We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, an excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Generals Retreat
Ranked #66 of 528 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel is a Jaipur must! As with the first time I stayed here the rooms were clean, tidy and well maintained. More importantly there is a real homely feel to it and yet you can go and do your own thing without being disturbed. The food was as delicious as I remember it, a real authentic taste. I am surprised at the comments by IowaCityGlobeTrotter as other guests I have spokent to both this time and last time have had upmost praise for the hotel. When in Jaipur there is only once place I would want to stay at and that is the Generals Retreat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Councillor0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

The General's Retreat is a calm and beautiful oasis, set amongst a manicured lawn and pretty garden area.Spacious and comfortable rooms in a villa.Every room has a unique look and there's a nice garden in front of the house. The stuff is super friendly and attentive.They greet you with good food and warm welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We did the Golden Triangle tourist route and booked it with a travel agent. We told our travel agent to book "three to four star hotels" not a "one to two star b and b" which is what we got. We got two rooms, and when we went into one the heater was broken-and it is cold in Jaipur. So we simply told the man at the desk to please put a heater in the room by the time we get back from dinner. Well we come back to find the bell boys and three random kids in the room laughing and talking-not professional at all. Well it took them two hours to tell us that there was something wrong with the outlet. And nobody wanted to sleep in a cold room-so all four of us (me my husband a 13 y.o. and a 10 y.o.) slept in the other room that had one queen sized bed. My 10 yo got up in the middle of the night and said she had to go to the bathroom. Well we ran out of toliet paper, so we called the front desk. Nobody picked up-I mean seriously someone should be at the desk at night. The next morning we went to the breakfast which was a joke-the omlet took the "chef" an hour to make. We were glad to check out the following day. Not a pleasant stay at all.

Room Tip: Here is a tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaCityGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The hotel is a home away from home. The rooms are neat, clean and tidy. The food is made to order and hence cannot go wrong. The service is personalised and courtieous. The traveller is not disturbed by extras and the stay is always a big relaxation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunilminocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Would recommend The General's Retreat to everyone over and over again.
Great for family vacation. Good location ,
Mr Bisht is very warm and welcoming . So is his family(daughter)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.0 km away
Jai Niwas
Jai Niwas
#55 of 389 in Jaipur
324 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunder Palace Guest House
1.8 km away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#10 of 389 in Jaipur
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#8 of 389 in Jaipur
1,613 reviews
0.7 km away
The Moustache, Jaipur
The Moustache, Jaipur
#4 of 449 in Jaipur
369 reviews
7.9 km away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#36 of 389 in Jaipur
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Generals Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Generals Retreat

Address: C Scheme Sardar Patel Marg | Chomu House, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 528 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: ₹ 2,224 - ₹ 3,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Generals Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, Agoda, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your The Generals Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Generals Retreat Jaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing