We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambience/cuisines. Service/Availability needs tuning”
Review of Kipling Cafe

Kipling Cafe
Ranked #91 of 6,904 Restaurants in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Ambiance(4.5/5):
One of the best set ambience in the city. Perfectly romantic, embraced with nature. Had been here thrice and every time it had been a pleasant experience.
However, the last time while I landed for a dinner, we had to fight with few mosquitoes as we opted for a garden seat and also the lighting could be better for we eat amidst a garden.
Hope they work on it.
Quality and Quantity (4/5):

Thought it was not a very late hour (7-8pm), we had most of our favorites on the catalogue unavailable. Still what we opted was served best and tummy filling. The quality was good too.

Service(4/5):

The service was warm and accommodating but the waiting time after each call out was more and has to be worked upon.


Food-options(4/5):
The catalogue has new exceptional dishes, but these guys have to make sure that they are all available as we order, to nurture our excitement.

Overall, was a feel-good experience and a bit of fine tuning would make it the best.

Thank Srinath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiplingcafe, General Manager at Kipling Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from kipling cafe !!!

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your dining with us and the overall experience was very positive.
Your positive feedback about the food and service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.
We have noted your concern that you have highlighted on your feedback , we are working on improving the same.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at kipling cafe in the very near future.

Thanks &Regards
Harichandran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2015

The restaurant is located in ECR road. We went on a Saturday with my family. It was a peak hour and the tables were full. But the manager named Prathap was so kind and helpful that he organized a good table service for us.

I would surely recommend this restaurant for my friends!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shamili17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiplingcafe, General Manager at Kipling Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor,

We are also grateful for your kind words of appreciation for the team. Our endeavour remains to continuously engage in service excellence. feedback such as yours is true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality.

I have conveyed your compliments to pradhap, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We thank you once again for your time and recommendation and look forward to your continued support.

Thanks & Regards
Harichandran
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

A beautiful restaurant on ECR with a fantastic ambience.The garden itself is a dream as is the porch of the building! All white and green and quite dramatic and romantic....The staff are friendly and the food is simply delicious- especially the stuffed chicken and mud pie..This is probably the nicest restaurant I have been to in Chennai, of which there are quite a few, including five star hotels....
A thumbs up to this place..........

1  Thank henrypaul989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiplingcafe, General Manager at Kipling Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor,

We are also grateful for your kind words of appreciation for the team. Our endeavor remains to continuously engage in service excellence. feedback such as yours is true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality.

I have conveyed your compliments to the entire team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We thank you once again for your time and recommendation and look forward to your continued support.

Thanks & Regards
Harichandran
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Been wanting to go to this place the last couple of years but finally managed to go there only yesterday. Must say that my overall enthusiasm turned to severe disappointment due to the service

they need to be able to come up with options to ensure that the heat and humidity of Chennai dont affect the experience. Switched to 3 tables, the 1st one as they had a pedestal fan which couldnt fan the entire table, the 2nd one as it was starting to drizzle and the waiter felt that it would affect our experience and finally to a "Hut" which had a ceiling fan but we had to put up with the mosquitoes having a meal of their own under the table :(

We reached at around 1015is and were told 3-4 times to place our order as the kitchen "closes by 1030" .we appreciated they letting us know but werent prepared for what happened next... we placed our order . and well what do you know - the main course came before the soup and starters...

Food was pretty good - their kebabs and mud pie deserve mention - and tasty but the overall service was very bad. After the food, we had to ask as many as 4 times for them to give us finger bowls.
the items in the play area were broken and children could get hurt if they play without parental supervision. best to avoid them

Very disappointed with the service, food was ok.. am not sure if would go there again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Salah212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiplingcafe, General Manager at Kipling Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a time to write a feedback on TripAdvisor,
We have noted your concern and would like to assure you that every possible effort will be made to ensure that the issue that you have highlighted in your feedback would be investigated and addressed effectively.
I look forward to welcoming you back at kipling.

Thanks & Regards
Harichandran
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

First of all, the road that leads to Kipling Cafe was so bumpy and rocky, I think that a camels back would have been a smother ride. EATERS BEWARE!!!!! You better eat fast at Kipling, otherwise, you might get thrown out!!!
My family and i were at the Cafe for lunch, we were just about done with the Fig Cheescake, that was WAY to custardy and then the manger came and told us that people were waiting be be seated!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nutellawaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiplingcafe, General Manager at Kipling Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2015

Dear Guest.

At the outset, please allow us to apologize for the issues you faced during your time at kipling. We offer no excuses and have shared your comments with our team. We assure you that we are working to ensure that such incidents do not happen again.
We hope you will give us a chance to offer you a better experience.

Thanks& Regards
Harichandran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kipling Cafe also viewed

Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 

Been to Kipling Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing