishes through the glass, wait till they arrive at the table and you put the first bite in your mouth. The trick is to ask the people to explain each dish, maybe tell the chef your preferences and let them decide the seven-course meal for you. The selection of wines is good, choose a good one and start sipping as your dishes arrive.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank WaitForSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good one.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Good food, ambiance is ok and music is OK. Starters are ok, having eaten better Authentic Mediterranean food, the restaurant has to work towards authenticity. For Basil they use Tulsi, which will not be very suitable for their cooking. Now that world is going global they should start spending sometime sourcing more authentic ingredients.
Go over the weekend and enjoy music and food ONCE.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank KDKOFLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A FINE DINING EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Chennai has a reputation for rather limited options as far as international cuisine is concerned. Given this backdrop, Azulia is a refreshing change and offers dishes from the Middle-east (Turkey, Lebanon, Morocco etc) which are reasonably authentic.

Provides a good ambiance and courteous service. The live performance in the evening was a disappointment though.

Overall, good value for money.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whirlwindexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great starters - average main course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This place is touted as the one and only authentic Mediterranean restaurant in Chennai and the cuisine is said to cover entire Mediterranean cost and north Africa.
The place is expensive so ideally suited for dinner with clients - the menu and service is excellent, one can see the effort to live up to the claim.
They have a wide variety of starters and everything we tasted was really good. The main course was a disappointment - but I would give them the benefit of doubt as we might have ordered dishes that are not suitable to the Indian palate.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A dinner befire New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

After lots of thoughts, my family and my friends family decided to go to Azulia. We are regulars to GRT and so we called our friend Satish in GRT and as usual he was kind enough to book a table and did take us to the restaurant and introduced us to the chef and Pradeep. The moment we entered the restaurant we felt we were in the right place for the time food.we were given a comfortable table to be seated and we were given a booklet for us to go thru. Yeah its was the menu, which had names of food which we have never come across. Rather than taking a guess we decided to give a chance to our restaurant professionals and yeah they did choose some if the best food for us to taste... In the meantine Chef Etham gave us some if his fav signature dishes(compliementary) and we relished the same. The fiod guide is huge, so as a new member to mediteranian, would advice anyone that leave the choice to the professional at least for a couple times and then we can go for choices...the taste was absolutely fantastic, a different one though...the cocktails, soup, starters and the pizza, desserts which were served were out of the world and we relished the same in a slow paced manner talking and taking pictures and watching the performance in the restaurant. In this we realisedthat what we eat was only a very small number of food compared to the numbers which are available...at this time we hve almost spent more than 2 hours and then we realised that we need to start and we requested for the bill. The amount was reasonable considering the fact that we had some cocktails and at the end we were given a beautiful plum cake. With tummy full we spoke to the chef again and thanked him for the food and startef. GRT Grand Days once again showed their class on service amd Azulia is worth going. A place for different taste and an experience...

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Praveen Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Azulia also viewed

Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing