We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food review”

Vrindavan Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 6,671 Restaurants in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Thanjavur (Tanjore), Tamil Nadu, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food review”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Finest vegetarian fare. We went for a-la-carte, ordered unusual items (not typical south Indian ones), had soups, starters, main course and desserts..... Wonderful !! Augratin (corn/ mushroom/ veg), all very tasty. The crowd had a VIP too (Shri Umayalpuram Sivaraman Iyer famous mritangist) with his family. We have visited woodlands since 1964.....can vouch for their quality.....really great.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Tanjorevenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    73
    19
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Best lunch at Chennai”
Reviewed 21 February 2017

At the heart of RK salai we have the best vegetarian Hotel New Woodlands.
The restaurant Vrindavan is a part of Woodlands which serves best indian food.
Visited during lunch it was full and had to wait for three seats.
It was worth the wait and the vegetarian food served were of best quality and service of the old time waiters were excellent.Food was real value for money

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkrishnan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Vegetarian food”
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This place has excellent vegetarian food in the heart of Chennai. We were staying at the hotel and enjoyed most of our meals at the restaurant.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank AshGgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Consistently good Vegetarian Restaurant”
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We (my family) eat at this restaurant quite regularly. Though on this occasion it was for dinner, we have had lunch here also. Being frequent visitors, we have also sampled a number of items on the menu. However, we prefer in particular the North Indian and the Indian Chinese items in addition to the standard South India items. In our experience the food tends to consistently good (yes, there are some variations, sometimes!). The Tandoori platter and the Continental platter are particular favourites.

The service is also pretty decent. The restaurant is air conditioned and the ambiance is reasonably good.

The only weak spot if one can call it that is the breakfast buffet, which is good, but somehow not quite as tasty as the lunch / dinner items.

  • Visited January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 13arvinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Vrindaman restaurant has Indian and Chinese dishes. Its plain fried rice tastes very good without being spicy. The waiter gave good recommendations from the menu. The ambiance is good, although when there are many people the place feels a bit crowded. The walls are painted with nice scenes of Krishna's childhood.

  • Visited January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vic10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vrindavan Restaurant also viewed

Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 

Been to Vrindavan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing