We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful former palace & Excellent restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jai Mahal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jai Mahal Palace
Ranked #6 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful former palace & Excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Beautiful building, a former palace; it really feels like you are back in old times.
Our best experience there was the Cinnamon restaurant! It was the best restaurant of our whole stay in India. The decor is so-so but the food and the service was amazing.
For the negative, we were a bit disappointed with the room decoration, was a bit too simple and was lacking character. But our main issue was the noise; it was very noisy during the night due to echo from the corridor and the train noise. We loved the place but for the price (200euros +), we were expecting something better. (breakfast was not even included)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludivine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    383
    79
    32
    22
See reviews for
688
586
54
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Taj properties are among the finest hotels you can find in India. The Rambagh, a another Taj property has an over the top restaurant and spectacular public and private rooms. This residence, The Jai Mahal, has nothing to do with the others. I was placed in a dark seemingly subterranean room which represented little more than a motel 6 in its offerings. Attempts to change rooms were met with the ubiquitous empty smile that signified no wish to honor my discomfort. It is significant to note there was a magician offering his tricks in the garden and expecting to get paid for his show by hotel guests. I must say I've never seen this before in hotel. The food in restaurants was bland and uninspired. Service was mediocre and attention superficial. The hotel clearly needs external support to get back together. The other Taj hotels are so refined and clearly better administration should review why this hotel does so poorly. The lobby is often jampacked with tourists checking in and checking out giving a feeling of being in less of a boutique hotel and rather being in a commercial Marriott in Nashville Tennessee.

Room Tip: don't accept the first room that your offered and make sure the room is sunny and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estrumagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

By mistake we first showed up at the Rambagh Palace property also operated by the Taj - where the experience began as it did when we stayed at the Lake Palace in Udaipur. However, we were redirected to where we had booked ourselves originally, which is this property, the Jai Mahal.

Sprawling property, with interesting birds walking about, well situated for exploring Jaipur and shopping, but it seemed the property was getting a bit tired....but the staff tries hard to compensate for it - and service was excellent. The rooms are spacious, well laid out, but the windows are thin and do not keep the sound out, especially when the adjoining pool area is being used for wedding dinners, events and shows - which can be annoying when you are trying to sleep. Given it's size, we also saw tourist groups using the hotel (possibly the orient express package) - which takes away from the intimacy that some of us desire

The food, compared to other Taj properties, doesnt hit the mark, but once again the breakfast set-up was the best meal - accommodating any taste - with personalized service.
The pool was nice and clean, albeit a bit cold, but the massage/spa experience more than made up for anything that was wanting. They also have a cultural show, elephant polo (which i missed), lifesize chess court, and a functioning business center (which i had to use for work faxes)

Like any other Taj property, the service was par excellence, and overall a good experience. But makes me wonder about the Rambagh Palace (higher $$$)

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is away from the pool area....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atul1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Nice building and grounds, but the interiors are looking a little tired. We had a room overlooking the garden - a good size, but nothing special. We did get to watch the preparations for a 1500 guest wedding, which was fun, The expected noise was bearable and stopped around 10.30, so no problems. Got to see a match of elephant polo during the wedding, which was special (and a bit slow!). Dinner in the Italian restaurant by the pool was lovely and great service. We also ate at the Indian restaurant 'Cinnamon' which was good - nothing out of the ordinary. Breakfast in the buffet was very average, with a fellow guest sneezing all over the uncovered hot food selection. Didn't eat much that day! The next day, we ate on the terrace (with a musician!) and found out we could order Indian meals. Had a fabulous Masala Dosai, which made it a wonderful start to the day.
We also had a facial each. Pity it isn't by the pool where the massages are - it is a walk away in a damp, dark depressing hair salon. However, it was cheap, with a vigorous massage and pretty good!
As usual with Taj hotels, the staff are what makes the difference. The Business Centre staff (for computer access) were fabulous. The concierge staff were amazing - car and driver? look after our luggage after check out? mehandi (henna on the arms and legs) for my daughter? - all done quickly and with a smile. I cannot praise the staff here enough - made our stay even better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

From the minute we drove in we were charmed by the grounds. The staff was extremely welcoming and our room was very spacious. The hotel was clean and well kept and the service impeccable. We have stayed in 3 hotels on our trip, in various parts of India that were meant to be the same caliber, but Jai Mahal takes the cake. Location was terrific, a short drive to the major sights. Didn't eat on the property aside from the breakfast which was delicious - good variety of Indian and non-Indian items and of high quality. Also we loved that there were always house keeping carts around with bottles of water that we were able to grab on our way out. An added bonus was that locals had events there like weddings and this gave us a peek into traditional customs. I wanted a palace and I got one!! Only disappointment was no free wi-fi but I guess emperors didn't have wifi ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.8 km away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 376 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
1.1 km away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#16 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,148 reviews
10.6 km away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 376 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#17 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
4.2 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 376 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#32 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jai Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jai Mahal Palace

Property: Jai Mahal Palace
Address: Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#5 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,564 - ₹ 24,106
Hotel Class:5 star — Jai Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the main shopping centre and historical monuments, Jai Mahal Palace is ideal for exploring the fascinating city of Jaipur. The majestic palace, a vast complex of regal rooms, pretty pavilions and charming colonnades set amidst 18 acres of landscaped gardens, traces its origins to 1745. The heritage palace has been painstakingly restored and recently refurbished to offer guests the exclusive experience of a royal lifestyle complemented by legendary Taj hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Agoda so you can book your Jai Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jai Mahal Palace Hotel Jaipur
Hotel Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing