We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, excellent service and amazing ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kryptos Vegetarian - CLOSED

Kryptos Vegetarian
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 9
Cuisines: Greek, Indian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Greek for "Hidden", Kryptos, is a treasured jewel tucked away in the cellar of the Yafa building on Khader Nawaz Khan road. With its bright decor and sculptured stone clad walls, Kryptos is an explosion of delight where diners can sample some of the best vegetarian cuisine Chennai has to offer. The cuisine at Kryptos Vegetarian builds upon the reputation enjoyed by Kryptos, in the past, as a fully fledged Greek restaurant, to bring a change into the world of vegetarian cooking, that complements the life style and dining habits of today's discerning clients. Complementing our Greek vegetarian fare are a range of dishes drawing from the world of Indian, Mexican and Chinese foods, plus offering a range of divine desserts and cooling beverages.Kryptos Vegetarian offers the only iced salad counter in Chennai's restaurant scene and one that has justifiably earned the loyalty and love of our diners. With a selection of fresh salads, fruits, vegetables, cheese and fresh breads, the salad counter is great for a meal in itself or as an accompaniment to any of the wide range of dishes that we offer to devour. Our menu includes dishes inspired from around the world, such as Mexican vegetarian Burritos and Enchiladas, Chinese Manchurian and Crispy Tofu, Vegetarian Moussaka, Indian PaneerKofta, Hara Bara Kebabs and Channa Masala, Beetroot and Beans burger and thin crust pizzas, amongst a range of platters to share. Finish your meal with a Baklava, our renowned eggless Tiramisu, Hot Chocolate Puffs dripping in chocolate sauce, sugar-free Carrot Kheer or just ask for a Greek coffee or a steaming masala tea! Whether you are looking for a chic restaurant to take your intimate date or as a family gathering around our renowned center stone table, Kryptos Vegetarian offers something for everyone all under one happy roof. We hope to be part of your extended family where we will be honored to serve you and share the happiness that great food brings.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service and amazing ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We recently relocated from Texas and were missing our favourite Mediterranean restaurant. Thank goodness for Kryptos. We've been frequenting this place almost every weekend and we absolutely love it. Iam a big fan of their salad bar. The selection is fresh, refreshing and innovative. The hummus is to die for.
A definite must-visit for Chennaiites.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anu1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Sidharth,
We are glad you liked our restaurants food and service. In terms of ambience if you can specify what is it that you dint like we will try to rectify. We have many offers and promotions going on like 15% off on American express cards and we also have a Urbane discount card which gives you 15% off across all our restaurants plus gift vouchers worth Rs.10, 000.(Call – 044 45038001)so go ahead and make most of it. Do try our other restaurants Tuscana Pizzeria, Tuscana on Chamiers and Burgundy’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    58
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food you can relate to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The word Greek may get you think of the confused and unknown. Thats the way felt when i stepped into this place. Some how after a bit of beady eyed scanning my mind seemed to settle down. Nibbling lightly on some starters .. things started falling in place.
I love the ambience and the service.. The food is something u can relate to very quickly. Go with a group of friends., trust me its a different feeling altogether.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Benedict G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Benedict,
Thank you for sharing your feelings with us rather than your experience,which we hope were delivered to you in a professional way by our team at Kryptos by Willi.Looking for ward to have you and your friends to savor our exotic meals in near future.
Regards,
Chef Ganesh,Dilli and Neha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Different and Refreshing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Last week I went to Kryptos with my family for lunch. I thought it would be your regular everyday family restaurant, but was I in for a surprise! The ambience was lovely and the place had a warm glow.Loved the menu, and loved that the menu is printed in Tamil as well! The food was light, colourful and delicious. I don't know much about Greek food but I know that the food at Kryptos tasted very exotic. The staff was very efficient and they even recognised my mom from her last visit. We got a small complimentary salad as well! I had Apricot Panacotta for dessert and it was very tasty! All in all it was a very refreshing experience and I'm going to go there again soon :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your feedback on your experience with Kryptos by Willi.Guests like you have been a motivating factor for our team in delivering an excellent service.Kudos to you for complimenting on the bilingual menu that we have introduced recently.You are always welcome to join us for another refreshing experience at Kryptos.
Regards,
Chef Ganesh,Dilli and Neha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, brilliant service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Kryptos gives you one of the best environments to eat in. The interiors are cozy and the food is simply great. It's never too crowded and there's pleasant greek music playing in the background. The choice of food is great, even for vegetarians. Their salads are amazing, each has a unique taste.

Don't miss.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swapnil_midha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Swapnil,
We are very happy to see your feedback,about your very good experience in Kryptos by Willi.Your comments on the details do help us in keeping our standards to a maximum level.We all are looking forward to see you soon at Kryptos once again.
Thank you.
Regards,
Dilli,Chef Ganesh,Neha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Food ......Great Service....lovely ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Truly a classy restaurant.... service is great..... awesome Greek food ....my wifey really loves this place... The portions are very sumptuous.... The staff are extremely friendly... surely recommend to all who like to have a good greek meal...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank faizi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Faizi,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.Kryptos by Willi will always be happy to have guests like you and others who heartily value our services.We look forward to have you and your family again, dining with us.
Regards,
Dilli,Chef Ganesh and Neha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kryptos Vegetarian also viewed

Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing