We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near Chennai railway station.”
Review of Rivera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rivera Hotel
Ranked #77 of 393 Hotels in Chennai
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel near Chennai railway station.”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel is very close to Channai junction. 10-15 minutes away from station. The rooms are quite good, food quality is excellent. Buffet breakfast quality and variety is very good. Overall good hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms above 3rd floor seems to be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ajaysali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivera875, Guest Relations Manager at Rivera Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Rivera and sparing time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your generous compliments on our service and product. Your kind words of appreciation has been a great source of inspiration for our team and has motivated them to serve better thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories. We do recommend you savour the delicacies from our Ritz restaurant Multi cuisine on your next visit to Hotel Rivera. Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel. Kind regards Lanaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
4
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I was on a business trip last December when I stayed in Rivera hotel.
Rooms are very clean and cost is also not so high a Non A/c room will cost about 1500 /- and bathrooms are clean and hygenic.

They have good restaurant which serves hot breakfast in morning which is complimentary if you are South Indian you would love all meals served or stick to bread and butter if you dont like south indian.

I think overall it was good and nice experience only thing which I dint like is taxi service they charge a bit more in this hotel than others in Chennai and keep insisting rates have changed recently

Room Tip: If you are looking for short and decent stays then choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaprocks49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivera875, Guest Relations Manager at Rivera Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Rivera and sparing time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your generous compliments on our service and product. Your kind words of appreciation has been a great source of inspiration for our team and has motivated them to serve better thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories. We do recommend you savour the delicacies from our Ritz restaurant Multi cuisine on your next visit to Hotel Rivera. Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel. Kind regards Lanaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The people are so rude in this hotel. once past the restaurant service they even serve you the raw food that is not cooked. i got fried chicken in the name of chicken65. The waiters are so RUDE.
The Room service is fast and good. the housekeeping boys are good too. but the rooms were bad again. there were holes in blanket. pilow was bad and smelly. (it was bad for a low budget place too)

I felt like there was racism going on here. i just couldn't understand the atmosphere here. i am breaking up my corporate tie-up with them.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samrit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivera875, Guest Relations Manager at Rivera Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Rivera and sparing time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We are extermely sorry the inconvience caused to you , we will see through it wont happen in future and please apologize us for all mistake happened from our side Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel. Kind regards Lanaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai hotels

Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

It's fairly priced hotel.The rooms were clean and serviced everyday,the breakfast, food was good and fairly priced.Its quite near to Chennai central railway station. The room had plenty of useful things like,table lamps,dinning two seater,wardrobe,dressing table,etc. the bathroom was spacious and so was the room. I did not had any bad moments during my stay there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajeev253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivera875, Guest Relations Manager at Rivera Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Rivera and sparing time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your generous compliments on our service and product. Your kind words of appreciation has been a great source of inspiration for our team and has motivated them to serve better thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories. We do recommend you savour the delicacies from our Ritz restaurant Multi cuisine on your next visit to Hotel Rivera. Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel. Kind regards Lanaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We booked this hotel for our holiday stay of 2 weeks. We have been to other hotels over the years but we have never come across such bad service. Me and my pregnant wife had a real tough time the night we checked in and we checked out of the place in 2 days due to various bad employees/management behavior. They said they include free internet but to my bad luck I couldn't check even my mails as they said their internet was down???!!!

I would HIGHLY recommend you to look into other options for your hotel booking.

Good luck! Hope they improve their service and attitude in the coming years just for the benefit of those who book! To finish I would say GOD SAVE RIVERA as it is a place I would definitely never ever come back and never recommend to my family/friends. Thank you very much for making our stay a very bad experience!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank h0tmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivera875, Guest Relations Manager at Rivera Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Rivera and sparing time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We are extemely sorry for the inconvience caused from our side and
apologize us for all mistakes , For any further visits you can contact us directly so we could provide you the best hospitality service email : rivera_hotel@yahoo.co.in Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel. Kind regards Lanaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Hotel Pandian
#76 of 393 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Mount Residency
#86 of 393 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#66 of 393 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orion Residency
#82 of 393 in Chennai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#85 of 393 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Ginger Hotel Chennai
#110 of 393 in Chennai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivera Hotel

Property: Rivera Hotel
Address: 943 Poonamallee High Road | Purasawakkam, Chennai 600084, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 393 Hotels in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,357 - ₹ 1,939
Hotel Class:2 star — Rivera Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing