We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic South Indian Vegetarian Fare”

Vrindavan Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 6,671 Restaurants in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Chennai, India
Level 6 Contributor
713 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Authentic South Indian Vegetarian Fare”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Woodlands have been associated with authentic, hygienic and delicious South Indian Food for decades.

All the food served here is very good but I particularly love their Curd Vadai (lentil dumplings in yogurt) and Dosa ( Pancakes of rice and lentils ground as a dough and fermented).

This is a true window to vegetarian Tamil Nadu Cuisine. The Madras Thali is a must try and a snap shot of food from this part of the world.

Service is efficient and warm

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fivestarholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    73
    19
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Both Krishna & Brindavan are excellent places to dine”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Being a regular visitor, I feel that this place is much superior to many of the restaurants in Chennai. Some of the extraordinary features include ample car parking space, authentic south Indian / north Indian cuisine, excellent service with very well behaved waiters, ample wash room facilities and timely service. At crowded hours of holidays, one will have to a wait a bit. Overall "Value for your money".

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firstindyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Thaali meals”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This restaurant serves ala carte,and thaali meals.it serves North Indian and South Indian vegetarian thaali for lunch.
The food is so authentic whether it is North or South Indian. The spread is good and taste is excellent.
Ala carte menu has a variety of dishes.
The rasa vadai, sambar vadai,thayir vadai,onion rava dosa are the specialities.
On top of it you get steaming authentic South Indian filter coffee the taste stays in your mouth for a long time.
You have Thanjavur meals served in plantain leaf ,the food is authentic southindian sambar,rasam etc.
It's awesome. When you visit chennai do never miss this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sankar01_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent but Avoid Sundays”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Vrindavan serves excellent south indian food and some north indian dishes too. We ordered the Thali and really enjoyed it. Filling and some really tasty stuff. A couple of the dishes tasted very similar and we could spot that the gravy was the same but we still enjoyed it. The more kuzhambu (sour sambhar) was out of the world.

Unfortunately we went on a sunday for lunch and it was excessively crowded. We had to give our names and wait for about 20 minutes but the food more than compensated for the waiting time.

The service is amazing and the waiters were pleasant even though we changed some part of the order. Someone on our table spilled water and they were quick to wipe it off.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PSeetharaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GOLD STANDARD FOR SOUTH INDIAN FOOD”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I ate here 30 years back. I ate here some months back. The food is just as good here now as it was back then. It is THE GOLD STANDARD for South Indian vegetarian food. Beautifully done interiors make it extra hospitable. The breakfast was superb and so was lunch. They also have a sister eatery in the same complex that houses a typical but clean meals restaurant. When I go to Chennai, I eat here. We long to eat here. Great place it was 30 years back. Great place it is today.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_architect_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vrindavan Restaurant also viewed

Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 

Been to Vrindavan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing