We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for business travel to Chennai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai
Ranked #36 of 395 Hotels in Chennai
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for business travel to Chennai”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I was staying at Lemon Tree for 10 days in June 2012, and was extremely happy with the service they provided. The rooms are very nicely done, the service is excellent, common areas are great too!

The approach to major attractions in the city is convenient as well, irrespective of you being a public transport explorer or a taxi traveler. There are many buses from Saidapet that will take you to all corners of the city, and call taxis are easy to get from around the hotel

I did not have lunch or dinner at the hotel, however the breakfast was exceptionally good except for North Indian food... the paranthas were more like papads, and the curry without taste the two times I tried it in about 10.. I went back to the South Indian options of Sambhar, Idli, Vada and they were outstanding! The bakery items and choices of juice were great too!

A few negatives though...

1. There channels on TV were very limited, and a lot of them scrambled. I would expect a good digital transmission at the cost of Lemon Tree hotels
2. The hotel needs to train their cook on making North India dishes (this is from my experience with the breakfast)

To summarize, I am very happy with what I got at Lemon Tree, and am looking forward to staying there again when I travel to Chennai!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrashantBhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    400
    182
    55
    39
See reviews for
123
76
101
781
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Kalpakkam
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Have been there for a dinner arranged for my colleagues. Went for Buffet dinner... The restaurant was small and so confined... Dishes kept were very few and not tasty.. Buffet Dinner does not worth for the amount paid.. I would not suggest anyone this restaurant for buffet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salaikmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent visit to Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai.

We have studied the issues mentioned by you and are relooking at our processes so that our guests can have a more comfortable experience with us.

Our buffet offering has been designed keep in mind the needs of a business consumer who is looking for a quick hot meal at a reasonable price. We thank you for your feedback and are working on how we can improve it and make it a delightful experience.

Do give us another opportunity to serve you, may I request you to email your booking directly to me at sanjay.das@lemontreehotels.com so that I can handle it personally.

With best regards,
Yours sincerely,

Sanjay Das
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed at Lemon tree when I went to VIT for receruitment. First of all the room tariffs are quite high and secondly the taxi charge from Chennai to VIT was exorbitant. It cost me much more than the call taxi rates in Delhi NCR. I was literally shocked when I saw their charge but didn't have any choice. The food and other service was average and nothing to boast about. Would not recommend for a personal stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank man4kor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai. May I first apologize for your experience at our hotel and for not meeting your expectations fully.

Our room rates and transport prices have been benchmarked against the mid priced segment in each city and we position ourselves competitively priced vis-a-vis other similar hotels.

Please give us another opportunity to show you Lemon Tree’s true hospitality. Do email me at sanjay.das@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

With best regards,
Yours sincerely,

Sanjay Das
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Really recommend it for a short stay in chennai... the hotel is clean, close to the airport and the restaurant serves from good food. It is very comfortable indeed and the staff are really well mannered.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrishnaCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed in Lemon Tree for business purpose. The rooms are overtly expensive and definitely not worth the money spent. The rooms are very small, hardly any space to move - reminded me of small rooms in Hong Kong. The room service options though good and tasty but again overtly expensive. The service is very poor and lackluster. Hotel staff is very arrogant and least courteous. It took me almost an hour to check-out due to some issues in billing. Definitely not worth the money spent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKARTIKEYSINGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai. May I first apologize for your experience at our hotel and for not meeting your expectations fully.

We have studied all the issues mentioned by you and are relooking at our processes so that our guests can have a more comfortable stay with us. Specifically,
• This hotel has been built in line with international 3 to 4 star hotels and we offer rooms of varying sizes, which are priced appropriately. Customers who prefer a bigger room with queen/king bed, can choose an appropriate room while booking.
• We apologize again for the service you experienced and have re-briefed our team to engage with all customers in a friendly and caring manner – which is what Lemon Tree is known for.
• Our menus have been priced in line with other hotels in the mid-market space, in fact we have been careful to extend the idea of right pricing to all services in the hotel and not just the room rate.

Please give us another opportunity to show you Lemon Tree’s true hospitality. Do email me at sanjay.das@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

With best regards,
Yours sincerely,

Sanjay Das
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Lemon Tree Hotel Shimona
#54 of 395 in Chennai
254 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Savera Hotel
#42 of 395 in Chennai
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residency
#38 of 395 in Chennai
542 reviews
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#27 of 395 in Chennai
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai

Property: Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai
Address: 72 Sardar Patel Road, Chennai 600032, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chennai
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,198 - ₹ 8,138
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally air conditioned hotel offer 108 rooms, studio rooms and suites, business center, meeting rooms, a 24x7 multi-cuisine coffee shop - Citrus Café, a hip recreation bar – Slounge, as well as an outdoor pool and fitness center to keep you feeling fresh-as-a-lemon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing