We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star and over - priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Ranked #13 of 415 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

25 years and staying in a diverse range of hotels, this was the most disappointing ever in India. I thought I would give it a go instead of the Taj

The hotel has friendly staff and it is relatively clean. The rooms are ok, but lack character, more like a travel lodge. Not 5 star. The swimming pool is lovely, but small, with 5/6 sun loungers, ridiculous in a hotel this size.

Main issue was the pricing of drinks and food. Yes Imported goods are taxed at 60% but they are much more expensive than other real 5 star hotels. Staying there and after leaving I just felt I was being robbed and for what? A travel lodge room and a ok meal with an Indian beer that they charge x 10 for...at least. Avoid.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miffysnowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. The taxes are state governed and currently it is 60% on imported beverages and on all wines. The same is applicable for all hotels in Tamil Nadu state. I do assure to look into the pricing as mentioned in your review though it is already very competetive in the city of Chennai. We have taken the feedback positively and assure a positive change in the points highlighted.

Thank you for bringing this to our notice and helping us serve better.

I appreciate your point of view and look forward to your continued patronage of The Raintree Hotels.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

979 - 983 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

I am glad I stayed in this hotel. Found this on the net. Neat clean rooms. Hot water. Tasty welcome fruit platter. But the best part was that they cooked special dishes without onion and garlic for me and my wife. Enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: You can ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JagdishAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Jagdish,

Vanakkam!

Thank you very much for the review. I am glad that your stay was comfortable, the feedback about the hotel upkeep and cleanliness is very much appreciated.

I was also happy to read that our Chef's were able to take care of the special requests and you experienced the true Raintree Dining Experience and Hospitality.

We look forward to Welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were 10 days in Chennai with my boyfriend. We booked a studio room including breakfast and lunch or dinner buffet and two ways airport tranportation. We also got happy hours included in the package and 4 pieces of laundry a day. The package was convenient and worth the price.

The room was very big and neat, bathroom included bathtub and shower, wide and stylish.
House keeping service did a great job every morning, polite and even putting order in our clothes which were spread all around the room every morning:)

Travel service was good and the travel advisor was really helpful, we booked a driver a couple of times to visit places outside the city, this provided a nice luxus change to the rikshaw which are available all around Chennai.

We tried also room service and ordered pizza, that was really tasteful and tasted like real italian pizza! Service was also very fast.

Among all these exellent services, what was outstanding was how we were treated at the Kitchen buffet. Apart the fact that the food was very good and fresh, we were offered a different type of Indian bread everyday! Even though there were many customers, we still felt we received personal treatment from the stuff who was very polite and ready to fulfill all our wishes.

A special thanks to Ram, who lead the buffet staff and made us feeling like special guests! Amazing how he served the customers with so much energy, kindness and smile everyday, that definitely gave added value to our staying at the hotel.

I absolutely suggest to try Anna Salai Raintree hotel if you want to ensure your staying at Chennai will be smooth and enjoyable!

Room Tip: Studio room package was worth the price with additional services included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thank you very much for the Excellent review. I am glad to know that you really enjoyed the stay and truly experienced The Raintree Hospitality. It is feedback like yours that really motivates us to continue and further enhance our services. I will share the feedback with all the team members and Ram, specially who will be delighted to see that his name has been specially mentioned in this review. I thank you for taking out time and writing about your experience in detail.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed for a night at the Raintree Chennai( Annasalai) after completing my medical treatment at a nearby referal hospital. The big plus point was that they had wheelchairs which was of great help as my foot was fractured.

The hotel was very clean and breakfast superb albeit the reception staff were quite cold( though not rude or inefficient!!!). The rooms were very clean and done up well and room service was quick and will satisfy a typical Indian palate.

All in all a good experience for a discerning traveller like me.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Danny,

Vanakkam!

Thank you very much for the review and i am glad that your stay was confortable. It is feedback like yours that motivates us to continue and further enhance our services. Addtionally, have noted the feedback shared by you and shall reiterate our training initiative to bring in smiles.

I sincerely hope that you have fully recovered from the surgery now and look forward to Welcoming you back again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was the last hotel on our month long journey to India and I have to admit that it was a heavenly place to be in to wind things down after such a hectic journey. The property, service and quality of food was great. The breakfast and dinner buffet was something to write home about, it was not overly extensive and anything that one desired was made freshly upon request. The hotel was spotless including the bathroom, the rooms were ultra chic modern and the beds comfortable with more than adequate bedding and pillows. The security was much more advanced than any other hotel that we had been in during our trip. The location was good and one could take a rickshaw to get around if necessary. The staff were obliging and helpful on many occasions. I can't say enough as it was truly a wonderful experience for us. The outdoor lounges were also inviting and cosy. Thanks Raintree.

Room Tip: Worth every penny and more A hotel worth staying in with everything found.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you very much for the Excellent review. I am really glad to know that you really enjoyed The Raintree Hospitality. It is feedback like yours that really motivates us to continue and further enhance our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Alwarpet
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 415 in Chennai
1,002 reviews
T. Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 415 in Chennai
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
T. Nagar
The Accord Metropolitan
The Accord Metropolitan
#28 of 415 in Chennai
960 reviews
Royapettah
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 415 in Chennai
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai

Address: 636 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai 600035, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Alwarpet South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chennai
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#31 Best Value Hotel in Chennai
Price Range: ₹ 4,965 - ₹ 7,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Anna Salai Hotel is located a 20-minute drive from Chennai International Airport. It provides well-appointed rooms and 5-star facilities like a Swimming Pool, spa and a GYM. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available for 24 hours. Rooms are tastefully decorated with wooden flooring and large windows which come with a flat-screen cable TV, coffee/tea maker and iron and Ironing Board. Select rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. Guests can pamper themselves with massages and body treatments at the spa or take a dip in the large outdoor pool. There is also a well-equipped fitness center for guests convenience at The Raintree Anna Salai. The Raintree Hotel offers a memorable dining experience at its rooftop restaurant -UP North with stunning views of Chennai's skyline accompany the delicious meals. Both a local and international menu is available. Located in Chennai, The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai is a 15-minute drive from Chennai Central Train Station. Nearby tourist attractions include Marina Beach, the Santhome Cathedral Basilica and Kapalashewar Temple. The hotel is about 3 km from the United States Consulate in Chennai. T - Nagar is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping for clothes, Shopping and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Yatra, Agoda, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly and TravelGuru so you can book your The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing