We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Ranked #55 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I travelled to India for the first time on my own (I'm female) specifically to attend the 2012 Jaipur Literary Festival (a MUST for everyone interested in the literature of the region) in January and spent a week after the festival at Devi Niketan to explore the city. Admiral Singh is a most charming and informative host, as are all his staff members, who provided excellent service and delicious food - and, most importantly - warmth and friendliness. My room was spacious (yet cozy, somehow), comfortable and clean, and the hotel itself is centrally situated in a large, quiet campus. I'd recommend it freely to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    62
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
125
89
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We visited last year with my family. The stay was nice and comfy with home like food and comfortable rooms.Mr Madhvendra singh was very welcoming and friendly. Hotel had a nice ambience and pool was also ok.overall the location is very good due close proximity to several areas and hotel staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V_kapoor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

It was a great experience. We got there at around 6am and there wasn't a room available yet so we stayed in the common room for about 1.5hrs until breakfast was served. We ate breakfast and the staff quickly got us into our room. The room is a bit older style in which the shower needs a boiler to heat up for hot water. I suppose this is how all of India is like. The bed is firm and they gave us a heater and extra blankets.

The staff were all from local villages just trying to make a living. However, they were all very polite, nice and helpful. The owner of the villa heard of us not being able to get a room right away, so the next morning, he personally came to visit us while we were having breakfast and apologized to us for the incident. We thought it was very nice of him and he told us a bit about his life, family and how the hotel came about.

Overall, our stay was very pleasant. We really enjoyed it. I highly recommend this hotel if you are on the fence about it.

Pros:
1. Room is clean and comfortable
2. Quiet
3. Staff members are excellent in service
4. Very personal owner
5. Food is good
6. WiFi available

Cons:
1. Heater for the shower

I highly recommend! and personally will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATHURA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in Aug’2011. This is a late review due to my job-engagements.
The main asset of the property is it’s location. Bang on the heart of the city near Chomu Circle. Everything is within your hand’s reach – MI Road, the crossing from where highways are branching towards Ajmer / Tonk, all swanky malls and outlets.
But the property is located cosily inside a sprawling campus. Once inside – you are completely insulated from the din and bustles outside.
It’s a part of the property of erstwhile Maharajas of Chomu state and belongs to an impressive linage. It carries an aura of a full-fledged herirtage resort that dots the entire toursimscape of Rajasthan. But everything comes at an affordable price.
The owner is a legend in his own right – retired chief of staff of Indian Navy Admiral Madhvendra Singh. Brushing shoulder with a towering personality, shaking hand with him – whose name and photograph you have seen only in media – is itself and honor and a bonus paid well.
Within a price of Rs 2500/- to Rs 3000/- (there are attractive discounted rates also available), the resort gives you personalized accommodation which actually gives a homely feeling – never like a hotel. The owners stay in the adjoining residence and the Devi Niketan comprises of a limited number of well-kept rooms.
You have everything, power-back-up, AC, nicely maintained toilets – a sprawling – really sprawling lawn, nice garden.
And for me – icing on the cake – is DEVI NIKETAN IS PET FRIENDLY. I LUVED IT. I SALUTE THEM.
Wherever I go – I travel with my luvly cutie cocker spaniel Roxy (see photographs I posted in tripadvisors.com for Alwar Hotel Amrit Resorts review). DEVI NIKETAN WAS THE FIRST HOTEL ROXY STAYED OUTSIDE HOME – AND HE LOVED IT, ADORED IT, ROXY PLAYED ALL AROUND THE SPRAWLING GARDEN, AROUND THE SWIMMING POOL AT THE BACKSIDE OF THE COURTYARD..
Devi Niketan will for-ever occupy a cherished place in our heart and specially for Roxy.
After staying here, I travelled to Jaipur once in a very short notice – and could not book Devi Niketan then. And then the difference became very clear. Though in the other hotel Roxy stayed with us – but he was sad – so were we – somewhere in some corner of our heart – there was an ache for Devi Niketan.
And of course – food was sumptuous – and there is a personal touch in it.
There is no commercial air – it is a fully relaxed ambience here.
And it has excellent accessibility – If you are coming by road from Agra (as normally I do) – come straight by NH-11, enter into Jaipur through the ghatis till you reach that proverbial confusion on MI Road near the old Jaipur Gate No-2 from the Agra direction (probably Chandpole Gate…??) and then you will be forced to take a left turn (Jaipur has some mysterious one-way springing up suddenly on MI road – and vanishing also all of a sudden) – then through some back-alley you land up in a road that leads up straight to Chomu Circle itself – take a right turn and there the 2nd gate of the property right at the heart of the area (may be the 3rd building from the crossing).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KINGSHUK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had chosen Devi Niketan because it was highly recommended on Tripadvisor. We did not have a bad experience, but it did not turn out to be what we had expected. It is more of a home stay than a hotel. The property lies in one of the best neighbourhoods of Jaipur and is owned and run by a highly decorated ex Naval officer. But the place lacks staff who is trained proffessionally. There is a group of boys who work there, and they manage everything including kitchen and maintaining the premises. When we arrived we were checked in by one of them. These people speak no English , and if you dont speak Hindi then communication would be a problem. The rooms were not exactly what they look like in the web. They are ok, not exceptional. We stayed on the ground floor. I found that the first floor common areas look much better than the ground floor, I have no idea how the first floor rooms are though. The bathrooms are ok, but could have been maintained better. As I said, the place lacks a person who has a proffessional eye. A lady amongst the staff might make the guests who travel with families feel much better. The room decor was ok, but there were dusty corners. The whole place is a man's place with the admiral's medals and photographs and other paraphernalia decorating every wall. I felt the place lacked a woman's warmth!
The food they served us was very homely and yummy, simple food , just like home. Service in the dining hall is good. The grounds are lovely with peacocks strutting around and if you have kids they will enjoy running around. And the place is very calm and peaceful and the price is not that much.
All in all it is a good place, but for me, it didn't live upto the reviews I had read on Tripadvisor. Maybe because I had stayed in home stays where the hosts are present to welcome you and take care of your every need. I understand that the Admiral is a very busy person and may be that is why things are different here. If you dont mind the minor details, it is definitely a great place to stay in Jaipur.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.8 km away
Suryaa Villa
Suryaa Villa
#30 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.5 km away
Sugan Niwas Palace
Sugan Niwas Palace
#71 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.5 km away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Ratnawali
Hotel Ratnawali
#51 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.2 km away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#107 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

Property: Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Address: Sardar Patel Road | Near Chomu House Circle, 'C' - Scheme, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,144 - ₹ 3,996
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devi Niketan is a family owned and operated Heritage Hotel in central Jaipur which was inaugurated on April 2008. It stands on a big plot with large, lush green lawns in front and rear of the building, a large parking area and a swimming pool. A double storied heritage house, it is part of the 140 acre estate of the former ruling family of Chomu. Adjacent to Devi Niketan is "Govind Niwas", the residence of Admiral Madhvendra Singh and his wife Kumu, who own and run "Devi Niketan". Govind Niwas too stands on a big plot with plenty of greenery. Taken together the two properties stand on a two acre estate which gives a feeling of space and tranquility - even though it is surrounded by a bustling city. It is in a "Happening" neighbourhood with plenty of eating places, Ayurvedic massage parlours, shopping malls with food courts and movie theaters, banks & ATMs, gyms - all within one kilometer.While we do not have an a la Carte Restaurant, a Buffet Breakfast is available and Dinner is served if ordered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devi Niketan Jaipur
Devi Niketan Hotel Jaipur
Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel Jaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing