We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Ranked #66 of 400 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

It is a good hotel at a very reasonable price. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are maintained very nicely. It is very close to the station but not so close as to get disturbed by the commotion.
It is maintained very nicely and the things work good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leisuretravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Bell Hotel - Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, travelled to Chennai for work. I arrived early in the morning (had taken a train overnight and was exhausted), and it was such a delight to enter the room, take a hot shower and then lie in that wonderful bed! I have stayed at many places in India, and 5-star hotels aside, this was the most comfortable stay ever. For the price, it beats all other places.

Pros: Comfortable rooms, heavenly bed, friendly and helpful staff, great shower with excellent water pressure. For those like me who like beer: there is a beer shop just next door. The location is also good and convenient, rikshas can be taken easily from the front door. I may say that this hotel is very close to European standars. Only close because...

Contras: Can be a bit loud (heard hammering on a Sunday afternoon), the wi-fi is not included (1 hour costs Rs. 50/-, the conection is very fast but it would be better if the wi-fi was included in the tarif), the food in the restaurant is not good and the staff there is very slow (a "quick breakfast" can take 40 minutes, they take too long time in taking orders and bringing the bill). The laudry service was a bit slow (almost 2 days), but the work was impecable.

But since this is India, I still find that for the price this hotel is excellent, and I enjoyed my stay. As an example of friendliness, the breakfast is served from 7.30am only, but one day I had to leave earlier than that. The waiter said that he can give me some toast and jam, for which I was very thankful since I can hardly start a day with an empty stomach.

Conclusion: I highly recommend this hotel for those who seek a professional and comfortable ambiance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our trip was successful, no doubt wonderful experience , nice location and polite behavior of the staff with the guests

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sathath d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Close to Chennai Central and Egmore
Excellent food
Very nice but small rooms
Very cozy beds
Value for money

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caprismart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel in itself is quite ok..the rooms are quite modern..there is no lock in the bathrooms...the food served a la carte was good. They need to work on their breakfast..its below average..There is no wifi included in the room tariff as well, due to which i think its a bit over priced...location is nothing to die for..i guess in which ever part of central chennai you are in....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shabbsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.

With humbleness, we inform you that Washrooms in all of our rooms has door lock facility.

At Bell Hotel, Chennai, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction.

As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to modify the Breakfast Menu, and have formulated an offer package which includes complementary Wi-Fi in it.

We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us.


Yours in service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
New Woodlands Hotel
#59 of 400 in Chennai
353 reviews
Hotel Pandian
#95 of 400 in Chennai
182 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#57 of 400 in Chennai
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#86 of 400 in Chennai
108 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#13 of 400 in Chennai
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel - Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel - Chennai

Address: 21 Old Door No | Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai 600003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 400 Hotels in Chennai
Price Range: ₹ 1,302 - ₹ 2,865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel - Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELL HOTEL - CHENNAI is a building which has heritage that goes back to 1930's. The restored theme reflects of the culture, heritage and the life of what the city was called then "Madras". The hotel has a 50 cover multi-cuisine restaurant "Bell Restaurant". With a total of 51 rooms, we have furnished all the rooms in contemporary style. The rooms are equipped with LCD Televisions with satellite connection and Wi-Fi for internet access, and other essential services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, OYO Rooms, MakeMyTrip, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Bell Hotel - Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing