We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swanky, modern business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Chennai
Ranked #8 of 388 Hotels in Chennai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Swanky, modern business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed a week here on business and the café staff knew my name and usual drink order by the end of the second day. Impeccable service, true to the Hilton brand.

Décor and finishings are modern contemporary with clean lines, fitting for a 5-star business hotel. The gym is a tad small, with no weights machines, but the cardio machines are new and well-maintained. There's a long infinity pool on the same level as the gym, and a view that looks out over the rest of Chennai.

The room was comfortable and there was even a TV in the bathroom so you can catch up on the news while having a soak in the tub. There was a problem with the shower drain that caused it to flood the bathroom when I took my first shower, but a call to maintenance quickly got it sorted. The full range of toiletries at your disposal (including loofah, etc.) is also a nice touch.

While the 3 red apples lined up in front of the mirror go very well with the gold and dark brown colour scheme, I would have liked more variety with the fruit "selection". All in, you'll be very well taken care of here, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonChennai, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear TravelingGlutton,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hilton Chennai, I am delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a comfortable stay with us.

We very much appreciate your feedback on the hotel and our service. Indeed, my team work hard to consistently provide the best stay experience for all our guests. I am pleased to know you felt well taken of during your stay.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Roger Brantsma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    321
    71
    28
    24
See reviews for
162
83
66
907
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chennai
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Being a new hotel, with a brand such as Hilton, we expected better quality at all fronts. We go to the bar, ask for the menu, we order, Draught Beer, the answer, not available, we order Amstel, not available. We then order Kingfisher bottled beer, which we get. The steward has no clue on what is available. There are only 3 items as vegetarian snacks, out of which one is some fried ravioli, ridiculous, we order and get Tandoori Potato, served cold. For the next round of beer we have to go around and search for service, finally get it, We want the bill, we have to go look around for someone.
A poor experience, possibly, this is what HILTON is all about, rubbish.
The only saving grace was the valet parking, excellent
The date was 24th April, time 5.30 p.m. till 7.30 p.m.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srinusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonChennai, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear srinusha,

We sincerely apologise for the disappointment you experienced during your recent visit to Vintage Bank.

Rest assured my team and I have taken your constructive feedback seriously. We are indeed addressing the service shortfall and taking steps to improve our food quality and offerings.

With regards to the beverages you ordered, we wish to clarify that Amstel and the draught beer were temporarily unavailable due to alcohol supply problems in the supply chain within the city.

I understand that your poor experience has affected your impression of the hotel. Nevertheless, I am extending an invitation for you to visit us again so that my team can show the good work that they are capable of. Please feel free to contact me directly through my email: roger.brantsma@hilton.com or on +91-44 2225 5555. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Roger Brantsma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Sigh! I wish they would make more hotels which don't try too hard to be a 'business' one. There is nothing wrong with business hotels but they are too damn boring! In such kinds you check in, do your business, eat some food, run at the gym, check out and forget! Alas, Hilton Chennai is just another business hotel. Boring! New hotels should use their imagination to do something exciting to stir their patrons! Only thing which was new (to me!) mosquitoes buzzing everywhere! In rooms, at coffee shop, at the banquet hall, at check in, at check out. It was funny to see a man helplessly running around the lobby with a chinese handheld zapper, trying to kill those little suckers! So next time when I am in Chennai, I would try to give this one a miss!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikasmohan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonChennai, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear vikasmohan12,

Thank you for your frank review of Hilton Chennai. I am sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We are indeed a 5-Star hotel, strategically located for easy access to the various business districts, major tourist attractions, as well as entertainment and shopping complexes that appeal to both business and leisure travellers.

While we do offer fully equipped business facilities, a fitness centre and rooftop swimming pool, the hotel has two restaurants that offer the best choice of international and Indian regional cuisines. We also have a rooftop bar with amazing views of the city offering live DJ music, an elegant wine and cheese bar with a live band and a cafe offering some of the city's finest pastries and refreshments.

With regards to the mosquitos, we do our best to minimise this through a regular fogging schedule in and around the premises.

Whilst we note otherwise, we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Roger Brantsma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel has a calm chic. All finishing is high quality, with an eye for detail; the rooms, the food, no exception. Staff is very caring and pro-active. And a splendid breakfast!
Not cheap, but value for money. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wuyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonChennai, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear wuyck,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Chennai.

We very much appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Roger Brantsma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
291 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Strangely the name of the Lounge was not present in the exisiting set of places. Its a roof top lounge, ideally for close friends and family to socialise. The music is apt, neither loud, nor low and provides enough audibility to converse.

The view from the top is spectacular and most importantly smokers like me, need not find a place to smoke.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indradeep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonChennai, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Indradeep R,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Q Bar, our rooftop bar at Hilton Chennai.

We are delighted that you enjoyed Q Bar's ambience and music, and
hope to see you regularly.

Yours sincerely,
Roger Brantsma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 388 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 388 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chennai

Property: Hilton Chennai
Address: 124/1, J.N.Salai, Chennai 600032, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Guindy East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chennai
#5 Business Hotel in Chennai
#6 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,838 - ₹ 11,757
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Chennai hotel reflects the spirit of the city in a harmonious blend of tradition and contemporary style to create a memorable stay in Chennai. Strategically located near the main commercial, IT parks and business districts in Guindy, the hotel is within a 15 minute drive from the domestic and international airports as well as the Chennai Trade Centre. Onsite amenities include Wi-Fi, a fully equipped business center and meeting rooms to facilitate both small and large corporate gatherings. Experience global cuisine when you dine at any of Hilton Chennai's five bars and restaurants. Choose from authentic pan-Indian flavors at Ayna, or global cuisine at Vasco's, the all-day-dining restaurant. Indulge with a glass of wine at Vintage Bank, the hotel's trendy wine and cheese bar, and finally, visit Q Bar, the hotel's rooftop bar and grill for relaxing under the stars. The hotel provides easy access to the major shopping districts and tourist attractions such as the Guindy National Park, Marina Beach, old town of Mylapore, San Thome Basilica and Government Museum. After a long day, relax by the hotel's outdoor infinity pool or work out at the 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, Hilton EMEA and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing