We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Like a comfortable home"”
Review of Tara Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tara Niwas
Ranked #83 of 381 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Like a comfortable home"”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Having stayed at Arya Niwas in 1992, but fully booked this time, we were very happy to stay at Tara being owned and managed by the same family. After a busy day sightseeing it was great to come "home" to relax and have a tasty meal in the dinning room.
Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable and quiet at night.The daily tariff very well priced
Location is within easy walking distance to facilities including bus service to access other areas of Jaipur, without the noise of the busy streets.
All staff were friendly and always helpful and we did recommend Tara to other travellers we met, whilst we were travelling in India.

Room Tip: Our room had tea making facitites, fridge and a safe for passports. Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travellingpairPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarunjaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Greetings from all of us here at Arya Niwas Jaipur.
Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and the kind words.

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    77
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
63
28
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed at Tara Niwas from 4th through 11th February 2012 and found it very comfortable. The room was nice and clean and bathroom was also very clean. Please note that Tara Niwas does not have any "Non-Smoking" rooms. Therefore, I had to change room twice in order to get a room that did not have lingering smell of cigarette smoke. The staff was very nice about my request to change room till I was satisfied. I moved from the ground floor to the first floor and then on to the second floor where the ventilation was much better.

I found the staff and service excellent. The restaurant has fairly good selection of food and food quality is excellent.

Overall, Tara Niwas offers excellent value for your money. I certainly would stay there during my next trip to Jaipur.

Room Tip: I would choose room # 35 again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PradipMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarunjaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas Jaipur.
Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and the kind words.

We did try to make some rooms as non smoking but failed this year. I will try harder now to have genuinely non smoking rooms by the start of the next season. The next time you stay with us, you will not have this complaint.

Once again, thank you for the review.

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Staying at Tara Niwas was a great experience, for the 2nd time around. In fact, I and my friends all enjoyed it so much we've recommended it to several others. The hotel comes with all the facilities of a hotel but the warmth, hospitality and service of staying with friends. Tea arrives within minutes of being ordered, the rooms are large, comfortable and very clean and the food is wonderful - delicious without either being overspiced or oily. The management is very friendly and accomodating. The property is charming and centrally located. And to top it off, it's a highly affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to one of the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank indiantraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, 22 February 2016
Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review. Thank you also for the kind words.
All of us here hope to see you again, back at our lovely town of Jaipur and at Tara Niwas!

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Our first impression was that it looked like a government guest house. We booked this after we failed to get in Arya Niwas. As soon as we entered the room we felt a bit underwhelmed seeing dull sheets, curtains and old cane furniture etc. As they say, don't judge the old lady by her overcoat. We took time to look around and found clean white sheets underneath and realised that the bed spread and the curtains were made from traditional textiles of Jaipur. It is naturally dull coloured. The room and the bathroom was very clean and they have prompt house keeping. You get 24 hrs hot water though it will not be that hot in the early morning. They have no tipping policy. The front desk is cooperative and prompt.

It is located in a decent locality. They have pets like rabbits and birds which excites the kids. They gave colouring book and puzzles to my kids which pleased them a lot. It was a nice touch.

The real let down was their restaurant (at least they call it a restaurant). It is too pricey and they take too much of time to serve anything. They have a very limited menu and the taste is so so. A plate of idli/bread toast/cereals cost nearly Rs 100/- You can give it a miss. Their free breakfast is Rs 100/- worth of any breakfast item on the menu.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asha_dechu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, 22 February 2016
Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review. Thank you also for the kind words.
All of us here hope to see you again, back at our lovely town of Jaipur and at Tara Niwas!

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

In Jan'12, visited Jaipur on an extended week-end (on 26thJan'12) with my Family. Stay @ Tara Niwas was good, comfortable & with-in budget accommodation. The staff was courteous. May plan to stay again on next visit to Jaipur. All the Best!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, 22 February 2016
Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review. Thank you also for the kind words.
All of us here hope to see you again, back at our lovely town of Jaipur and at Tara Niwas!

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.3 km away
Jai Niwas
Jai Niwas
#49 of 381 in Jaipur
314 reviews
1.1 km away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#21 of 381 in Jaipur
1,193 reviews
1.1 km away
Sunder Palace Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Om Niwas
Om Niwas
#73 of 381 in Jaipur
231 reviews
0.7 km away
Laxmi Palace - A Heritage Home
0.6 km away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 381 in Jaipur
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Niwas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Niwas

Property: Tara Niwas
Address: B - 22 - B Shiv Marg | (besides Chandni Crafts), Jaipur 302016, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#38 Best Value Hotel in Jaipur
#50 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#53 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,356 - ₹ 2,325
Hotel Class:2 star — Tara Niwas 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tara Niwas - a small friendly hotel set in a quiet and green part of central Jaipur. Tara Niwas offers a pleasant environment, modern amenities and friendly service at attractive prices. Charming garden and sit outs, with a great collection of bonsai landscapes, an aviary, water bodies with lotus and fishes, rabbits on the lawn, tall trees and the visiting peacocks and above all a peaceful atmosphere make Tara Niwas the ideal retreat to retire to after a hard day's work, travel or sightseeing. We have a sunny and cheerful restaurant with an open kitchen and daily changing menus to ensure freshness of produce. We make food using very less chilly and oil, we have our own bakery, we ensure quality of raw material is always of the highest standards and the food remains tasty and homely, healthy and hygienically prepared from an open kitchen that you are welcome to visit. We serve vegetarian plus eggs fare from Indian and continental cuisine. Our room services include air-conditioning, running hot and cold water bathtubs and showers, 32 inch LCD TV sets with local and English channels, telephone with distance dial facility, electronic safe deposit lockers, writing desk and room clocks. All deluxe rooms also have tea coffee makers and fridge. We are a family managed hotel with personalized services and attention to details. Our other services include, travel desk, train air and bus ticket booking, foreign exchange, doctor on call, elevator to all floors, backup power, rainwater harvesting, same day laundry, business facilities and a wi-fi enabled building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, EaseMyTrip, Expedia, HostelWorld, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Tara Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Niwas Jaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing