We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real family feel with a professional edge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Generals Retreat
Ranked #67 of 526 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The service was extremely friendly and I felt like a part of their family. I was often invited to take afternoon tea with the family and the tranquil garden. Rooms were extremely comfortable with all the required items. Food was exceptional, tasted like authentic Rajasthani fare. This is a little oasis in the hustle of Jaipur and yet is within easy reach of the tourist traps and shopping parades....somewhere you can really relax.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Councillor0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

Very Convenient Location, Quaint, Comfortable & Homely. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Perfect place to stay, whether on Business or Holiday. Highly Recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radhikatandon1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This is a place where you can feel at home,like the good old styled pensions in Europe. Its closeness to a main road may create some noise but you won't be staying in the hotel all day long anyway. Price is good for a butique hotel with 4 or 5 rooms. Food is good, rooms are very clean. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmrbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the General's Retreat. It is in a quiet part of town, but the old town is easily accessible. The Manager helped us arrange suitable transportation for in-town sight seeing and to our next destination, Agra. The breakfasts provided were more than adequate and the evening meal delicious. It was lovely to relax in the garden at the end of a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We three girls made an impromptu decision to go to Jaipur for the weekend to have a nice ethnic experience. Our trip was mostly about mental relaxation- which is what the General's Retreat provided. We arrived at 4 am in the morning. Despite the ungodly hour and the fact that we arrived hours before our estimated time of arrival, we got a very comfortable room, tastefully decorated, with a very homely bathroom that had one of the best showers I've ever used. We had 5 hours of blissful undisturbed sleep following our check-in.

The staff is very friendly. In fact, before finalising our booking, I had a very reassuring conversation with Ms. Ketaki about our trip.

We got a good student's discount too. They were very understanding about the fact that we were on a tight student's budget and could not afford high rates. At the same time, it is a very safe place for a small pack of girls to stay at.

I would say that the General's Retreat is a good value for money accommodation. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyadarshini12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
16.8 km away
Chokhi Dhani Resort
Chokhi Dhani Resort
#55 of 411 in Jaipur
834 reviews
7.9 km away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#38 of 411 in Jaipur
1,535 reviews
1 km away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#14 of 411 in Jaipur
3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Hotel Amer View
Hotel Amer View
#1 of 6 in Amer
361 reviews
8 km away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 411 in Jaipur
2,156 reviews
2 km away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#33 of 411 in Jaipur
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Generals Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Generals Retreat

Address: C Scheme Sardar Patel Marg | Chomu House, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 526 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: ₹ 1,914 - ₹ 3,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Generals Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, OYO Rooms, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your The Generals Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Generals Retreat Jaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing