We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe, clean, spacious rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of YWCA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chennai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YWCA Guest House
Ranked #8 of 366 Chennai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Safe, clean, spacious rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed here towards the end of a few months study in India. i had never travelled in India before so can't compare it with many other places here but I found this place good value for money, spacious, clean and friendly. My room was larger than average and the food was tasty. As a single female travelling the security is reassuring. This is a good choice for those on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jazzeejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    56
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
21
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dresden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

The YWCA was my first accomodation in India. The room and bathroom was very clean, furniture is a bit old though. The YWCA is in a small garden, has security officers and it felt very safe there. The staff is very helpful and made my first days in India a lot easier. I tried the food one time, it was tasty and you can have as much as you want. Only disadvantage is the noise from the street which forces you to use earplugs. It's only 5min walking from Egmore Station so it's easy to reach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We've stayed a couple of times at the YWCA ( "International"???) guest house in Chennai and found it be reasonably comfortable. One of the plus points is the delicious food. Chennai being a literal furnace in summer it is a boon to be able to eat at ones guest house instead of having to seek out eating places.

Cleanliness however does not seem to be very high on their list as our room had dirty walls with mildew spots all over. The bed linen too wasn't up to the mark and had a used feel to it. The washroom however took the cake as it was a veritable pig sty with stains on both the commode and wash basin. The plastic mug and bucket were a sight to behold with brown stains liberally covering both.

The staff are very pleasant and go out of their way to make you feel at home.

And now to give you the icing on the cake - it's the lake at the back of their gardens which is home to a number of enormous red fish who leap around when you feed them. We also saw a gaggle of geese waddling around and a few ducks on the lake. The lake is surrounded by a number of trees some of which are in bloom. An absolute scenic setting for any one with artistic leanings.

Room Tip: check in only if you get an ac room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank opinioncandid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

me and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights.. It was nice and so clean and hot showers. Can not complain at all. laundry service was great a bit costly. It had Wifi and the food was excellent. We had a nice time there. the staff were very good. Nice and helpfull.

Room Tip: If you have time you can walk here easily to and from train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank slukaduka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed one night at the YWCA in January 2012. I am a single female traveller. I had no problems at all. There were quite a few locks on my door. The room and sheets were clean and there was a fan in my room. I also had my own toilet and shower in my room and soap and towels were supplied. The cafeteria inside the YWCA also served really good food at a very reasonable price. The front desk was very helpful and arranged for my airport pickup.

The YWCA is situated very near to the both Chennai and Egmore train stations. It's also within walking distance to the Government Museum.

I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LoquaxTheKumquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
12.5 km away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#65 of 388 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
11.1 km away
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
11.5 km away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#40 of 388 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Red Sun Serviced Apartments
Red Sun Serviced Apartments
#231 of 388 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
12.1 km away
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
8.9 km away
Just Guest House
Just Guest House
#7 of 366 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Guest House

Property: YWCA Guest House
Address: 1086, Poonamallee High Road, Chennai, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai
Also Known As:
Ywca Guest House Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing