We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best "Taj" experience at the Taj Club House”
Review of Taj Club House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Club House
Ranked #17 of 407 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I fell in love with this hotel - the architectural design is commendable and everything else adds to it! The interiors are elegant and the rooms are very sharp! The food at their Indian restaurant "Beyond Indus" was exquisite! By far, this was the best Taj hotel I have stayed at recently!

On the flip-side, they did mess up my pick-up from the airport and somehow they seem to have a bit of a gap with their internal communications (I experienced that in a couple different instances). The Duty Manager definitely did everything in her capacity to right the wrong and did more than make up for the disappointing experience at the airport (complimentary drop-off to the airport, special desert on the house at the restaurant and helping with airline check-in, etc). I was touched by how sincerely apologetic they were.

I will definitely stay there again when I am back in Chennai.

Room Tip: The rooms are terrific and you should be fine with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingNut1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 999 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Taj Club House seems to be the “secret Taj” in Chennai. Certainly many taxi drivers do not seem to know of its existence! I believe it might have previously been known as Taj Mount Road before a refurbishment a couple of years ago.

This is very definitely a hotel focused on business travellers rather than tourists, and competes well with some of the newer, funkier boutique 5 star business hotels in the same price bracket in the Anna Salai vicinity (such as the Raintree, and the Courtyard Marriott).

For clients loyal to the Taj Privilege brand, this hotel is certainly very different to the more colonial and heritage Vivanta Taj Connemara and Coromandel hotels in Chennai, yet it is very conveniently located, less than 100m from Taj Vivanta Connemara and the Spencer Plaza mall in Anna Salai.

The exterior of the hotel looks like a large glass office building. Inside the lobby is expansive, modern and open with a lot of marble and a large lobby lounge filled with comfortable seating and a small café bar serving coffee and cakes. At night the lighting is contemporary with blues and wood tones.

The “Blend” cocktail bar at the far end of the lobby is decorated in a modern styling, has a small outside area, and has live music a couple of days a week, and a calendar of various happy hour specials on different days of the week. It was loud in the evening, but definitely popular with guests when I stayed.

The hotel has 3 restaurants – a large open plan main dining restaurant/bistro called “The Clubhouse” – open 24 hours. It served a good breakfast buffet, but I thought that the décor and furniture needed a bit of modernisation.
Next door to the Blend cocktail bar is a more intimate central northern Indian restaurant called “Beyond Indus”, and there is a rooftop Mediterranean restaurant called “Kefi” next to the swimming pool and gym. There is also a relaxing outdoor dining/drinking area under market umbrellas on one corner of the roof adjacent to the Kefi restaurant, although the skyline views toward neighbouring buildings and Spencer Plaza are a somewhat unspectacular.

The rooftop pool area is very nice, and I thought the gym was particularly good, with lots of natural light, panorama windows looking at the pool and rooftop, and plenty of equipment.

I am SPG Platinum, so was upgraded into a very comfortably decorated corner studio suite, including large corner sofa, two big flat screen TVs, marble bathroom with huge lounging bath and separate rainforest shower. Although I was travelling alone, I was impressed with the romantic little touches like the tealight candles beside the bath. The hallways smelt a bit musty, but I have experienced this in other Chennai hotels too – a common problem in the humid climate I expect.

I also have to say that I found the service to be very good! Mr Hitendra Sharma, the Front Office Manager during my stay, was exceptionally proactive, hospitable and accommodating with guests – a quality I really come to appreciate given that I stay in a lot of hotels. The cheerful and personal service alone would make me happy to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Conveniently located hotel with a good service. Right from being picked up at the airport, the customer service is quite good. Quite a good spread / variety of food is available. Friday night looks like a bit insecure and get noisier.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the disco and preferably higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramg_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was my 4th Taj hotel in 5 days and the best one! I wa sonly here for the one night but the staff were very polite and helpful. I had a very late check out at no extra cost and wihtout fuss - amazing!! The room was perfecting fine, I did'nt find it small and it had the usual Taj comfortable bed! I think that the only improvment that could be is a corportrate one and that is to sort out the internet charges!! Overall an excellent stay and if in Chennai again, I would definalty stay here

Room Tip: end of corridor away from lefts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great place bang in the middle of the city and lovely value for money

Room Tip: If opting for an extra bed, specify in advance. Their rooms are long and you will not feel constrict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vyomesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 407 in Chennai
1,176 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 407 in Chennai
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 407 in Chennai
1,339 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Club House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Club House

Address: No 2, Club House Road | Landmark - Off Mount Rd, Near Spencer Signal, Chennai 600002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Chennai
#12 Spa Hotel in Chennai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
#14 Business Hotel in Chennai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
Price Range: ₹ 5,661 - ₹ 14,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Club House 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Clubhouse Road – famous for its magnificent homes of British luminaries and as the original site of the renowned Madras Club.Taj Club House is a stylish contemporary hotel, with young and trendy food & beverage outlets & cutting edge technology. Taj Club House is the latest offering from Taj to Chennai, geared to meet the requirements of the "modern traveler" from offering ease of access to the modern fast paced world, to the comfort and style that the environs of the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and TravelGuru so you can book your Taj Club House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Club House Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing