We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Guest House in Jaipur” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Generals Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Generals Retreat
Ranked #72 of 463 Jaipur B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Guest House in Jaipur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Had a very comfortable stay in Generals Retreat. Very clean and bright rooms.This place has beautiful garden and terrac.Staff were professional and friendly.Excellent food .The owners are always available to give guidence for sightseeing,shopping etc.
Excellent place to stay for your holidays.Would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeshwari158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    41
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
28
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel is a Jaipur must! As with the first time I stayed here the rooms were clean, tidy and well maintained. More importantly there is a real homely feel to it and yet you can go and do your own thing without being disturbed. The food was as delicious as I remember it, a real authentic taste. I am surprised at the comments by IowaCityGlobeTrotter as other guests I have spokent to both this time and last time have had upmost praise for the hotel. When in Jaipur there is only once place I would want to stay at and that is the Generals Retreat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Councillor0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
166 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The General's Retreat is a calm and beautiful oasis, set amongst a manicured lawn and pretty garden area.Spacious and comfortable rooms in a villa.Every room has a unique look and there's a nice garden in front of the house. The stuff is super friendly and attentive.They greet you with good food and warm welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We did the Golden Triangle tourist route and booked it with a travel agent. We told our travel agent to book "three to four star hotels" not a "one to two star b and b" which is what we got. We got two rooms, and when we went into one the heater was broken-and it is cold in Jaipur. So we simply told the man at the desk to please put a heater in the room by the time we get back from dinner. Well we come back to find the bell boys and three random kids in the room laughing and talking-not professional at all. Well it took them two hours to tell us that there was something wrong with the outlet. And nobody wanted to sleep in a cold room-so all four of us (me my husband a 13 y.o. and a 10 y.o.) slept in the other room that had one queen sized bed. My 10 yo got up in the middle of the night and said she had to go to the bathroom. Well we ran out of toliet paper, so we called the front desk. Nobody picked up-I mean seriously someone should be at the desk at night. The next morning we went to the breakfast which was a joke-the omlet took the "chef" an hour to make. We were glad to check out the following day. Not a pleasant stay at all.

Room Tip: Here is a tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaCityGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

The hotel is a home away from home. The rooms are neat, clean and tidy. The food is made to order and hence cannot go wrong. The service is personalised and courtieous. The traveller is not disturbed by extras and the stay is always a big relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunilminocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.2 km away
Loharu House
Loharu House
#123 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.3 km away
Golden Tulip Jaipur
Golden Tulip Jaipur
#51 of 363 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Jaipur City Centre
0.7 km away
Barwara Kothi
Barwara Kothi
#16 of 463 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.5 km away
Jai Vilas, Jaipur
Jai Vilas, Jaipur
#35 of 463 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Generals Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Generals Retreat

Property: The Generals Retreat
Address: C Scheme Sardar Patel Marg | Chomu House, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 463 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,386 - ₹ 3,205
Hotel Class:3 star — The Generals Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Stayzilla and Agoda so you can book your The Generals Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Generals Retreat Jaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing