We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The term monkey temple just screams tourist, but I was really pleasantly surprised. A quiet street lined with bright temples, painted walls and old monks in orange sitting on steps. then through to a really picturesque building set into a gorge with a river running down into a series of pools, the bottom one making a lovely setting. There are Macques and langurs, the macques being the more bold and very used to being approached and fed by tourists but still not gone to far into being dangerous. Really enjoyed my visit

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    374
    236
    79
    62
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“a bit intimidating but good to see”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I'm a little freaked out my monkeys especially upclose but if you can bear the walk up to the temple and are happy to have one of the young boys guide you there, its worth the trek. The monkeys ARE actually cute and very gentle to feed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“If you're taking a rickshaw there, make sure the driver takes you to Galwar Bagh!”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We asked a rickshaw driver to take us to the 'Monkey Temple', but he took us to the 'Sun Temple' side instead, which is a far walk from the place in the pictures here. We didn't realize this until we walked to the top of a steep hill and saw a sign for 'Sun Temple' with a few monkeys lingering about. When we walked down the hill to confront the driver, he repeatedly said 'This is Monkey Temple!' and got his rickshaw buddies to crowd around us and try to convince us. We thought he deliberately took us to this place because it was closer to our hotel and he really knew where we wanted to go. He finally admitted, 'Okay, okay. This is not it. But, do you know how far that place is from your hotel? That would be another few kilometers!' There you go! So, if you want to go to the place in the pictures here, make sure you tell the rickshaw driver, 'Galwar Bagh' and say 'Do not take me to the 'Sun Temple'. (The views of Jaipur from 'Sun Temple' at sunset are nice, though, but there are very few monkeys--just FYI!)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We were the only tourists”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This was not in our book, our guide from Amber Fort made the recommendation and it was one of the highlights of our trip. We are animal lovers, so to experience this closeness to dozens of lovely monkeys, was very unique. The religious man that was our guide was simply lovely, with perfect English, so courteous. It was very hot, but would recommend it very much.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LosEucaliptos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go at feeding time”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Evenings are a great time to visit the Monkey temple. The monkeys are calm; and locals come in with trays of watermelon, branches, and other munchies, which make for especially good pictures. As the temperature cools, local families come up to swim in the catch basins at the base of the temple's waterfall. This and the "working" temple monks make Galwar Bagh a living experience, which is substantively different from many of the area's other historic sites.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bounce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monkey Temple (Galta Ji) also viewed

Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Monkey Temple (Galta Ji)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing