We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay anywhere but here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Narain Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Narain Niwas Palace
Ranked #117 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay anywhere but here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I have been coming to Jaipur for 20 years and had wonderful experiences of Rajasthani hospitality - so I was appalled at this hotel - it is a stunning heritage property with large spacious rooms, attractive terraces and beautiful gardens and pool, but there is nowhere to sit at ease except an unwelcoming dull area outside the main restaurant. The upper terrace above should have been a lovely sitting area for the rooms up there - where we were located - but all the metal and upholstered chairs were covered in a thick layer of dust and indeed a grid pattern of dust was imprinted on my black trousers where I had sat down. The toilets behind reception - only public ones i found were filthy. The curtains in our room looked ancient and dirty, as were the floor mats , and my sheets on the first night were marked with what looked like old blood. There was bottled water (small) on the first night only - otherwise filtered water in an old fashioned plastic flask. In a hotel this dirty - i could not feel confident that the water filter was well enough maintained to be safe. I got a stomach upset (from food ?? from ice??) and on asking for water had to sign for it, the waiter approaching my bed for the signature! - as i had not taken breakfast and was ill surely water should be complementary - as in other hotels in the city - it should be complementary daily in a country where tap water is not safe - everyone has to drink. The food was OK but not good - but i got sick. Wifi should in this day and age be part of the service. The reservation staff and restaurant "manager" were indifferent and not at all welcoming. It has huge potential to be a very lovely place to stay with the little effort of cleaning and a few replaced textiles - all made in Jaipur and not expensive - and for the staff to understand that guests should be treated with the legendary Rajasthani indeed Rajput hospitality - that their experience should make them want to return - take a leaf out of the other properties and why people like me return year after year. This place is a disgrace to Rajput traditions and therefore a very expensive place to stay for no pleasure.

Room Tip: i am sorry the general state is such that i cannot recommend anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank selinacraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    96
    44
    19
    13
See reviews for
65
70
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

This is a heritage hotel located in center of a city. If you are in a mood to stay in that kind of environment, then it is a best choice for you but then do not expect any extraordinary facilities.

It lacks in terms of service also. Most of the people don't understand English and are very lazy to do any of your help.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manish_Khandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Not very friendly on arrival staff looked a bit shifty really, the hotel has a beautiful facade with lot of character on entrance, but like its room is faded and rather neglected.
Did not dine or wish to, and indeed breakfast was poor, rooms are large and quaint but not that well cleaned, had to use a bath towel for my bedside rug (not putting my feet on that floor).
Large pleasant garden with excellent swimming pool.
You can can walk out onto the street from here and buy a few bits.
Wifi is by purchase of expensive logon card, of which some are 'use once only', and others run out after '24hrs' of 1st login, no real explanation given at time of sale.
Whilst there the agent made contact and asked how the hotel was, we told him, he went to the hotel, and afterwards the change of staff attitude was a transformation to be seen to be believed. How staff can alter from being shifty, idle and unfriendly one day, to smiling, helpful and happy the next is a product I wish could package and export. Was it that simple??

Room Tip: I think some have had a make over so asked to see before getting bags delivered to allocated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Clitheroe-Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

The high prices that you are paying for there is just making you cry, when you see the dirty bathroom, awful rooms, the service is so terrible, welcome in India, paying high prices for such neglected places...restaurant is just awful, hated that place...better to go back again and again to Thailand, Indonasia never never be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moukik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaipur hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

On arrival the hotel looked fantastic - very much the heritage hotel I was looking for - unfortunately this is somewhat of a facade, and a fading one at that.

The hotel rooms were a hodgepodge of some lovely suites and some rooms which had apparently been servants quarters in the past. Unfortunately, we had one of these garret rooms hich were not particularly comfortable.

There was no air-conditioning, no fridge, no kettle, very basic. There were various leaks in the plumbing and you had to switch on the water heater for some time prior to using the shower.

The peacocks were the worst aspect of the hotel, as they had a tendency to screech throughout the night, and being awakened like this in the early hours is not amusing.

The food in the hotel is actually really nice, and we ate there 2 nights running, which we rarely do. Only issue raised by other guests was the lack of wine options and the extremely high cost of wine; however this did not bother me.

There was also entertainment in the form of music dancing and fire breathing, which fascinated the children staying at the hotel.

Other guests at the hotel enjoyed their stay; however I did not.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
3.0 km away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#30 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
4.6 km away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
1.4 km away
Diggi Palace
Diggi Palace
#61 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
4.3 km away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#33 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
2.9 km away
Mandawa Haveli Jaipur
Mandawa Haveli Jaipur
#58 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narain Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narain Niwas Palace

Property: Narain Niwas Palace
Address: Kanota Bagh, Jaipur 302004, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#42 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,021 - ₹ 10,406
Hotel Class:4 star — Narain Niwas Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Narain Niwas Palace Hotel, a Heritage Hotel, provides a good example of history amalgamating with modern times. Centrally located in Jaipur, the Pink City of India, the palace was built in the 19th century by General Amar Singh Ji, the then Thakur of Kanota. Designed in a fanciful version of The Anglo-Indian style popular in the Victorian Era, the palace now serves as a hotel. The Palace has all the modern amenities and a place where one can enjoy traditional Rajput Hospitality. Decorated with Rajput Flourishing, Rajasthani Furnishing and Traditional Jaipur painted wall decor in a typically bold colour palette; Narain Niwas was built in the 1928 by General Amar Singh, Thakur of Kanota, and Commander of the Jaipur State Force. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Narain Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narain Niwas Palace Jaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing