We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel for the tourist zone of Mumbai”
Review of Hotel City Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel City Palace
Ranked #135 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed 26 January 2011

First let me set expectations. Mumbai is one of the most expensive places in India so you have to pay a lot more for somewhere acceptable that places like Delhi, about twice as much unless you stay out in the non+Tourist areas like Bandar.

We opted for Hotel City Palace because we could not find anywhere else in Fort area. The reviews really put us off but needs must. I was then pleasantly surprised when we arrived to be met with a friendly welcome. We had booked a R1,350 room but this was no longer available so they gave us a R1,700 room at the same price. The room was really small, more like a cabin, and on the top floor near where the staff work. However, it was very clean, the service efficient and the staff helpful. The room had AC and TV but shared bathroom. Hot water was available most of the time.

Overall I would recommend this place for its perfect location opposite VT Station and in the heart of Fort and easy walking distance to Colaba. You can get a pre paid taxi from the airport for R370 and there is a taxi rank right outside the hotel. Rooms are cleaned daily if you want but those with ensuite do suffer from a bad smell. My tip is take the cheaper rooms with shared bathroom and packs some ear plugs. Its not the nosiest place but remember you are opposite the station so there is constant traffic. I ama light sleeper but was fine with earplugs.

thanks james

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamerguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Hotel City Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 96 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2010

Its one of the cheapest hotel in south mumbai. I was travelling with my girlfriend for a family function. The rooms r smaller than a apartment bathroom. The location is around CST station. The staff is pretty rude. I would suggest one would get a lot of better hotels around this area like the railway hotel or harbour view for the same price. They intially denied me a check in saying it was a hotel policy not to let 2 unmarried people stay in a single room. However the same was not applicable to a bunch of foreigners who were also staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AVBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I have booked a deluxe A/C room after having a look on its offical web-site. The room is on first floor and comes with a stinking and small smell. I have changed antoher room on its next and have the same poor condition. The room is quite small, a bit dirty and also with a disgusting peeled off painting walls. The room conditions and its requirements seems not matching with the photos shown on its web-page. Besides, the price is expensive and unreasonable high when compare to its actual conditions.
The services are ok. It maybe your choice if location is the first consideration.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

City palace is a good hotel... less expensive... but the rooms are too small... May be it's Mumbai that's why... But you can certainly go to the hotel if you have a tight budget and looking for a good cheap hotel...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhythmicboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I stayed there overnight during my official visit to Mumbai. The location of the Hotel is good. It is nearer to CST Station and approach is convenient.

But the worst thing about the Hotel is that there rooms are not properly cleaned. They are stinking. I changed two rooms but the condition of both the rooms were worst. The taps in the bathroom were not working properly. Hot water was not available in the room. At our specific request they provided the same after a long time. Can not comment on food, because I have not ordered any thing from the Hotel's Canteen.

Overall the experience to stay over there was horrible.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinehajain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Hotel Oasis
#318 of 452 in Mumbai
120 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel A. K. International
Hotel A. K. International
#170 of 452 in Mumbai
32 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#83 of 452 in Mumbai
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#18 of 452 in Mumbai
1,782 reviews
Hotel Kumkum
#76 of 452 in Mumbai
252 reviews
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#71 of 452 in Mumbai
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Palace

Address: 121 City Terrace | Opp.C.S.T Station Main Gate, Mumbai 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 2,466 - ₹ 4,933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel City Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear All,We are prime location prepoerty situated at the heart of the city. Where access to all parts of Mumbai is easy and fast. It's a budget hotel where people have crunch on budget for stay they can think of this property very often. Regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel City Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing