We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different eating experience”
Review of J.Hind

J.Hind
Ranked #70 of 7,020 Restaurants in Chennai
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: T. Nagar
Description: A contemporary Indian cuisine restaurant with interactive food experiences including molecular gastronomy
Reviewed 8 July 2018

they have made an attempt to be different without losing the key reason for a restaurant- good food. there are some interesting complimentary starters- small portions but just to stimulate the taste buds. They have varied appertizers- we did the chaat- which they prepared at your table with some nice tricks by the chef, the liquid nitrogen is a nice angle. he did some neat designs on the stove with the sauces before scooping them into our plate. We had Pani Poori that was crispy with the water perfectly flavored.
There was wine from Sula Vineyards, a pleasant revelation. But ask explicitly by the glass; else they serve by the bottle- which is fairly expensive.
For the main course we went with the Amirtsari Murg ,Vegetable Biryani and sheermal roti. Portion sizes are small.
Expensive by Indian standards, but can't complain

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nara_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrdChennaibyGRT, Manager at J.Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Vanakkam and Good Wishes Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your dinning experience you had with us on Trip Advisor and sharing your valuable feedback about J.Hind

Your special note on few dishes and staff is noted which will be passed to the team. We are honored to receive your patronage and assure you of replicating same dining experience during your upcoming visits at J.Hind in the near future.

Best Regards,
Monidepp
EAM-F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2018

Been there for parents anniversary, found the menu to be interesting, and when the food arrived it had all the required flavour's in it. The presentation was remarkable and the chef also gave a personalised service.

Date of visit: October 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank HirenS0ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrdChennaibyGRT, Manager at J.Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Vanakkam and Good Wishes Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your dinning experience you had with us on Trip Advisor and sharing your valuable feedback about J.Hind

Your special note on few dishes and staff is noted which will be passed to the team. We are honored to receive your patronage and assure you of replicating same dining experience during your upcoming visits at J.Hind in the near future.

Best Regards,
Monidepp
EAM-F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

A different style of restaurant. Their menu includes different verities of dishes and are serving it In different techniques . Molecular gastronomy . Ambiance and food . Must try their chicken and mutton platter . Very happy with the service especially Mr Kamal Uddin was so kind to explain each and every dishes .

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Niazul Haque N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrdChennaibyGRT, Manager at J.Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Vanakkam and Good Wishes Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your dinning experience you had with us on Trip Advisor and sharing your valuable feedback about J.Hind

Your special note on few dishes and staff is noted which will be passed to the team. We are honored to receive your patronage and assure you of replicating same dining experience during your upcoming visits at J.Hind in the near future.

Best Regards,
Monidepp
EAM-F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My family of five just finished a great meal at Jhind. The staff took special care of my dietary restrictions (dairy-free, gluten-free) and even made a special off-menu dish. Vimal was an excellent host and took great care of us. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrdChennaibyGRT, Manager at J.Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Vanakkam and Good Wishes Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your dinning experience you had with us on Trip Advisor and sharing your valuable feedback about J.Hind

Your feedback is noted and we will look on the improvisations. We are honored to receive your patronage and assure you of replicating same dining experience during your upcoming visits at J.Hind in the near future.

Best Regards,
Monidepp
EAM-F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

To give our guests from Europe a taste of South Indian food, we took them to J Hind, where the ambiance and decor are very Indian, artistic and pleasing.

We found that most dishes had been given a small twist that adds to the dining experience, unlike some "fusion" experiments elsewhere that seem to go wrong ! After the three item "amuse bouche", we had the mutton vindaloo, tandoori chicken and amritsari murgh makkanwala , all of which we thought were very good with the first named probably qualifying for "superb". Our vegetarian friend found the gravy in the malai kofta curry was nice but the koftas left much to be desired. The onion kulchas should probably have been spread a bit thinner as they were a bit too thick .

They serve liquor and the hotel has enough parking.

The service was polite but a bit slow. I thought that they were rather badly understaffed. However, intervention from the enthusiastic Veera made things much better !

The prices border on five star but this is a place that is very good for business as well as private get togethers.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yesuthasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrdChennaibyGRT, Manager at J.Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Vanakkam and Good Wishes Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your dinning experience you had with us on Trip Advisor and sharing your valuable feedback about J.Hind

Your feedback is noted and we will look on the improvisations. We are honored to receive your patronage and assure you of better dining experience during your upcoming visits at J.Hind in the near future.

Best Regards,
Monidepp
EAM-F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J.Hind also viewed

Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 

Been to J.Hind? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing