We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, near to central rly stn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Ranked #64 of 396 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel, near to central rly stn”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Its good hotel with great interior have three star facility. food in restaurant is also good.
Its better to go there & book room, because you will get good package. Staff is very courteous. Hotel is walking distance from Central Rly stn & Madras Medical College.
Hotel is adjoining Railway lines so don't take room on that side

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arunsahdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    69
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
26
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munnar, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My friend and I stayed at Bell Central for 3 nights from 26th June 2012. I have been to 19 countries and Bell Central gives the best value for money. It is also centrally located - just a stone-throw away from Madras Central Station. The restaurant facilities are a blemish on the otherwise excellent services. I wish they would provide the wi-fi facilities as complimentary.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExploreIndiaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

If u want to experience a 5 star level of service quality at the price of a 3 star in the heart of chennai, this is the place to be. Never got a chance to complain of anything. Each and everything was meticulously planned and ready for us. Little things like upgrading ur room for no extra cost, english speaking bell boy in chennai, choices of channels on TV and warm water in the loo hand shower in the morning.. make such a lot of difference. I am an MBA grad with spl interest in marketing and I have definitely learnt a thing or two about customer satisfaction with my stay here.
Bell central will definitely be my first choice for my hotel stay in Chennai as long as I don't want to spend unnecessarily on a 5 star.

Room Tip: there are two sides.. one towards the road the other towards a railway line. Though it didn't di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trip_rajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

It is a good hotel at a very reasonable price. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are maintained very nicely. It is very close to the station but not so close as to get disturbed by the commotion.
It is maintained very nicely and the things work good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leisuretravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, travelled to Chennai for work. I arrived early in the morning (had taken a train overnight and was exhausted), and it was such a delight to enter the room, take a hot shower and then lie in that wonderful bed! I have stayed at many places in India, and 5-star hotels aside, this was the most comfortable stay ever. For the price, it beats all other places.

Pros: Comfortable rooms, heavenly bed, friendly and helpful staff, great shower with excellent water pressure. For those like me who like beer: there is a beer shop just next door. The location is also good and convenient, rikshas can be taken easily from the front door. I may say that this hotel is very close to European standars. Only close because...

Contras: Can be a bit loud (heard hammering on a Sunday afternoon), the wi-fi is not included (1 hour costs Rs. 50/-, the conection is very fast but it would be better if the wi-fi was included in the tarif), the food in the restaurant is not good and the staff there is very slow (a "quick breakfast" can take 40 minutes, they take too long time in taking orders and bringing the bill). The laudry service was a bit slow (almost 2 days), but the work was impecable.

But since this is India, I still find that for the price this hotel is excellent, and I enjoyed my stay. As an example of friendliness, the breakfast is served from 7.30am only, but one day I had to leave earlier than that. The waiter said that he can give me some toast and jam, for which I was very thankful since I can hardly start a day with an empty stomach.

Conclusion: I highly recommend this hotel for those who seek a professional and comfortable ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Hotel Pandian
#86 of 396 in Chennai
181 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#12 of 396 in Chennai
328 reviews
The Residency
#38 of 396 in Chennai
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treebo Mount Kailash Suites
#73 of 396 in Chennai
67 reviews
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#87 of 396 in Chennai
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel - Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel - Chennai

Property: Bell Hotel - Chennai
Address: 21 Old Door No | Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai 600003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 396 Hotels in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,483 - ₹ 2,836
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel - Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELL HOTEL - CHENNAI is a building which has heritage that goes back to 1930's. The restored theme reflects of the culture, heritage and the life of what the city was called then "Madras". The hotel has a 50 cover multi-cuisine restaurant "Bell Restaurant". With a total of 51 rooms, we have furnished all the rooms in contemporary style. The rooms are equipped with LCD Televisions with satellite connection and Wi-Fi for internet access, and other essential services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Bell Hotel - Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing