We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL IN CHENNAI”
Review of Grand Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Residence
Ranked #196 of 395 Hotels in Chennai
calicut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL IN CHENNAI”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I gone to chennai to attend an anaesthesia conference in srmc medical college.I selected this hotel because it is near to medical college.Durng night AC stopped working and it was not repaired .On complaining the staffs response was also bad.So i cant attend the conference because i cant sleep at night . So i strongly recomment not to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azeezchemmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandResidence, Front Office Manager at Grand Residence, responded to this review, 12 August 2015
Dear Sir,
With wishes of the day, this is with reference to your review regarding your discomfort during your stay in our hotel. We first of all apologies for that happened.

We have opened our Swimming pool at level 5 & renovated our Halls / Restaurant / Rooms with individual Air condition with new control, also we have started extension of our lobby with a Coffee Shop.

We with advance wishes for the festivals ahead!!

We welcome you to provide our service to the best of your satisfaction.

Regards,
Sridhar.M.S
+91 98840 73811
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
7
2
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malappuram, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Chose the hotel as it was adjacent to sreeramachandra medical college .
As of December 2011 there is hectic repair work going in the hotel and they have taken no steps to isolate noice.
I checked into Room 207 and the first thing noticed was the noise from AC ( not humming , it was violent jerk ). They changed room quickly but the noise from construction work inside hotel prompted me to change room again and i was in 507.

I should appreciating understanding shown by them. No "nothing can be done " attitude.

The room was tidy but too small for the price.
there was no coffee maker.
no hair dryer.
No mineral water.
There was a bottled water kept in the fridge , but it was priced at Rs 55. Same brand was available at nearby corner store for Rs 16.
The tea served on order was a premixed one and tasted awful.

The complimentary breakfast was same for the three days of our stay.
the menu was - boiled egg, sausage, idly, vada, upma ,bread,puri,sambar, chutney,tea,coffee, "WATER melon" juice,jam, butter- and nothing more.
Just not the variety , not a single item was commendable.

The toilet was neat , and toiletries were supplied properly.
check out was quick.

my final verdict would be , if they are ready give the room for Rs 2000/- its Okay . Else consider other options

Room Tip: Ask them which side they are renovating and tell them weather you enjoy noise of marble stone polish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pulmonologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandResidence, Front Office Manager at Grand Residence, responded to this review, 12 August 2015
Dear Sir,
With wishes of the day, this with reference to your review regarding our hotel during your visit. we in this regard would like to inform you that we have renovated our Restaurant / Halls / Rooms with individual air condition control in the rooms,also we have started with renovation of our Lobby which is extended with a Coffee Shop where the old bar was. We have opened Swimming pool at level 5 and New Bar "Bliss" Ground level.

Overall the staff are well trained & briefed to provide our best service to our Guests.

With advance wishes for the festivals ahead!!

We welcome you with an assurance to provide our service to the best of your satisfaction.

Regards,
Sridhar.M.S
+91 98840 73811
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Not a very great place to stay. Ok for persons have offices and business in and around Porur. Comfortable stay but food was relatively costly. Insufficient space for parking and this creates a problem if there is a party and there are many cars parked outside. Bar is small and generally crowded. Restaurants are ok. Lifts are small and congested.

Room Tip: Need to check the room before checking into room. Room alloted to me was leaking and I had to reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tirumala_Rao_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandResidence, Front Office Manager at Grand Residence, responded to this review, 12 August 2015
Dear Sir,
With wishes of the day, this with reference to your review regarding our hotel during your visit. we in this regard would like to inform you that we have renovated our Restaurant / Halls / Rooms with individual air condition control in the rooms,also we have started with renovation of our Lobby which is extended with a Coffee Shop where the old bar was. We have opened Swimming pool at level 5 and New Bar "Bliss" Ground level.

Overall the staff are well trained & briefed to provide our best service to our Guests.

With advance wishes for the festivals ahead!!

We welcome you with an assurance to provide our service to the best of your satisfaction.

Regards,
Sridhar.M.S
+91 98840 73811
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

the property is aptly suitable for business travellers.the charm is fading away as it is not properly maintained.the room tariff is open for negotiations.the rooms are average with basic facilities.roof top restaurant is good.my AC was not working properly but they managed to repair it only on complaint.room service is good with good quality of food. no provision for pick up from airpot or taxi service.not suitable for family or vacations.

Room Tip: see rooms before booking.check for functional fitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramesh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My colleague and I booked two single rooms here. We had stayed here couple of years back as well. The hotel is pretty run down, room no. 302 had chipped tiles and a cracked wash basin. No tea-coffee maker. Dinghy room with 3 fused bulbs which I had to get replaced on checkin. Poor quality of buffet breakfast (watered down juices!). Worst part was my colleague had checked in at 6.30am, stayed 4 nights and was charged for 5 nights when he decided to check out at 9.30am! Apparently the hotels highly computerized system gives a grace period of only one hour and charges the full fare after that. No warnings thought we were asked the night before when we would be checking out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justanomad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
V7 Hotel
#64 of 395 in Chennai
49 reviews
Ashok Residency
#194 of 395 in Chennai
27 reviews
The Residency
#37 of 395 in Chennai
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Velachery
Design Hotel Chennai by juSTa
Abu Sarovar Portico
#66 of 395 in Chennai
156 reviews
Feathers A Radha Hotel
#5 of 395 in Chennai
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residence

Property: Grand Residence
Address: No 85/86 Arcot Road, Chennai 600116, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 395 Hotels in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,618 - ₹ 8,786
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"GREETINGS FROM THE HEART OF HOSPITALITY" We are glad to introduce ourselves as one of the 3 Star Hotels with 62 rooms, located behind the International Airport and near to the Bangalore highway and easy access to the business center of Chennai. It is 3 km away from the Chennai Trade-Center and 12 km from the Chennai Central Railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Grand Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing