We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could be more than this”
Review of Naila Bagh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Naila Bagh Palace
Ranked #102 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It could be more than this”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel has a lot of potential (nice pool, clean rooms, original furniture) but the management and staff are missing the point somewhere:
- the prices of food and drinks in the restaurant are exuberant.
- there are twelve rooms in total, but only 4 pool beds, so the chance is pretty high to be disappointed after a sweaty day.
- staff is wearing dirty uniforms and don't seem to be instructed about customer care. For instance, during breakfast (Indian style only) they stand silently in a row behind the food instead of serving the guests.
Additional info: the hotel is 20 minutes away from the old city and is located between a playing ground and a school. The students use the corridor behind the hotel to pass over.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    95
    38
    19
    10
See reviews for
65
115
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Naila Bagh was probably the best hotel, which we visited in India. It used to be a maharadza house and it is realy luxury. Hotel is owned by family of ex-prime minister of India. There is a large garden with nice swimming pool, peacocks, monkeys. There is also a singer, who sings and plays typical radjastanic musical instrument when he meets you. Location is great, just 5 min to the main sights by rikshaw, costs less than 50 INR. Free wifi. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Room was absolutely clean, new toileteries were given us every day. Breakfast was delicious, every day different. There is also a good restaurant in the hotel. But what is the best on this hotel is its manager. He gave us for all 4 nights better room than we paid, he booked us a very good driver, which took us to Pushkar, Ajmer and Jodhpur in one day. Our train from Agra to Jaipur was delayed for 6 hours, we arrived to Jaipur at 4a.m. - manager gave us his private phone number to call him, when we reach the city to prepare a taxi for us. He did everything for our comfort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janvolesky87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
290 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Being "OLD" does not always equate to "charm". Our travel agent booked this place for my team this week. If I had any idea what conditions would await, we never would have stayed here. The dust, the trash, the obvious neglect was frightful. One team member watched a mouse explore his room. SCARY. We did not eat breakfast there, even though we had paid for it. We went to the Trident Hotel in town to eat ( having seen it during the 20 minute search for this place). After eating breakfast at the Trident, we explored that facility. It was every bit as nice as the Trident in Agra. We regretted not being booked into the Trident in Jaipur. We let our travel agent know of the problems we experienced.

Room Tip: There is no good room in this facility. While all of the sleeping rooms are huge, they are all equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wadleyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NailaBagh, Owner at Naila Bagh Palace, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Sir,

We regret that you feel that your experience at Naila Bagh Palace was not good. However ,we are surprised and saddened that you came to this conclusion even though you witnessed the flash floods that effected almost the entire city,the 1 night of your stay.

This was completely unprecedented for over 30 years.

The entire pink city was affected by the torrential rains and the same was covered by national TV and news channels nationally. We ourselves as most of the rest of the city were effected because unlike the Trident which is a vertical building, all our facilities and guest rooms are on the ground floor and spread out.

I understand that your driver could not find our property(you mentioned he was not from Jaipur), we are equally surprised because we are one of the oldest and most centrally located heritage building. The old walled city is just 1 km. One call to the hotel or travel agency for directions could have saved your driver and you valuable time.

Even before you came, we had been inundated with rainfall continuously for 2 days, still facilities were being managed properly. Pest control is a regular feature and very effective, however we are following up on your complaint, it is possible because of the excessive rains in the month of august.

From our very brief discussion,I gather that you had been staying in modern new hotels and were not aware that ours was a old heritage property, we were very surprised that you did not check this very obvious fact.
We have very proudly mentioned on our site and other relevant website that Naila Bagh Palace was the ex prime ministers residence and was built in 1872.

best wishes,
Reservation desk,
Naila Bagh Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Although our room was not bad, and we were upgraded, it didn't look at all like the photo's on the internet. Firstvwe had to hang the pictures horizontally and that was a bit about the atmosphere. The inner court had tables without chairs and a lot of rubish, while it could have been an intimate place yo rest. Flowers, seats, no rubbish and lying chairs without covers can help. On the other hand we got towels immediatly when we went swimming.
The staf is nice and try there best and have a bit dirty traditional clothes. Clean and ironed it would have impressed with the musicplayer during breakfast. That was realy nice.
We stayed in a comparible hotel in Jodphur for the same price and that was a very nice experience. I can not believe that both have the same level at tripadvisor. Instead of the booked three nights, we styed only one.
Good about the place: not so far from the red city and the staf.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elsevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NailaBagh, Owner at Naila Bagh Palace, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear sir,

Thank you for reviewing our property. At Naila bagh palace, we strive hard to make our guests stay comfortable and are only happy when you are happy. This is the reason why tripadvisor gave us an award “excellence in performance for years 2011-2012.

We did face challenges due to incessant torrential rains in the month of august.
The inner courtyard is basically an open space and the tables were without there(muddas) chairs because it had been raining frequently and the muddas could have got damaged, hence they were piled up and put under the pool table covered area, if it was about to rain or raining. On request, they would have been definitely put out for you. While the cleaning staff cleans all the open spaces 3 times a day, due to the unstoppable rains tree leaves,twigs and flowers were spreading out on the courtyard ever so often, our staff was working through the rain and hence in very few cases there white uniforms tore or got dirty faster.All such uniforms are already replaced.
Lastly, The rooms are exactly photographed and even travelers have put various pictures on tripadvisor of our rooms.Further, there is a video of the property on our website showing clearly what every room looks like. We believe in making our guests enjoy an authentic heritage experience and the entire team at Naila Bagh Palace is dedicated towards this goal.

Thank you
Pallavi S Naila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I was very excited at the thought of staying in this heritage hotel but I am afraid there were a few things that really let this hotel down (compared to our other heritage hotel in Deogragh)
Pros-Our suite was beautiful with lovely furniture and a large comfortable bed,fast Internet and TV Cons-The standard of cleanliness around the pool and the pool itself left a lot to be desired and consequently there were more flies here than at any other hotel on our India trip.The support staff wore dirty uniforms and despite the desire to please had poor levels of English.The breakfast and food offered was extremely simple.Finally the water was cold/cool at the least -which made showering quite unpleasant despite the hot weather.The level of service was poor-When we complained about a broken TV in our children's room-we were told it would be fixed at the end of the season and despite the hotel being half full and the children's shower door hanging half off we were not offered another room only a shoulder shrug!
This hotel could be really lovely if a bit more attention was paid to the maintenance of the inside and outside of the building and level of service improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdrjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
3.1 km away
Bissau Palace
Bissau Palace
#97 of 380 in Jaipur
350 reviews
1.0 km away
Diggi Palace
Diggi Palace
#65 of 380 in Jaipur
476 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Madhuban
Hotel Madhuban
#68 of 380 in Jaipur
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#36 of 380 in Jaipur
850 reviews
3.0 km away
Dera Rawatsar
Dera Rawatsar
#19 of 380 in Jaipur
655 reviews
3.1 km away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naila Bagh Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naila Bagh Palace

Property: Naila Bagh Palace
Address: Moti Doongari Road, Jaipur 302004, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,390 - ₹ 5,103
Hotel Class:3 star — Naila Bagh Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Naila Bagh Palace is one of the oldest boutique Heritage properties of the pink city (Jaipur). Originally built in 1870, it was the then Prime Minister's residency. Now run by descendants of Fateh Singh Ji (ex prime minister), it is conveniently located in the heart of Jaipur. Close to almost all historical sights. The hotel has a billiard room, swimming pool and artwork on display amongst other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Naila Bagh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naila Bagh Palace - Authentic Heritage Home Hotel Hotel Jaipur
Naila Bagh Palace Jaipur, Rajasthan
Naila Bagh Palace Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing