We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent staff n service. Rooms good. Food ok.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Club House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taj Club House
Ranked #15 of 382 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent staff n service. Rooms good. Food ok.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Stay her often. The staff are great.. Service top notch..
Location wise is ok I guess.. The rooms are good.. V neat and clean.. Have a modern look..
The only problem I would say is the food.. Not the best. I would expect more.. The Sunday brunch buffet is great though..
The roof top restraurant and bar is a nice place to chill at but the food again is just OK..
Overall great hotel to stay in.. They make u feel welcome..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SIrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    343
    79
    23
    34
See reviews for
99
92
76
655
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times over the past three years. Most recently in July 2012, I stayed for two days. The service was excellent; genuinely helpful and professional staff. The rooms are well appointed with nice fittinggs and furnishings. I ate twice in the downstairs restaurant which was a buffet including free drinks; a good selection of food, and I particularly liked the stir fry station where you can create your own meal and they cook it for you. Breakfast here is good, lots of choice and well presented. On my last evening, I was given a complementary dessert of almond kulfi with chocolate sauce and the sauce spelt out the words 'Visit again soon', which was rather lovely.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarkLondonMEt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have been to the roof top restaurant at taj club house several times. The ambiance is wonderful and one could see the city from there. They have these little lights placed on each table to create that candle-light dinner feeling. The service is exceptionally good. Luckily, everytime we visit that place, the manager, Mr Nilesh, takes care of us very well too. The food is really tasty and delicious and is worth every penny. The view of the city is definitely breath taking and we have witnessed good breeze during every visit. The presentation of the food is topnotch. In my opinion, it is an amazing place to go with your partner/spouse or family.
The price is a bit high but you are assured of the fantastic quality of food they provide.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pritish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed at the Taj Club House during my recent visit to India.
The whole experience was excellent, from the car collecting me from the airport, the staff at the door, and the reception staff.
Breakfast is highly recommended, there is a huge choice and again the staff cannot do enough to help or make suggestions for you.
You must visit the in house 'Beyond Indus' Indian restaurant. Chef Nisi Kant and his team produce fantastic food, all home cooked, the Indus dahl is superb. Don't bother with a menu, tell chef Nisi Kant what you like and he will create a dish for you, and is more than willing to tell you how he makes everything.
I am looking forward to visiting again in the next couple of weeks.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

The modern decor yet budget Taj hotel made me feel contemporary yet smart.The breakfast provided lots of different well cooked food and the location is the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FannyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#2 of 382 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 382 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Club House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Club House

Property: Taj Club House
Address: No 2, Club House Road | Landmark - Off Mount Rd, Near Spencer Signal, Chennai 600002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Chennai
#12 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
#14 Business Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,374 - ₹ 9,259
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Club House 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Clubhouse Road – famous for its magnificent homes of British luminaries and as the original site of the renowned Madras Club.Taj Club House is a stylish contemporary hotel, with young and trendy food & beverage outlets & cutting edge technology. Taj Club House is the latest offering from Taj to Chennai, geared to meet the requirements of the "modern traveler" from offering ease of access to the modern fast paced world, to the comfort and style that the environs of the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Taj Club House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Club House Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing