We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Slightly erratic service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt.Co.531 Kitchen & Bar

Salt.Co.531 Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #215 of 6,559 Restaurants in Chennai
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Salt Co 531 is conceived as an eclectic and quirky family restaurant with a strong personality in a comfortable laid -back bohemian ambience to let loose and relax. 15 Original Gourmet sea salts harvested organically from all around the world which add the inspired twist to the comfort food . We also have a "Semellier" (as a sommelier is to wines) who is an expert in the knowledge of Salts to match the Gourmet salts with different recipes to enhance the meal experience. We have Pink Himalayan Salt blocks from the 16th Century mineshaft in Pakistan to cook Chef's Signature recipes with minimum of oil which makes them very healthy. We also offer Volcanic Lava stones for cooking chef's signature recipes with one of the oldest methods of cooking on a hot stone
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slightly erratic service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Service was a bit variable. Food was excellent. Breakfast has a decent selection, not the best but very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveling_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great indian food, need better coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

buffet breakfast included in room price. nice variety in the morning. dinner as well, tried tendolion but a bit rough, other food are fine. they need to provide better coffee! service is good and very comfy restaurant though not big, looking over the pool outside.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank tomli0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
401 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food - Unbelievable Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were served by attentive pleasant staff. On our second day our waiter brought a mango lassi for "the maam" because he knew she liked the one she had the day before. The lassi was not part of the extensive breakfast buffet, but this is the kindness that we experienced at this wonderful hotel restaurant.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank gpotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I loved the variety in the buffet. The live salad counter was exceptional. The choices varied from Thai to Indian to Continental to arabian to asian. All the flavors were spot on! Great experience. Will be back for more.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Captdday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Garden cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Breakfast in the garden cafe was lovely. There was a huge selection and everything was fresh.
Dinner in the garden cafe was also lovely. We originally wanted to eat in the great kebab factory but it was fully booked. After visiting the great kebab factory on another occasion we were pleased that we did eat in the garden cafe as the food was nicer

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JBiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt.Co.531 Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 

Been to Salt.Co.531 Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing