We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to go back to the Park Pod!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Pod

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Park Pod
Ranked #116 of 346 Chennai B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to go back to the Park Pod!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

This property was a very pleasant surprise! Everything about it was refreshing. It is not very far from the main property (The Park) in the Nungambakkam area. Though it is in a busy (and well connected) area, it is very private and quiet as it is set way back from the bustling street and the long-way gives it a pretty cool touch! The rooms and the restaurant are very nicely done! Nice design indeed! The best part was that it felt like I was at a retreat center of some sort with quite a bit of greenery around. I simply cannot wait to go back there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingNut1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkPod, Manager at The Park Pod, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
“Thank you for your valuable time and comments, all of us are delighted to know that you have had a memorable stay with us and that our service and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your feedback motivates all of us to sustain and enhance our focus on small details. We believe that the small details make a big difference and help us generate some very special moments for our guests.
We eagerly await your return and hope to become the preferred destination for you whenever you travel to Chennai.
It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us at The Park Pod during your recent visit to Chennai.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    27
    15
    22
See reviews for
27
19
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kerala
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The Pod Park was brilliant on all counts. Rooms are large sized and so does the bathroom. Rooms are made to look very arty and is full of character. It’s a very much boutique with some friendly staffs. Had to stay for about six nights and free Wi Fi was a huge advantage.

Food are very western and they seems to be the best in Italian food. Having said that, you can request for your Dosa’s and they did come up with a nice one. Glass roof restaurant is built aesthetically and I loved it. Location itself is on a nice street and you are not away from anything. Barista , Café Day Lounge , Kalanikethan , Wills Life Style , Benetton and lot more other stores are all in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkPod, Manager at The Park Pod, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
“Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai.
I am glad we met your expectation of service, however, our endeavor is to exceed them and I assure you that the efforts are ongoing.
Each of the areas you have marked as good is being focused upon to improve so that next time you find them excellent.
We at The Park Pod Chennai look forward to your continuing custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at The Park Pod’s luxury room, which was nice and spacious and clean. Beds were the most comfortable, that I have experienced. Breakfast was good with just the right amount of choice, Must mention that though the only restaurant is a specialty Italian, they serve Indian breakfast as well. Good and free Wi-Fi access is surely a plus. The staff is very courteous, allowed us to do the check out procedures and still keep our luggage so that we could finish our shopping. Overall, great value, ambience and comfort. And not to forget, there’s a lovely lap pool which is unique and beautiful, could have been near perfect if it was a little more private.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nirmalkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkPod, Manager at The Park Pod, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Mr. .Nirmal Kumar,
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Park Pod during your recent visit to Chennai.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your encouraging feedback. All of us are delighted to know that you have had a memorable stay with us and that our service and facilities were to your satisfaction.
The team at The Park Pod is committed to the quality service and your feedback motivates all of us to sustain and enhance our focus on small details.
We eagerly await your return and hope to become the preferred destination for you whenever you travel to Chennai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirupur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Except for the ambiance everything else was just horrible. Here are few:
1. Persistent noise from the top floor. Unbearable that we hardly slept.
2. No menu list available for room service?! We got almost everything for our 4yr from outside. They don't even serve any kind of rice during lunch.
3. Breakfast was almost nothing compared to our previous stays at Residency & RainTree.
4. "Hot water" was not even lukewarm between 8-11am.
5. They are shrewd enough to skip the spout in the bathroom, but mindless enough to forget shower caps.
6. Room service staff were courteous, but took too long to even get us a spoon or hot water.
7. Media gadget filled room with limited channels/ options
8. House keeping: At check-in, I found a condom cover in the couch!!
9. A/C remote was ridiculous that I had to run around the room to get the access point.
10. This place serves a niche clientele (mostly locals), which is not evident from their website or while booking.
Verdict: Nothing wrong in serving to a niche clientele, but it's an absolute failure of the management to communicate it to first-timers. Seemed like Vikram Phadke designed this hotel for himself and the hotel management didn't interfere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayDei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkPod, Manager at The Park Pod, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us at The Park Pod during your recent visit to Chennai.

Please accept my sincere apologies and regret the inconvenience caused during your stay at The Park Pod.

We have noted your concerns and assure you that effective action will be taken to ensure that instances of this nature are not repeated. Please give us an opportunity to make up for the inconvenience caused. Do write in to me on your next visit to the city and I will personally ensure that you have a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

We eagerly await your return and hope to become the preferred destination for you whenever you travel to Chennai

Regards
Feroze Khan
Director Operations - The Park Pod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai hotels

Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

I think it is a satellite hotel of the main park hotel in the very popular Nungambakkam area... which is across the road...
Dont be fooled between the names... the park is different than the park POD in every way.

It is a small hotel with 20 rooms.... no choice in room service... in fact they dont have a room service menu... they only serve you in the room from their italian restaurant (the only restaurant in the hotel) which pretty expensive for the quality of the food and the wait time that one has to endure before the food shows up.

The check in is horrendous... where the front office lady (Shilpi) didnt even know which room was ready... so she called and called and called the housekeeping guy... which turned up after 12 minutes to tell her which room was ready....

The room is not really worth $130 and dont even try to take a hotel cab... they are horribly expensive.

The Breakfast is pretty sad... with not much choices...

Not recommended to use this hotel... :-(

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkPod, Manager at The Park Pod, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park POD. Your feedback is appreciated. We regret that you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel.

We have noted your concerns which are being investigated and assure you that effective measures will be taken where required. It would be worth bringing to your notice that Italia (offering Italian cuisine), is in fact one of three resto-bar facilities available at the hotel.
We would also like to mention that The Park POD is a contemporary boutique hotel offering premium facilities to our select business and leisure guests. Our personalized service and precision to detail redefine elite hospitality to offer a refreshingly exclusive alternative. Perhaps this information may help in revising your perception of our services from a pricing point of view.

We look forward to having you back at The Park POD. Do write in to me as you plan your next visit.

Regards,
Feroze Khan
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
The Park Chennai
#60 of 380 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Ambica Empire
#122 of 380 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Fortune Select Palms
#50 of 380 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#20 of 380 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#43 of 380 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Fortel
#173 of 380 in Chennai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Pod? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Pod

Property: The Park Pod
Address: 23/13 Khader Nawaz Khan Road | Chennai (Madras) 600006, India, Chennai 600006, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,402 - ₹ 8,514
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Pod 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Pod is a 20 room boutique hotel located in the high street of Chennai’s fashion district - Khader Nawaz Khan Road, Nungambakkam. Designed by Vikram Phadke, this elegant contemporary hotel features a collection of individualistic spaces. A driveway studded with twinkling lights slips into a space dominated by floating lights & lots of lustrous glass. Enjoy a swim in the startling red mosaic-tiled lap pool while the Resident DJ plays lounge & house tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Park Pod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing