We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conflicted”
Review of Shahpura House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shahpura House
Ranked #28 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Conflicted”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I really wanted to like this property more. The aesthetics of the place are wonderful. It has the look of the type of place I wanted to stay on this trip - old, with a bit of character. However, it just is not comfortable. The bed was adequate, but the sheets and towels are rough. The sofa and chairs in the room speak to back to the "heritage" style and look the part, but they are extremely uncomfortable. Since the same style runs throughout the lounge areas of the hotel, there is no place to comfortably relax after a long day of touring the region; something you need after the bustle of Jaipur. The food is okay; you're not going to get sick, but it's a little boring. The bar could be charming if it weren't so cramped. It's in a good (but not great) location. It is a fine (as in okay) choice as long as you know what your are getting.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gentrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DigrajSingh, Guest Relations Manager at Shahpura House, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to apologize that your experience was not as good as the so many other guests who have stayed with us and commented on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry that your experience fell short of these standards on this particular occasion.

Having said that, I feel necessary to respond to some of your observations:

-The Towels were actually given hard in your room. I do apologize towards the same.

-As far as the Sitting area is concerned, we have good sitting areas in the hotel, such as Darbar hall, Swarn mahal and other small sitting outside room lobbies, which have been designed very beautifully and have comfortable seats.
It is surprising to know that clients who have been coming to Shahpura House have not ever told out about the seats being uncomfortable, rather they like the way it has been done up including the architecture and also do appreciate the area.

-for the bar, we may mention her e that the Bar has been done up nicely in what space we had, it could be that due to more rush on that particular day, it might have been cramped, but there are other places in the hotel, where you sit and enjoy your drink

Thank you for sharing your experience with a wider audience.

Stay well

Regards,
Eric Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    428
    117
    40
    32
See reviews for
258
601
71
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Overall this is a hotel where you will be taken care of nicely - if you belong to a category of guests pleasing the GM. The pretty haveli is over 200 years old and was refurbished in the fifties. it serves as a hotel since the nineties. i'm sure the new and shiny marble floors date of this The reception area might not be too convincing in style (and service) but the courtyards and interior common areas are quaint.
My room was small, dark and cold (which is nothing unusual in January) which made me spend not too much time resting there. I did not even care to take pictures. Friends I travelled with had a much larger and bright room. In this hotel it is about getting the right room...

Room Tip: Choose a room with direct access to the roof terrace (for example 506)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solid_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DigrajSingh, Owner at Shahpura House, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad to know that you had a good stay with us.

There is no question of pleasing the GM and getting the right room. All the people working at the front desk are also equally responsible for getting the client the right room which has been booked by him.

We try to see that all the rooms or suites given to the clients should be as per their request and not being degraded.

Shahpura House was never meant to be a hotel as it was the house of the erstwhile ruler of Shahpura. Later on it was turned into a hotel and whatever space we had was turned in the hotel areas. That is why the reception may not be too convincing for you.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the others on Trip Advisor.

Stay well

Regards,
Digraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto and Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed in one of the top floor suites which was absolutely gorgeous. Only minor complaint was that the shower took an eternity to drain.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennunjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, MA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is an incredible property, a palace right out of a storybook. Each of the rooms has its own unique character so you could come back again and again hoping to get a different room each time. Marble floors throughout!

This hotel got all the details right. Nice in-room toiletries; the softest towels I have found in any hotel in India so far (they tend to be scratchy), big-screen TV in an ornamental wooden case to match the period decor. Also the only place in India so far that I've seen an actual bathtub rather than toilet and shower sharing a room with a drain in the middle. Minibar and laundry service. The Wifi is free and it kept kicking my computer off every few minutes but when it was working it was fast. The rooms aren't as private as they could be (a door with large glass panes separates you from the hallway; voices go right through the glass and echo off the marble, so anyone outside can hear your phone conversation), but what can you do in a historic place like this? It is beautiful.

The staff were extremely helpful and efficient. The swimming pool area is gorgeous. I really hope to be able to return someday because I feel I left a piece of my heart here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DigrajSingh, Owner at Shahpura House, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful comments and this has boosted up our moral.

We are very thankful to you for this and when you come next we shall make your stay a most memorable one.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the others on Trip Advisor.

Stay well

Regards,
Digraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel filled with antiques and elaborate artwork. The larger rooms, or suites, are very nice. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Via the front desk, I booked a car and driver for the entire 4 days I was in Jaipur and was very satisfied with that service-especially as I was travelling on my own. I was also picked up and dropped off from the train station. The hotel had free WiFi throughout, a definite plus. Contents of the mini-bar were affordable--my daughter ate almost the entire contents of that mini-bar and the bill was only 350 rupees--imagine if that had happened at a Taj property! I was very satisfied with this hotel and their amenities and would recommend. The food is only so so-nothing spectacular, but perfectly adequate. Room service can be a little slow and breakfast is good, but not spectacular (but it comes with the room, so is a definite plus). I also used the laundry services-which were inexpensive and did a good job.

Room Tip: Some of the deluxe rooms looked very small. I stayed in a suite-which would be what I would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.8 km away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#37 of 386 in Jaipur
858 reviews
4.9 km away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 386 in Jaipur
1,199 reviews
4.2 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 386 in Jaipur
842 reviews
0.5 km away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.1 km away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#24 of 386 in Jaipur
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahpura House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahpura House

Property: Shahpura House
Address: Devi Marg, Jaipur 302016, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#11 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#32 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,685 - ₹ 16,429
Hotel Class:4 star — Shahpura House 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Rajput architecture, a mixture of Mughal and Indian, a facade with domes and frescoes. The house is a very fine example of Shekhawati frescoes and architecture. The family portraits, which add to the charm of this family hotel where tradition still runs strong. Like many historic houses, Shahpura House is a curious mixture of the old and the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelGuru, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Shahpura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahpura House Hotel Jaipur
Shahpura House Jaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing