We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but not well organised”
Review of Taj SMS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj SMS Hotel
Ranked #14 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but not well organised”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Well situated and benefitting from adjoining the gardens of the Rambagh Palace hotel next door. However, though the staff are very pleasant, they are rather chaotic.

If you need to change money, you will be accompanied to the Palace - worth doing. Additionally, as guests of the SMS, you can dine next door. There are three choices: a train in the grounds which several on our tour enjoyed, the continental dining room or the gold palace (Indian food). We opted for this as a treat and thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a minimum spend to deter those just wishing to 'nosey'. The meal for 2 cost £60 but was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harrogateblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    100
    31
    16
    2
See reviews for
125
73
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

A lovely spot with surrounding gardens.Large attractive rooms, clean, but food and service leave much to be desired. Food choice is limited , restaurant service is very slow and sometimes confused, coffee took till the end of breakfast to appear, took staff 10-15 minutes to find me a laundry bag, after first bringing me a tea bag !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrMike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I was not sure about going to this hotel, as the reviews were not so great.

We really liked the hotel. The hotel is located just next to Rambagh palace which is one of the best hotels in India.I think some people feel that SMS hotel is the servant quaters of Rambagh palace.(actually it was used by the army of the maharaja) But we did not mind , as we could not afford to stay at the Rambagh palace but we could use their garden and restaurant. We felt it was a very good deal. the SMS hotel also has its own garden and a small swimming pool where we found a beautiful peacock. My little son really enjoyed it. As we were a member of taj hotel, we could get upgrade to a suite room. We stayed a standard room on the first night which was also nice. The restaurant was bit quiet. Nobody was there. Maybe this was small negative of the hotel.

Overall, we will surely go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank churachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

It is hidden treasure. Excellent property nestled in expansive lawns. One of the quietest hotels that I have stayed in. Rooms are large and pleasant. Bathrroms spacious and clean. The only thing that one misses is the lack of a couple of restaurants. The hotel has only 1 restaurant with somewhat limited choices of food. Absence of tandoori preparations is conspicuous.

Room Tip: Ask for pool / lawns facing rooms for nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamalrustagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel is situated quite a way from the action in Jaipur, so for me its not really a tourist hotel. The best thing about it is that it's situated next to the Rambagh Palace and is part of the Taj group, although when I asked if they could get a brink at the Palace, since the SMS doesn't have a bar, I was told it was full. The rooms are large and clean; the staff average. It's probably good if you are in Jaipur on business, but not for a holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
3.1 km away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
0.3 km away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 386 in Jaipur
1,710 reviews
6.3 km away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 386 in Jaipur
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#17 of 386 in Jaipur
2,878 reviews
3.2 km away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 386 in Jaipur
3,523 reviews
7.2 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj SMS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj SMS Hotel

Property: Taj SMS Hotel
Address: Sawai Ram Singh Road | Opposite Reserve Bank of India, Jaipur 302005, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#30 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#30 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,999 - ₹ 18,331
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj SMS Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru, HotelQuickly, Yatra, Agoda and DerbySoftTaj so you can book your Taj SMS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj SMS Hotel Jaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing