We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, large rooms, excellent hositality more like staying in your own home, Trish Halliday & Lyn MacDonald” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Generals Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Generals Retreat
Ranked #58 of 481 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, large rooms, excellent hositality more like staying in your own home, Trish Halliday & Lyn MacDonald”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I certianly don't agree with Okietrader's comments. The accommodation was excellent value, and mostly we thought it very clean and felt safe. We also stayed there when it was very cold. The blankets were clean and adequate, some peope just have to whine I guess.
Showers had boiling water and loads of it. Food was great in fact much better that the Trident.
I will certainly be staying there on my next trip.

Lynette

Room Tip: speak to the owner who runs it he is a wonderful man
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    42
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
30
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

very good service from the supernice staff. The rooms are okay.
It was very cold when we were there, so they provided heater. That was good, bathroom however was still very cold.
The blankets they gave were disgusting, we did not feel comfortable in covering ourselves with woolen blankets that many other guests had used. No real blanket cover available.
Dinner was excellent, real home cooked food. However at 350 Rupees we found it little overpriced.
The overall price of staying was 2800 plus taxes. Looking back, i think it was too much.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okietrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The General's Retreat is a secluded villa just otside the old centre of Jaipur. It is the former home of a family with an aristocratic and military background, visible in various paraphernalia in the common areas. As such, it has a lovely nostalgic atmosphere.
The owner, a retired admiral, rules the place with a strict hand. Service is therefore attentive and courteous.
The rooms are large, quiet and well-maintained. Meals are simple and sufficient. Behind the house is a swimming pool, where I once saw a family of monkeys wander by (see the picture).
It is possible to walk to Jaipur's main sights in half an hour, but I wouldn't recommend it. Like in many Indian cities, walking is no pleasure.
All in all, this guesthouse really does feel like a retreat, away from the chaos and dirt of the city.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

i have been staying at generals retreat for the past 3-4 years!! frankly the rest dont stand a chance!! i felt safe secure and at home, a wonderful warm staff< yummy home cooked meal and lovely atmosphere, i was on work but my mum who was with me said she would travel all the way just to spend some detox time as the atmosphere was just lovely!!!
i come back home feeling great!!!! a big thumbs up for being consistently excellent in every which way!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I spent a couple of nights at the General's Retreat and found it to be a nice quiet oasis in the hussle and rush of Jaipur. it is a lovely old house reconverted to a hotel. the rooms are spacious and absolutely clean. the staff are very friendly and eager to help. I had dinner and it was wonderful (I chose non-veg), lots of food and exceptionally well done. there is a western style mall about a half kilometer down the road with a cinema and the main old city bazaar and palace are about 3 kilometers the other way. It is a quiet and relaxing place, not a large chain hotel and the atmosphere is great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yokester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.7 km away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#18 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
2.2 km away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#87 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 376 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 km away
Pratap Bhawan
Pratap Bhawan
#10 of 481 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 km away
Barwara Kothi
Barwara Kothi
#15 of 481 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Generals Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Generals Retreat

Property: The Generals Retreat
Address: C Scheme Sardar Patel Marg | Chomu House, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 481 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,309 - ₹ 16,232
Hotel Class:2 star — The Generals Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your The Generals Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Generals Retreat Jaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing