We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, let down by minor oversights”
Review of Samode Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samode Haveli
Ranked #11 of 392 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The approach to this hotel belies the splendour that lies beyond the driveway leading to the palace. The hotel really is quite beautiful, from the quirky entrance (up a grand flight of steps) into a lovely courtyard.

A warm welcome greeted us upon arrival and we were shown to very large and impressive rooms. There are no lifts (elevators) in this hotel and rooms are spread around various buildings on various levels.

Note: WiFi is ONLY available in the seating area around the courtyard. There is NO WiFi in any of the rooms. But it is free :)

The rooms are well equipped with all the niceties one would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

The dining room is quite magnificent with its decorated walls and ceiling.

What I found to be a little disappointing was the lack of attention to detail in certain areas. My bathroom was large and quite elegant with a separate slipper bath and large shower cubicle. Marble slabs adorned the walls. Whilst standing in the shower I noticed faint writing on the marble which, without my glasses, looked like graffiti. I then noticed more graffiti on other marble slabs around the bathroom and, on closer inspection, discovered it was actually pencil marks denoting which room and location the slabs were meant for - why could they not have cleaned this off after the marble was installed?! Also the slipper bath, whilst looking quite elegant, was made of lightweight acrylic and not fixed to the floor properly - a little dangerous possibly?!

As a result of arriving in Jaipur with a rather bad case of food poisoning I didn't dine in the restaurant of a lunchtime or evening. I did take breakfast one two mornings and, to be honest, wasn't particularly impressed - I'd say that the breakfast offering was fairly average.

The staff were helpful, polite and friendly but somewhat disorganised at times.

Overall a lovely hotel and certainly a great place to stay but some attention to detail and an improvement on the breakfast fare is in order.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KerryKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking out time for sharing your experience. I am glad that you liked the Samode Haveli and we have taken your feedback.

We hope to see you again soon sometime to try the cuisine of Samode Haveli.

with regards

K P Singh
Vice President - Sales & Marketing
Samode Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 779 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

An amazing beautiful hotel in a fascinating area of India! The staff were exceptional (more about that below), and the room they gave us was fit for a king and queen.

The grounds in general were well-kept and a pleasure to walk around. The pool area was luxurious, and the dining room was astounding. The food in both places was excellent. The lounge area next to the courtyard was also a wonderful place to sit.

Unfortunately, we got word of a death in the family and we had to make arrangements to go back home. The telephone in our room didn't work, so the staff at the front desk were kind enough to let us use theirs. They gave us glasses of water and offered advice on the best way to get back to New Delhi. Their kindness was very much appreciated.

We also had to notify friends and family through email, so we were very thankful for their air-conditioned computer room.

Thanks again to the staff for a wonderful (if short) stay at the Samode Haveli!!!

Room Tip: Any room there would be a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Samode Haveli and in time of grief taking out time to share your experience.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Samode Haveli in the near future.

with regards

K P Singh
Vice President - Sales & Marketing
Samode Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel is delightful in every way. The setting is lovely and serene - great contrast to the bustling streets outside the enclosed area, the rooms beautifully furnished in traditional style and spacious, the restaurant is excellent and the staff charming.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciative comments of your stay at the Samode Haveli.

We are delighted to know that your stay was to your satisfaction and it was our pleasure to have been of service to you.

We hope to welcome you back again to Samode Haveli.

with regards

K P Singh
Vice President - Sales & Marketing
Samode Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Samode Haveli is like a lotus, standing elegantly in a place where you can least expect a property like this. Samode Haveli is located at Gangapole in Jaipur. As soon as you enter the premises of the Haveli you can experience the contrast. The Gangapole is a congested, garbage ridden street which in fact can be referred as muddy pond. The Samode Haveli is a lotus in that muddy pond. It is one of the best Heritage properties in Jaipur. We (me and my spouse) checked in at the haveli on July 15, 2012 and stayed there for a day.

Samode Haveli has an imposing entrance. There is a huge parking space. The entrance leads to a courtyard which is a kind of open restaurant with medieval age fountains adorning the floor. The room was worth a look. It was too spacious and royal in its bearing. The dressing area and bath were too plush. The room opened into a balcony with a sitting area. The best things we enjoyed were dip in the pool and a Spa session. Samode Haveli has a good food menu, though we found their continental food better than the Indian food . This may be because the majority of guests are from western countries. We ordered Pasta and Sandwiches in the room and they were YUM. At dinner, Dal Makhani was quite average. The following morning, the continental stuff at the breakfast was good. The Aloo Parathas were again average. Their wine menu has almost everything to choose from.

The Haveli is adorned with beautiful antiques and photographs/portraits of the royal family. You can have the feel of the place from the photographs that I am uploading.

Room Tip: Best time to visit Jaipur is between October and February
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Himanshu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback about your stay at Samode Haveli and for the most wonderful & unique description of the location.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am delighted to know that you found the services to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Samode Haveli in the near future.

with regards

K P Singh
Vice President - Sales & Marketing
Samode Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is my favourite hotel in Jaipur without a doubt. It is near the central markets but far enough away that you feel like you are in your own little oasis. The garden area where the dining is set up is lovely, especially at night lit up against the old style haveli. We had a great meal, a thai inspired dish that was delicious. Our room was quite large, with a big comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. I loved the soft powdery colours of the room and the old details of the haveli that remind you of a more decadent past. Staff is friendly and attentive, very impressed overall!

Room Tip: The heritage block is new and located at the back of the property, nice colonial decor. I like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Samode Haveli and it is an honor to be rated as your favorite hotel.

I am delighted to know that you found the services and the rooms to your satisfaction.

we look forward to welcoming you in the near future at Samode Haveli.

with regards

K P Singh
Vice President - Sales & Marketing
Samode Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
5.6 km away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
9.1 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#4 of 392 in Jaipur
715 reviews
10.9 km away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#13 of 392 in Jaipur
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 392 in Jaipur
1,448 reviews
4.8 km away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 392 in Jaipur
1,782 reviews
3.4 km away
Alsisar Haveli - A Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Haveli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Haveli

Address: Gangapole, Jaipur 302002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#13 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#34 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: ₹ 17,930 - ₹ 28,999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samode Haveli 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Booking.com, Agoda, EaseMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Samode Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Haveli Jaipur, Rajasthan
Samode Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing