We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its not only the lovely interiors, its also the people that are amazing”
Review of Dera Mandawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dera Mandawa
Ranked #4 of 489 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Noida, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Its not only the lovely interiors, its also the people that are amazing”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Thanks to tripadvisor, I chanced upon this 'hotel' , while driving into Jaipur. The place is literally like an oasis. It is a family 'haveli' (a century old house), converted tastefully into more of a homestay.
Rooms : Seven rooms, each is quite spacious & comfortable. Most modern amenities included (except TVs!!). You can see some murals & lovely antique furniture in each room.
Facilities : We'll, be forewarned that if you're looking for a spa/gym/swimming pool or ritzy five star facilities, this is NOT for you. If you want to experience how Indian nobles lived a century ago, this works. The owners have fitted each room with fully functioning modern bathrooms, fridge, ACs etc. They have a nice courtyard, where you can sip your morning coffee in the midst of chirping birds...
The unique selling proposition : Its the people. The owner - Mr Durga Singh is an incredibly articulate & pleasant person. He will converse with you & make you comfortable. He has a repertoire of folk singers, and of course his own stories...
The negatives : Well, apart from the fact that the approach to this place is very crowded & passes thru the cramped old city, there are really no negatives.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    36
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
201
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Delightful oasis in the middle of the Old City. Large, airy suite rooms surrounding a courtyard - a peaceful escape from the hustle and bustle of the City. Attentive service and excellent food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Our three-day stay at Dera Mandawa left a lot to be desired.
Firstly, as we entered our room after a tiresome journey we were let down by the sight of dirty linen i.e. stained bedsheets.
Secondly, we couldn’t even enjoy a good night’s sleep as the ceiling fan made the most annoying and disturbing of sounds. We called the receptionist, Mr. Digvijay, who said that an electrician would be called the following morning to fix whatever problem there was with the fan. But that turned out to be only lip service as the electrician showed up neither on the second nor the third day. Thirdly the staff was rude and indifferent to us. We had to wait long before fresh towels, soaps etc. were brought in our room.
Also the location is very average. One is met by jarring sounds, blaring horns and crazy traffic as soon as one steps out of the hotel.
All in all nothing made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna_plokhikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurgaSingh, Owner at Dera Mandawa, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Dear Guest ,
Firstly we offer our sincere and unconditional apology for the inconvenience caused . As per the principle of hospitality we believe that every guest must be looked after to his satisfaction and expectation .
Since we started receiving guests 2 years ago , you would be the first guest where we have not met the expectations .This makes us very sorry as we started Dera Mandawa solely because we enjoy hospitality and receiving guests is a pleasure for us . We shall do every thing in our might to improve/change on the issues pointed out by you .
(a) All our 7 suites are air-conditioned, are fitted with split wall mounted units with individual temperature and functional controls . The old ceiling fans have essentially been left in the rooms for visual nostalgia of the heritage building . However we shall either quieten them or disconnect them and they will remain only for the aesthetic effect .
(b) The staff not being fluent in English may give a impression of being indifferent , our apologies . The entire staff is now being given English speaking classes conducted by our manager Mr Andrew Alexander .
(c) Being close to the entrance of the pink city “chandpole” has its advantages and disadvantages . The guests spend much less time in comuting to the monuments however higher noise level is the disadvantage . We have made great efforts ( double glazed windows, landscaping ) to dampen the sounds and would continue our efforts .
(d) This is to request you kindly please let us know the exact dates of stay at Dera Mandawa so we could check the issue of linen .
We thank you for the feedback and would make all effort to see all our guests get services as per their expectation and satisfaction ,
With best wishes
Yours sincerely
Durga singh
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We had requested a 4/5 star hotel from our Agent, so we were somewhat apprehensive at the prospect of a homestay accommodation, however on this occasion our fears could not have been more misguided.
This is, simply put, a very special property with very special Management. Our host, Mr. Durga Singh was attentive, hospitable and entertaining. He has obviously put his heart and soul into the restoration of this magnificent building and has set out to create a unique visitor experience. This hotel has been thoughtfully reconstructed into guest accommodation and the attention to detail is everywhere.
Our comfort and enjoyment were the hotels first priority and we were very reluctant to say goodbye after only 2 short days.
We stayed in much more elaborate and expensive accommodation during our India trip, however the Dera Mandawa was most definitely the highlight.
Do not visit Jaipur without staying here!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ozwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in Feb 2011, the hotel is a well located small boutique style hotel. The hotel has a lot of character built within a small walled garden the room was large, clean nicely decorated with beautiful furnishings bed covers etc. The bathroom was large well appointed with a large walk in shower. The hotel was queit but in easy walking distance to the city gate and bazaar. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the owner was also extremely helpful and interesting to talk to.I would strongly recommend this hotel which I think is great value for money and ideal fot a short stay in Jaipur.
Andrew Brundle
Surrey England
UK

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
6.1 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 381 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.8 km away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
2.0 km away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 381 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#7 of 381 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
3.1 km away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 381 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
2.9 km away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 381 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dera Mandawa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dera Mandawa

Property: Dera Mandawa
Address: Sansar Chandra Road, New Mandawa House | adjoining Punjab National Bank, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 489 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,878 - ₹ 13,673
Hotel Class:3 star — Dera Mandawa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lesser-known fact about Rajasthani monuments is that rarely were forts, palaces and havelis (large residences) constructed at one go. Each generation added new wings, rooms and arches in an architectural style prevalent during its time. DeraMandawa has also seen such an evolution, as the Mandawa family constantly kept extending the residence over the years. Thakur Durga Singh, the current custodian of DeraMandawa is a keen observer of history, culture, religion, current affairs, and is a bank of knowledge so vast that he has a point of view on anything under the sun. He is what one could call a modern traditionalist, actively seeking the use of modern technology and methods to support the principles of traditional living. The inquisitive can have endless conversations with him on a number of his projects like rain -water harvesting, biogas plant, solar heating and, even, healthy cooking. He would be more than delighted to share his experiences with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Dera Mandawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dera Mandawa Jaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing