We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Chennai
Ranked #8 of 388 Hotels in Chennai
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I had stayed in this hotel during my business visit. Hotel ambience was good. Staff service was satisfactory. Rooms were neat and tidy. Food was as well delicious.Hotel is in close vicinity to airport.I would surely recomend it.

Room Tip: No specific tips as such.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kartikthakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonChennai, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear kartikthakker,

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hilton Chennai. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Roger Brantsma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    320
    71
    28
    23
See reviews for
160
83
66
903
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The website unimpressive. On the website they have put up an artisits' impression rather than actual photos. I was contemplating not to go for the hotel. But as my conference was scheduled there I had no choice.
But right from the airport pickup to drop, very impressive and efficient service. Before u enter the lobby, the security check was the quickest and very impressive I have ever encountered in and hotels. Inspite of a lot of us checking in together, there was hardly any queue. Good crowd management.
Lobby and the interiors of the entire hotel is beautiful and very pleasing. Rooms are spacious. Very comfortable. Food too was excellent, so unlike a 5 star hotel. Tasty and spicy. Would love to stay again the next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drsuniljain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonChennai, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Drsuniljain

It is a pleasure knowing that your stay left you with a positive impression after your initial thoughts.

With regards to our website, we are indeed working on the actual hotel images, which are expected to be uploaded shortly. Thank you for your feedback on this.

We also appreciate your comments on our service, rooms and food offerings. My team and I are very pleased that you consider us a "True Hilton".

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Chennai on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Roger Brantsma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

After a disappointing in-flight service outbound and inbound on Kingfisher Airlines from Colombo to Chennai, I wasn’t expecting too much from my stay at the Hilton Chennai.

However, as a HHonors Gold Member, I was pleasantly surprised with the complimentary pick up service that I received at the Chennai airport by the hotel. The transfer was swift and smooth. The executive suit that I stayed in was at par with any other Hilton property worldwide. The most impressive part of my stay was the efficiency and professionalism of the staff that made my stay pleasant.

The executive lounge was well stocked with alcoholic beverages and a decent selection of appetizers. However, the lounge had a very stoic décor, unwelcoming to guest who want to chill after a long day. I wasn’t too impressed with the business center as the internet service was accessible in 15 minutes interval. I didn’t get a chance to check out the hotel, besides the ball room which was very opulent as I had to make an important call.

The restaurant "Vasco" was very impressive with very good selection of South Indian and international cuisine. Especially enjoyed the "Badami" Milk (I'm told by a friend its Almond Milk). However, the view out of the window was as eyesore due to the construction of the Metro and in the adjacent property.

The concierge service was prompt in providing me options as I wanted a quick jaunt to the "Express Avenue" Mall. The transfer back to the airport was again swift and smooth. Overall, considering the hospitality, professionalism, the comfort and ambience of the hotel, I would surely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonChennai, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Joel D,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Chennai and especially for your compliments to my team. We are indeed very pleased to know that you were happy with our service and hospitality, accommodations and facilities, especially our restaurant, Vasco.

My team and I have taken note of your feedback regarding the internet at the business centre. We will be looking into this to ensure that all our guests can enjoy a more consistent and uninterrupted service.

Thanks again for your review, we will certainly look forward to seeing you back here again on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Roger Brantsma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Was at the Chennai Hilton Vintage Bank Bar earlier this evening. Pleasant enough place. But be very careful of what they bring you, regardless of what you order. Ask for a small domestic alcohol drink, and they bring you large ones hidden under the mixer. Overbilling seems to be the name of the game. Then they give you an inflated bill, and offer to reduce it - as though they are doing you a favour.

Strongly recommend not going there. And hope they go out of business soon. Only way to handle shoddy business practices. Apparently it is the same managers for both the Qbar and the Vintage Bank. Total rip-off. I imagine the rest of their hotel establishment shares similar poor business ethics.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonVivantDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonChennai, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear BonVivantDude,

I am very sorry for your unfortunate experience at our Vintage Bank Bar.

I have personally looked into this matter and am aware that my manager had spoken to you directly that same evening about this miscommunication regarding your drinks order.

I can assure you that as a Hilton hotel, we take our business ethics and practices very seriously, especially when it concerns the well-being of our guests.

I invite you to please contact me on my direct line below or through my email so that we can resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Whilst I understand your sentiments, I hope to hear from you soon.

Yours sincerely,
Roger Brantsma
General Manager
(+91-44 2225 5555 / roger.brantsma@hilton.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Only stayed in Chennai for 12 hours (10 spent sleeping) but the 2 hours walking throughout the hotel at night and early morning showed me a very pleasant place with great staff! Too bad I couldn't have stayed longer as it was one of the better hotels I visited in India.

Brand new facility with modern automation equipment including lighting presets and well equipped bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonChennai, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Jason F,

It is a pleasure knowing that Hilton Chennai left you with a positive impression even though you were with us for only 12 hours!

Thank you very much for your kind review of and compliments to my team and the hotel's facilities.

We certainly hope that you will be able to stay longer with us on your next trip and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Roger Brantsma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 388 in Chennai
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 388 in Chennai
1,021 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chennai

Property: Hilton Chennai
Address: 124/1, J.N.Salai, Chennai 600032, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Guindy East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chennai
#5 Business Hotel in Chennai
#6 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,969 - ₹ 12,504
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Chennai hotel reflects the spirit of the city in a harmonious blend of tradition and contemporary style to create a memorable stay in Chennai. Strategically located near the main commercial, IT parks and business districts in Guindy, the hotel is within a 15 minute drive from the domestic and international airports as well as the Chennai Trade Centre. Onsite amenities include Wi-Fi, a fully equipped business center and meeting rooms to facilitate both small and large corporate gatherings. Experience global cuisine when you dine at any of Hilton Chennai's five bars and restaurants. Choose from authentic pan-Indian flavors at Ayna, or global cuisine at Vasco's, the all-day-dining restaurant. Indulge with a glass of wine at Vintage Bank, the hotel's trendy wine and cheese bar, and finally, visit Q Bar, the hotel's rooftop bar and grill for relaxing under the stars. The hotel provides easy access to the major shopping districts and tourist attractions such as the Guindy National Park, Marina Beach, old town of Mylapore, San Thome Basilica and Government Museum. After a long day, relax by the hotel's outdoor infinity pool or work out at the 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing